Iceland Foods Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Manager

Iceland Foods Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
37 Ratings
  1. "No home life/ work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small teams with a family feel

    Cons

    lots of hours, not enough support and hours to get the work done

    Iceland Foods2019-08-18
  2. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
  3. "Availability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best company to work for

    Cons

    Working more the contracted hours

    Iceland Foods2019-06-05
  4. "Hard work but enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are constantly listening and trying new ways of improving the business.

    Cons

    Food retail is never going to be an easy job but it’s what you make of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and making the right choices for the business and its teams.

    Iceland Foods2019-03-29
  5. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I progressed quickly within the organisation and was given a lot of responsibility quickly. This allowed me to learn a lot within a short period of time.

    Cons

    No work life balance, unsupportive of commitments out of work, no flexible working, made to step down post maternity leave as i didn't want to work full time. No consideration of a job share.

    Advice to Management

    This job is a good position if you want to be fully engulfed in a fast paced, high pressured culture. However, it is not a role that I would recommend for anyone who is looking for any sort of work-life balance.

    Iceland Foods2019-03-26
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time

    Pros

    Team is great to work with

    Cons

    No loyalty to staff that have worked way up to store management. Best to come in from outside company.

    Iceland Foods2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Peterlee, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been there for 6 weeks but it's a perfect fit and I've been made to feel welcome. The people are fantastic and have a great work ethic. Everyone from Victoria in recruitment to my area manager Neil have made me feel part of the iceland family.

    Cons

    There hasn't been any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and excellent rewards for the teams.

    Iceland Foods2018-12-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "They sell you it's a great company don't be fooled."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for size of store.

    Cons

    No work life balance.. non existent to be exact. Lack of training Hours model is not fit for purpose not even close. Systems are prehistoric Rewards for those faces that fit by promotion etc.. If you do your job with integrity you don't achieve kpis and get it in the neck. Training is well they expect you just to fill the shop your training in. Then the stores tell you how you fudge your kpis. Cycle changeover...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of taking everyone to Vegas. Spend the investment on stores hours model. So as managers we can lead our teams, coach them, Develop them so that when you are day off your not scared what you are walking into. Listen to those that have came from different companies we have ideas and ways of working that could help the company. Invest in the hours so that you are able to achieve the standards they want. I...

    Show More
    Iceland Foods2019-01-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job........and the pays the bills.

    Cons

    Senior haven't got a clue about workforce management. 1970s culture. No work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Review labour turnover and ask yourself again why is it so high, why are we always recruiting?

    Iceland Foods2018-12-17
  10. "Working at Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Stirling, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and working conditions

    Cons

    Noh work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance

    Iceland Foods2018-11-05
Found 56 reviews