Icing by Claire's "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Icing by Claire's Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
27%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Regional managers were rude and demanding, often work alone(in 20 reviews)

  • "Upper management is also petty and will basically bully you(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key in Clackamas, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Icing by Claire's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love my coworkers and my management team. Have worked her over 4 years and love that i can always fall back on my management team when necessary.

    Cons

    Upper management not knowing how stores run anymore from store level.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2018-03-01
  2. "Petty managers, bad business practices, no breaks, horrible company. Do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time

    Pros

    The discount is pretty good but it isn't worth it in the end.

    Cons

    Often work alone with no breaks. The managers are very petty and break policy. Upper management is also petty and will basically bully you. They will go as far as to edit your time sheet to put in an unpaid break, when you didn't even get a break because you were working alone. They will all lie to you too. Also they are so disorganized, especially with schedules. They will often force you to travel to other stores and not pay you for travel too. It is impossible to call out because there is never anyone else working, and when you do need to call out, they call it a no call/no show.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2020-01-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quarterly Bonus Decent Benefits For Fulltime

    Cons

    Systemic upper management problems. Antiquated computer and POS systems. Reorganized through bankruptcy. Low pay in competitive retail market.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2018-11-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great idea, poor execution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun environment. I was blessed with some great employees. Fashion forward line of accessories . Good discount at fifty per cent off.

    Cons

    No interaction with upper management. Company is in the process of disolving the Icing division and one by one stores are closing. Instead of being open and honest with employees, home office feeds you a line of fluff.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2016-03-17
  6. "store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's

    Pros

    nice discount. free products occasionally

    Cons

    terrible upper management and company culture

    Icing by Claire's2016-02-17
  7. "Very Stressful Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Sterling Heights, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off discount full-price, 10% discount on clearance, benefits are ok, Interview process was easy not intimidating

    Cons

    Work alone all the time, 1-on-1 coverage during weekdays, Only get breaks on the weekends, small payroll allocation, high turnover in multiple districts, upper management very rude and disrespectful, lots of pressure for sales, low pay, no help for coverage

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-11-13
  8. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount there really isn't anything else good to say promotions were good especially 5 dollar sale

    Cons

    Upper management could care less about you instead of coaching and training you they will just give write up to get you replaced with who they want . do not recommend I was a store manager for 5 years

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-10-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked & underpaid..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key Holder in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Icing by Claire's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, experience, works around schedule, good student job, upbeat work area, easy most of the time

    Cons

    Very little hours sometimes for anyone not full time, not a consistent pay grade, upper management micro manages, long hours alone, must always work weekends, high turnover rate

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-07-17
  10. "Unethical and Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great merchandise and great employee discount Customers were great

    Cons

    Very low pay for the amount that needs to be done Upper Management won't allow something with one store but allows for another store in the same district Uppers don't care if you have children Only 6 hours of training for new employees resulting in a high turnover due to lack of training

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-05-01
  11. Helpful (1)

    "It was horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get half off most things... That's about it.

    Cons

    Everything is a con - UNLESS you are working for a higher volume store that allows coverage. Most stores you are working alone 90% of your shift and while you may get your LEGAL lunch break, your other breaks are few and far between. Asa store manager, you are expected to be able to come in any day of the week to cover and are expected to always have your phone on and be available for any call from the store or your district manager. The pay is lousy for the amount of time and work they expect of you, although that will also increase with the volume of the store. The micromanaging I witnessed for my store and all stores in my district was insane. Upper management picks and chooses the policies they want followed but can turn around and punish you for later not following them (under their instruction.) If you are looking for a part-time job to get you through school, go be a key holder, have fun, and use your discount to your hearts content but I would caution against going full-time for this company or thinking about making this a career.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-04-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews