KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

IRS

Is this your company?

IRS

Add a Review

IRS Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,731 of over 1,890 reviews

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
IRS Commissioner John Koskinen  (no image)
John Koskinen
471 Ratings
Pros
  • "okay pay, good benefits, work life balance(in 127 reviews)

  • "Great benefits great pay great work life balance(in 110 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Complex work that is not picked even if it does not affect taxpayers in any way(in 54 reviews)

  • "seen as the bad guy, but just enforcing the law passed by congress(in 46 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of IRS and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I wish I was more cut out for this job honestly!

      Aug 26, 2021 - IRS Contact Representative in Holtsville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were great Helpful work environment The pay was living wage for my situation

      Cons

      Training was intense Phonecalls could sometimes be stressful Hours were rough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Take your time

      Sep 22, 2021 - Contact Representative in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The IRS trains their employees. They have special projects to participate in throughout the year. Your primary job is to answer phone calls, but with some time and experience you can participate in special projects off the phone.

      Cons

      Many customers are not happy to talk to you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about IRS

      Join the conversation on

      Coronavirus Work-life

      1y

      an 

      Associate

      Have any of you told your family how much money you make? My family has never asked but I feel like my partner’s family is always trying to figure it out and it makes me uncomfortable. They assume that I make a lot because I’m an attorney. I often get comments like “well you can afford it because you’re a lawyer.” I do well for myself but I am far from rich. I am so grateful to have a job but I’d rather not disclose my salary to anyone other than the IRS.

      375

      65 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Upward Mobility, Pay, Benefits

      Sep 22, 2021 - Tax Examiner in Ogden, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Upward Mobility, potential to go up in GS every year. (2 dollar raise) Government Benefits Great Pay for work

      Cons

      Office Drama Chaotic Bureaucracy Terrible HR, extremely slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great salary

      Sep 21, 2021 - CAA2 in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, great team atmosphere, great location

      Cons

      Long hours, not enough coaching

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work for

      Sep 17, 2021 - Data Entry Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits great pay room to grow

      Cons

      Seasonal employment not enough months to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent

      Sep 16, 2021 - Contact Center Representative in Florida A & M, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits offered are amazing

      Cons

      The salary should be more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Sep 16, 2021 - Management Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable workload, good office culture, lots of remote / telework (depending on the office)

      Cons

      Cyclical nature of the workload, experience is very tied to the quality of the manager

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Retiree

      Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Fort Thomas, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      extremely family friendly, excellent medical and retirement, predictable and fair pay and benefits,

      Cons

      Rare and modest bonuses, in many departments there is significant bureaucracy but not all departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Sep 12, 2021 - Contact Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good family environment love the paid leave time.

      Cons

      The people calling in can really test your nerves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Heads Up

      Sep 12, 2021 - IRS Contact Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good job and good training

      Cons

      Sometimes hours were not regular

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,731 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with IRS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at IRS? Share Your Experiences

    or