Idaho Power Reviews | Glassdoor

Idaho Power Reviews

Updated Apr 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Darrel T. Anderson
22 Ratings
  1. "Mechanical Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great people to work with. They encourage cross training so you get exposed to different departments in the company.

    Cons

    Not a thing comes to mind. I am only filling this section out because it requires a 20 word minimum.

    Idaho Power2017-02-10
  2. "lineman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lineman in Pocatello, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power

    Pros

    great place to live and work

    Cons

    under staffed too much over time

    Idaho Power2016-10-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "It's good or bad, depending on the department manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company goes through phases where it is well balanced between personal and professional lives. It is highly focused on the safety of employees and has great wages.

    Cons

    Some department leadership has soured the great reputation (read Customer Service) and turned the department from a great group working together to everyone watching their back.

    Advice to Management

    Change out the leadership in Customer Service and adopt the attitudes of the regional offices and you'll get great productivity and happy empoyees.

    Idaho Power2016-07-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Frustrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Idaho Power full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, pension and 401K, competitive salary, opportunities for personal development and cross training, high job security, big emphasis on safety, and a great internship program

    Cons

    Experience is highly dependent on your manager and it's very much a top down micromanage approach. Historically people rather than process based, so it is incredibly frustrating when you're new because everyone does things their own way and you just have to know who to talk to. Extremely difficult if you don't fit into the typical mold. Progress is paralyzed because all decisions come from the top and everyone is in full...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empower people to make decisions while providing clear direction. Compensation should be based on performance rather than time and grade.

    Idaho Power2016-05-28
  5. "The Kind Utility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power

      Pros

      The people are sincere and honest

      Cons

      Some supervisors are given way too much leeway and their opinion is overvalued

      Idaho Power2016-04-26
    • Helpful (8)

      "Employer of Choice? HaHa!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good people who can still remember good ol' times, support of work life balance and professional development. Tenured folks who are optimists.

      Cons

      Misguided corporate initiatives, miopic and micromanaging senior management. Directors who do not have the backgrounds needed to lead in roles with inflated titles. Promoting lean business has burned out some of the brightest, best and hardworking people at the company.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your people and create more doers vs. overseers, appoint a system to make HR a safe place, remove any corporate services from HR. HR is corrupt, promotes inbreeding and has placed the least qualified people at the helm of their own organization.

      Idaho Power2016-04-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "BEWARE!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Idaho Power

      Pros

      the regular employees are great

      Cons

      Poor management, deceptive. They promise you whatever you want to hear during the job offer and then take it away once you accept the position.

      Idaho Power2016-01-29
    • Helpful (8)

      "Has a bad rep for a reason."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Idaho Power full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Puts food on the table. Seeing other reviews with high ratings makes me wish I could stuff my head in the sand too. But...

      Cons

      HR is an absolute joke in the role they play for the company. If you're looking to apply or interview, don't instill trust in HR and be ready to be jerked around. The company hands an embarrassing amount of power to HR, who is very blind to real work that takes place. There are a lot of big ego's, empty promises/commitments, lies to the public, and generally a lack of integrity. If you're looking to become a term/temp...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It is absolutely pointless to give advice to management, I have been trying for years in every level/role I have had during my time with the company.

      Idaho Power2016-02-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Idaho Power for more than 10 years

      Pros

      They believe in personal development at all levels. They have their share of politics like every other company but they do care about the employees more than any other company I've worked for. The work experience depends on a persons manager, but for the most part it's a great company to work for. It was a very positive experience for me and I had a lot of opportunities given to me.

      Cons

      Not many cons for me. It really depends on your manager but it's actually a progressive company with well thought out business processes.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to work on personal development because it is what makes Idaho Power a great company to work for and a cohesive company.

      Idaho Power2015-12-10
    • "Operations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Idaho Power

        Pros

        Company pays fair wages and treats its employees well.

        Cons

        The company can move slowly in some areas.

        Idaho Power2015-11-27
      Found 53 reviews