ITW "decentralized" Reviews | Glassdoor

ITW Employee Reviews about "decentralized"

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
ITW CEO E. Scott Santi
E. Scott Santi
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Competitive salary; great benefits; encourages application of entrepreneurial spirit; profitable business despite market fluctuations(in 46 reviews)

  • "good benefits, 401k match, good vacation time, good advancement opportunity(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not as decentralized as it used to be(in 29 reviews)

  • "Autonomous business units make crossover business coordination very difficult(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "decentralized"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Successful Company that stays One Step Ahead of the Game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is very good; benefits (insurance, medical, PTO) are excellent; friendly people; small corporate company where everyone is willing to help where needed; relaxed atmosphere; urgency is not a word here; training and conferences encouraged; this place knows how to make money based on their model

    Cons

    A little too quiet; somewhat "siloed"; decentralized company which means it takes a while to understand the lay of the land as well as resources

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job but would help to invest a little more time and money in socializing the place and getting people together outside of work

    ITW2019-07-10
  2. "Excellent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Unit Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent management 80/20 Principle is effective in manufacturing Decentralized

    Cons

    Not as decentralized as it used to be

    ITW2019-05-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Average pay and benefits. Bad politics occur at the individual site level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance program is good. Everything else is average. Not the best, but not the worst either.

    Cons

    Decentralized company culture leads to unchecked abuses on the local site level, especially when HR presence is poor.

    Advice to Management

    Move towards a compamy culture with better oversight.

    ITW2019-03-28
  4. "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good sales strategies: 80/20 rule, decentralized management, innovating solutions

    Cons

    Management is run by actuaries who do no understand the sale process.

    ITW2018-10-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most caring, helpful people I've ever had the pleasure of working with

    Cons

    Somewhat of a disorganized structure due to how decentralized it is

    ITW2018-08-31
  6. "Decent first company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ITW for more than a year

    Pros

    Great intern events Great networking You don't need a lot of qualifications to stand out

    Cons

    Doesn't offer the mentorship and training you would expect from a fortune 200 company. Decentralized business units from corporate make it hard to feel included in the bigger picture

    ITW2018-07-28
  7. "Mid-level Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at ITW

    Pros

    Great people that embrace company values Great benefits -- best I've ever seen, especially in manufacturing Highly profitable Interesting products/industries

    Cons

    Unfortunately due to Wall Street pressure, they are moving away from the core values that made them so successful through the years. The close to the customer, decentralized, entrepreneurial approach is sadly a thing of the past. They have yielded to large divisions that are losing the family feel. But, hey, at least they are finding synergies to keep their short-term promises to Wall Street.

    ITW2018-01-17
  8. "Finally getting noticed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, a lot of career opportunities, philanthropic.

    Cons

    Lean business units (limited resources, people wear many hats), decentralized structure leads to poor collaboration efforts between business units.

    Advice to Management

    Business units need to work more collaboratively on long range planning to ensure resources are shared, innovation and continuous improvement is not stalled.

    ITW2017-08-25
  9. "Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ITW for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern I was given real world responsibility and meaningful assignments. Through this exposure I pertained transferable skills, and experiences that can only help me grow in my career. The decentralized environment, gave me the opportunity to work hands on with multiple projects and provide my feedback.

    Cons

    I overall enjoyed my experience. However, interns must be comfortable working in a decentralized environment and being hands on within their role. Interns must understand that their work will matter and that they may have to juggle many projects. However, all of this will help you gain career building skills.

    Advice to Management

    Give the interns time to understand the business, business structure and the business model, it is sometimes easy to assume they will understand it right away.

    ITW2017-08-16
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time

    Pros

    They're very decentralized so each business unit acts like a smaller business, but has the security of a large business.

    Cons

    I have nothing to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    Stay involved and understand the processes happening in the business

    ITW2017-07-27
Found 40 reviews
</>Embed