Iceland Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Iceland Foods Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 634 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
358 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good flexability for all people one floor or in the field(in 53 reviews)

  • "10% discount (20% for some time near Xmas)(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given(in 37 reviews)

  • "Be prepared to work for free and long hours to keep on top of your job(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rockos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Employee 

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff while I was there

    Cons

    Not much That I can think of

    Iceland Foods2019-08-08
  2. "Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team work, good progression, good pay and great company values

    Cons

    demanding, difficult work, limited contracts and poor work/life balance if full time

    Iceland Foods2019-06-07
  3. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Iceland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make good life and myself

    Cons

    No challenge to do work there

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-05-26
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good flexability for all people one floor or in the field

    Cons

    Bad dress code And poor upper management

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2019-01-13
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    Friendly environment, good team building

    Cons

    Too much focus on bonus cards rather than sales, and not enough hours. 0hour contract.

    Iceland Foods2016-09-10
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    Very smart people, it seems like recent hires (at least in my area) have focused greatly on taking the company culture to the next level of innovation

    Cons

    No work-life balance; all employees have laptops which results in working evenings and weekends"

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2016-01-25
  7. "not the greatest place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home Delivery Driver in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    wage is ok. otherwise steer clear.

    Cons

    drivers are left to get on with it, hardly any help or no help and if somethings not right you have to go through the whole lot of shopping which costs you time, expected to get all delivery's done, back to store, unload and re-load ready for the next time slot, even work through your lunch break if not finished, it just doesn't work.management not interested if your late because of traffic/ obstructions or if you cant find a specific place. responsible for everything to do with the van. stressful times. lots more that goes on behind the scenes thats unfair.

    Continue reading
    Iceland Foods2014-12-20
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a flat structure, which supports a fast and impressive learning curve. The leaders of the business are very experienced, innovative and passionate people.

    Cons

    The company is not highly regarded externally, which is a massive shame because this is a truly amazing company. In terms of the work environment i only have positive things to say

    Iceland Foods2014-04-07
  9. "supervisor job offer in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in London, CA

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good work environment where you can improve yourselves with everyday challenge and fast paced give you all the operational and people management experience that will stand you in great stead for the future, arming you with the knowledge and confidence to move up the ladder when you’re well and truly ready to do so.

    Cons

    You’ll work closely with, and support the Store Manager, standing in their shoes for periods of holidays, absence for meetings and training. So, you’ll need to be committed and motivated to maintain the high standards that are already in place. But you won’t be thrown in at the deep end. You’ll get plenty of on-the-job technical and operational training to give you a greater understanding of the bigger picture. And, in turn develop the skills to become a competent Trainee Manager for the future.

    Iceland Foods2013-07-01
  10. "Julie's job at present"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management and ease of location

    Cons

    Can change hours at short notice

    Iceland Foods2019-09-16
Found 634 reviews