Iceland Foods Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Iceland Foods Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
103 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a flat structure, which supports a fast and impressive learning curve. The leaders of the business are very experienced, innovative and passionate people.

    Cons

    The company is not highly regarded externally, which is a massive shame because this is a truly amazing company. In terms of the work environment i only have positive things to say

    Iceland Foods2014-04-07
  2. "Great overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Inverurie, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, 10% discount, opportunities to climb up the buisness

    Cons

    Store hours are directly related to sales. No sales, no hours. Gotten tough recently but thats more just retail just now rather than iceland specific.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. They are your best resource.

    Iceland Foods2019-08-18
  3. "No home life/ work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small teams with a family feel

    Cons

    lots of hours, not enough support and hours to get the work done

    Iceland Foods2019-08-18
  4. "Fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture with real people focus

    Cons

    Nothing to report as satisfied working in the business

    Advice to Management

    Continue to drive innovation in product, it’s what sets the business apart!

    Iceland Foods2019-08-14
  5. "Nice place to work if you’re fully flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, flexible, no day is the same

    Cons

    They give Short notice shifts,

    Iceland Foods2019-08-07
  6. "Good pay long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Addlestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary Culture of family Regular updates from senior management

    Cons

    Long hours Unrealistic expectations Poor structure Very low CTS on staff - managers doing basic tasks

    Iceland Foods2019-08-06
  7. "Looking for management roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager On Duty in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with and customers And company was good to work for

    Cons

    Can be hard when deliveries cone late and you have a target to reach

    Advice to Management

    Have to be hardworking and motivated and enthusiastic and brilliant with customer services

    Iceland Foods2019-07-14
  8. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    better pay than when on duty manager role

    Cons

    workload, stress, treated as a supervisor with less pay

    Iceland Foods2019-07-02
  9. "it’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Deeside, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing canteen, not much in the way of benefits otherwise. I think if you want to for many people, you can leave at 5pm on the dot most days (70% of staff do) although most managers don’t. Pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to progress. Lots of redundancies. Very old school, no flexible working and smart dress every day.

    Advice to Management

    Modernise.

    Iceland Foods2019-06-22
  10. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
Found 151 reviews