Idaho Power Reviews | Glassdoor

Idaho Power Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Darrel T. Anderson
23 Ratings
  1. "I wish it wasn't temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - IT Service Desk Technician in Boise, ID

      I worked at Idaho Power

      Pros

      The people I worked with were great!

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Advice to Management

      None, management was excellent!

      Idaho Power2019-02-21
    • "Amazing &Unique Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      I have worked in several other companies and Idaho Power is the best. The leadership has high integrity and truly cares about employees. There is great work/life balance and employees are all very supportive of each other. Pay and benefits are very competitive as an overall package.

      Cons

      Regulated companies have unique challenges and it isn't for everyone. Historically at times the company was stuck in the mode of maintaining the status quo rather than being open to new ideas or ways of doing things, but that seems to be changing.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the focus on leadership development and not just technical expertise.

      Idaho Power2019-02-03
    • "Senior Human Resources Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Specialist in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The HR team is a great team to work for. Everyone on the floor works closely together and helps each other to succeed. The leaders on this floor have done a lot of work to encourage growth and facilitate healthy change. We also have fun, there is a fun committee involved with creating opportunities to take time to enjoy each other and step away from work for a period of time. Fun has been incorporated to ensure we are...

      Show More

      Cons

      There are negative perceptions about HR in general. That HR is the bad guys, however it takes our internal customers about 5 seconds to realize that we are all just working hard at our jobs trying to our best at doing the right thing.

      Advice to Management

      The conversations being had on growth is great, keep that up. The plan to bring us all together with purpose to help is also really great. Only advice is to troubleshoot more ideas to create flexibility in certain roles. At this time, it is understandable why there isn't much.

      Idaho Power2018-11-05
    • "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits, and culture. Company really seems to care about employees

      Cons

      As a regulated utility, changes/progress often comes a little slower than other industries.

      Idaho Power2018-08-31
    • "Great Employer!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

      Pros

      Positive and fun work environment with supervisors and managers who actually listen and care about their employees.

      Cons

      Parking is getting harder and harder to come by in downtown Boise.

      Idaho Power2018-08-06
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Boise, ID
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great company with good work life balance. Plenty of opportunities to pursue your interests

      Cons

      Can't think of any compared to the places I have previously worked. Great location in Boise. An up and coming city

      Advice to Management

      Spend more time talking with employees and less time in meetings. Limit the number of initiatives to a realistic number

      Idaho Power2018-04-27
    • "Power production"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Park Services in Oxbow, OR
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      They are family company. Lot's of room to grow with company. Nice people.

      Cons

      Working out of town away from family at times

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up

      Idaho Power2018-01-19
    • "Just a great place to go every day"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

      Pros

      People are great. Culture is inclusive and encourages communication and growth

      Cons

      Heavily regulated, so a lot of paperwork and extra effort to get things done without putting company at risk

      Advice to Management

      Management is awesome and very accessible. They put their employees and the community first, so just keep that up

      Idaho Power2017-11-28
    • "Great company to work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Normal hours, convenient locations, benefits, retirement, advancement within the company, and longevity.

      Cons

      It's not necessarily a bad thing, but a lot of changes in the last ten years. Some good, others trial and error. There really isn't anything to complain about.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work.

      Idaho Power2017-10-18
    • "Mechanical Engineer Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and great people to work with. They encourage cross training so you get exposed to different departments in the company.

      Cons

      Not a thing comes to mind. I am only filling this section out because it requires a 20 word minimum.

      Idaho Power2017-02-10
    Found 54 reviews