IRS Reviews | Glassdoor

IRS Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1184 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
John Koskinen
312 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "taxpayers do not really like you(in 49 reviews)

  • "Being in the public eye can also be a negative - knee jerk reactions from the media/public/congress can impact your work(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assists taxpayers interpret tax law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Taxpayer Adviser in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to interface with taxpayers, educate on tax law and IRS tools available to public, solve taxpayer issues

    Cons

    Large government agency unable to allow for individual innovative ideas and creative license

    Advice to Management

    Think outside the box

    IRS2019-08-10
  2. "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and exceptional coworkers.

    Cons

    Cant think of any cons with his company.

    IRS2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Examining Clerk in Kansas City, MO

    I have been working at IRS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Pay Have your own desk and space (depending on where they put you) The manager can be great (depends on who you have, my manager was an arrogant SOB) They tend to be flexible on your hours

    Cons

    The management (anybody can be a manager these days) Getting promoted is hard

    Advice to Management

    He's not my manager no more, thank god. But my advice is to stop being a arrogant SOB that throws his authority around. Thats not how you get respect and thats why you are still in the position you are in.

    IRS2019-08-12
  4. "Interesting experience in the federal government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Austin, TX

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leave and the hours. Pay was good as well

    Cons

    Might be overly technical for some, too set in doing things inefficiently

    IRS2019-08-08
  5. "Good Agency with room for improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Assistant 

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Training + Collegial Environment +Clean facilities

    Cons

    - little room for growth in Chief Counsel - the cliquey social environment at times

    IRS2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IRS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great understanding of life/work balance

    Cons

    It's working for the IRS....

    Advice to Management

    None

    IRS2019-07-17
  7. "Telwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IRS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Telwork and TOD (Time of Duty)

    Cons

    High Stress and Work done on time Prior to New Tax Year.

    IRS2019-07-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Flexible Work Schedule

    Cons

    No variety Repetitive Calls No incentives to stay

    Advice to Management

    People are leaving because there are no incentives to stay. I worked with the amazing group of people I have nothing bad to say about the managers all of them were amazing. I think it all has to do with the budget. Managers can only do so much. I left to another federal agency who offered better opportunities and better pay. I would recommend this job to anyone do your year and move on to another agency.

    IRS2019-07-27
  9. "Bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chamblee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IRS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to build your resume, gain experience, regular compensation increases, and different shifts offer limited flexibility.

    Cons

    No work from home, terrible management incompetency, leadership ignores the complaints of employees, managers are allowed to trample on morale, promotions only given to preselected people with favor, and technological redundancies hinder growth and modernization.

    Advice to Management

    Let go of the bureaucracy and allow talent to be utilized if it's there. Listen to people with hardships. Promote people with demonstrative skills and a willingness to grow. Offer mental health services on campus.

    IRS2019-07-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Irs_Information Technology_ Enterprise Systems Testing Insights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Lead in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IRS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Flexible Schedule and 80% Telework 2. Job security 3. Higher pay compared to other federal agencies for same job

    Cons

    1. Nepotism at best in hiring and promotions 2. Senior leadership favors contractors over government employees due to their connections 3. Senior leadership generally retires and get the job with the contracting groups that they used to give contracting jobs 4. Jobs and promotions generally given without any interviews to wrong people 5. Difficult dealing with co_ workers and contractors due to their ties with senior...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Senior Management should start to folow Government laws in hiring, promotionsand treating employees with respect 2. Senior Management should go through leadership training 3. Senior Management should enforce atleast a degree requirement for jobs and leadership requirements 4. Senior management should fund on employee job trainings 5. Promotions should be based on Merit than Nepotism 6. Senior Management should...

    Show More
    IRS2019-07-26
Found 1184 reviews