ISACA Reviews | Glassdoor

ISACA Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
David Samuelson
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Very toxic environment with management who does not know how to lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ISACA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the employees want to do a good job. Lots of really good people. New CEO who seems to care about people

    Cons

    Very bad management. The HR Chief is a bully and constantly treats people with less respect than most farm animals. No recognition for a job well done.

    Advice to Management

    Start looking at changing the culture by replacing some of the worst top leadership.

    ISACA2014-10-09
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic Environment with Unrealistic Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Lead in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ISACA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employer-paid benefits if you are single & no dependents. Low cost benefits for those with dependents. Often promotes from within.

    Cons

    About 50 employees of whom many are long-timers who are in cliques like back in grade school, with personalities & attitudes to match. Very petty with tendencies of persistent bullying if you aren't with the "popular" kids. Management plays favorites consistently & is extremely resistant to change. No diversity which continues to be an issue; not a progressive company in this way. Very long hours with mandatory over-time...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resolve in-house conflict directly & immediately instead of letting it fester for years between individuals and/or departments. Stop sitting back waiting for employees to solve things themselves.....jump in & assist/lead sooner rather than later. Remain open & objective when communicating with or listening to employee regarding personal & workplace issues. Stop playing favorites. Be mature, evolved adult leaders who are...

    Show More
    ISACA2014-10-11
  3. "Impactful Organization with Challenges and Opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ISACA

    Pros

    Without a doubt - a very influential and globally well respected organization with understandably High expectations.

    Cons

    Focus and ability to Simplify. With the level and ability to influence comes the need to pick the most impactful areas and organize around a set of targeted teams that ultimately provide the highest value to the current as well as future customers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to Listen, Inspire, invest in Training and put a premium in Valuing the front line workers - for they are the closest to the Customers and can help influence the shape ISACA's great potential future.

    ISACA2014-03-26
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Read Carefully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ISACA for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits is what keeps people there.

    Cons

    Toxic environment and lack of leadership. No focus or direction.

    Advice to Management

    Read the reviews carefully, As noted it is obvious management has written several recent reviews to counter negative comments and raise score. Everyone I worked with at ISACA worked hard, long hours, applied themselves, and wanted to contribute. Management continually second guesses decisions, and revisits plans and strategy - hard to get things done regardless of how you may want to apply yourself.

    ISACA2014-04-02
  5. "Great Global Experience for those willing to apply themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ISACA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a demanding global organization that expects employees to perform at a high level. I work with passionate, smart volunteers and coworkers that do amazing things considering the vast constituency that we serve. I have worked here for over a decade and have former work experience with for-profits and not for profits. Throughout my tenure, I have never had a suggestion with a strong business case supporting it...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a demanding place, and being as global as we are has its challenges. Things that sound easy to implement domestically sometimes have ramifications elsewhere in the world. There are long hours and weekend meetings, but then again, I'm not sure how abnormal that is these days. Working with volunteers committees and with a consensus driven culture can slow decisions down.

    Advice to Management

    While the pay and benefits are excellent, there could be more "attaboys" given instead of immediately moving on to the next big project!

    ISACA2014-03-11
  6. "Great organization focused on providing value to members and staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISACA Staff 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ISACA full-time

    Pros

    As a long-time employee at ISACA, I have seen a lot of changes and growth. It has been an exciting and challenging experience and I'm looking forward to many more years here. The culture here is to do our current work as best as possible, and to look foward and prepare for future needs of our members and others. I've worked in several other high-energy, demanding corporate, agency and non-profit environments and ISACA...

    Show More

    Cons

    We do often work long hours and the workload can be heavy. There are high expectations for accuracy and productivity. I've found that to be similar everywhere I have worked and it just seems to be the normal way with most businesses. Also, since we serve members around the world, we sometimes have to arrange meetings for times that are outside of normal business hours or on weekends.

    ISACA2014-02-20
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Current overall rating of 1.2 is too high!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ISACA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, but watch out - it captures you and then you are stuck.

    Cons

    Demoralizing, demeaning, toxic, no leadership - worse than poor leadership. Micro-managed all the way. Verbal abuse is common including from the Chief HR Officer. CEO is new in title but long-term ISACA employee so more of same. All activities are determined by consensus resulting in huge delays in delivery. While there I had many friends looking for work and never encouraged them to apply.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of meetings talking about how to change, stop paying millions for consultants to tell you how to change and let people have the authority to do the job for which you hired them.

    ISACA2013-11-29
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Worked there for over 11 years, way too long if you ask me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ISACA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, many great employees.

    Cons

    I agree with all the reviews here. Micro-managing is constant, the old regime needs to move on or let their staff do their jobs. You don't know everything and are not always right.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the wonderful, intelligent , competent staff you already have. New employees don't necessary know more or do a better job.

    ISACA2013-10-10
  9. Helpful (7)

    "ISACA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ISACA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Alt days Nice pay but not worth it....trust me!

    Cons

    Toxic work environment No Teamwork Everyone gossips about each other

    Advice to Management

    An IT cert exam that is not taken on a computer? This is 2013 not 1978! You need change!

    ISACA2013-09-26
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ISACA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits package.

    Cons

    Terrible work environment. Morale is extremely low and HR does nothing to fix the problem. Zero employee recognition. Worked there for more than five years and never had a face to face conversation with the CEO - Not good for a company with only a little over a 100 employees.

    Advice to Management

    Move on.

    ISACA2013-02-27
Found 32 reviews