Idaho Power Reviews | Glassdoor

Idaho Power Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Darrel T. Anderson
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, most departments are great to work for(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone(in 3 reviews)

  • "Nothing comes to mind, at least from my position(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I wish it wasn't temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - IT Service Desk Technician in Boise, ID

      I worked at Idaho Power

      Pros

      The people I worked with were great!

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Advice to Management

      None, management was excellent!

      Idaho Power2019-02-21
    • "Good Comoany"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great company with a wonderful emphasis on customers

      Cons

      Some of the Management Team

      Idaho Power2019-04-18
    • "Amazing &Unique Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      I have worked in several other companies and Idaho Power is the best. The leadership has high integrity and truly cares about employees. There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other. Pay and benefits are very competitive as an overall package.

      Cons

      Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone. Historically at times the company was stuck in the mode of maintaining the status quo rather than being open to new ideas or ways of doing things, but that seems to be changing.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the focus on leadership development and not just technical expertise.

      Idaho Power2019-02-03
    • "Senior Human Resources Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Specialist in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The HR team is a great team to work for. Everyone on the floor works closely together and helps each other to succeed. The leaders on this floor have done a lot of work to encourage growth and facilitate healthy change. We also have fun, there is a fun committee involved with creating opportunities to take time to enjoy each other and step away from work for a period of time. Fun has been incorporated to ensure we are...

      Show More

      Cons

      There are negative perceptions about HR in general. That HR is the bad guys, however it takes our internal customers about 5 seconds to realize that we are all just working hard at our jobs trying to our best at doing the right thing.

      Advice to Management

      The conversations being had on growth is great, keep that up. The plan to bring us all together with purpose to help is also really great. Only advice is to troubleshoot more ideas to create flexibility in certain roles. At this time, it is understandable why there isn't much.

      Idaho Power2018-11-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "EASILY, THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED FOR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Relay Technician in Payette, ID
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Fair compensation package and pay.

      Cons

      I spent 11 dedicated years with IPCO and gave them 110% back of what they gave to me. Every annual and mid year review was exemplary, never a customer complain nor conflict with a co-worker. In return, I was treated like a criminal and forced out of the company and to this day I don't know why and they can't tell me. I lost my career, my retirement, my future and my house all due to being a "valued" employee.

      Advice to Management

      When you see one of your dedicated employees being RAILROADED, step in and find out why and who is behind that kind of behavior and end it!

      Idaho Power2018-12-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Corporate America"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technician in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great Pay and Benefits. Great safety record.

      Cons

      HR, legal, has changed the business model for the worse.

      Idaho Power2018-09-23
    • "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits, and culture. Company really seems to care about employees

      Cons

      As a regulated utility, changes/progress often comes a little slower than other industries.

      Idaho Power2018-08-31
    • "Great Employer!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

      Pros

      Positive and fun work environment with supervisors and managers who actually listen and care about their employees.

      Cons

      Parking is getting harder and harder to come by in downtown Boise.

      Idaho Power2018-08-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "Customer Service Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

      Pros

      Good pay, paid holidays, off by 7ish no weekends

      Cons

      High pressure, horrible management, no work life balance, all jobs are now offered external

      Idaho Power2018-09-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "So disappointing..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Established history. Monopoly. Will be forced to be accountable either by shareholders, employees, the IPUC or the FTC.

      Cons

      Organization lacks integrity. Unqualified senior management.

      Advice to Management

      There may be a diversity statement but don't hold onto Directors who have little ability to guide, communicate or care about people.

      Idaho Power2018-08-27
    Found 53 reviews