Ideation Design Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Ideation Design Group Reviews

Updated 22 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "IDG - great workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ideation Design Group full-time

    Pros

    The office has a great vibe with enjoyable people. The projects are fast paced, fun and creative and are located throughout the country and internationally. There are opportunities to grow and expand skill sets, as well as mentorships from management. Benefits, holidays off and time off are good. Management is understanding in the work/life balance, unlike many employers. This is a great place to work and I truly... enjoyed my time here!

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the mentoring me and helping me grow as a designer.

    Ideation Design Group2019-07-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "My IDG Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for advancement and growth. The benefit package is very good and Management is quite flexible in regards to work hours and special needs. The projects worked on are interesting, diverse and span across the country and Internationally. There is a definite place to grow here for dedicated employees that are willing to give their personal best.

    Cons

    Not really a "con" in my mind but to work here you need to come with the attitude that you will always put forth your best effort and have pride in the product delivered.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing you are right on track!

    Ideation Design Group2019-07-17
  3. "Expanding your Creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employment opportunities can be hard to find when you have a disability, whether hiring or applying. Even though I have had experience 4 years prior to my previous employer, before Ideation Design Group, I was welcomed in and given a chance to improve my career as a Draftsman for the past 4 years. Ideation maintains a diverse group of personalities, work opportunities, learning new product/ technology/ designs and... Holiday Fun (my favorite!). I have grown to consider them family. I have been given an opportunity to work closer to home, so leaving this establishment was not an easy decision. See if Ideation can accommodate your niche, or help continue your talent!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons, the only thing required is a commitment, which I believe is something you would easily provide when doing something you love.

    Advice to Management

    If there is problems [from previous posts], let the rest of the team know they can speak up or encourage them of an open door policy.

    Ideation Design Group2017-05-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "My IDG Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Design Professional in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After 4 years of working at IDG I have some insight for potential new employees.... We are a fun dynamic team with an awesome atmosphere, great projects and lots of opportunities. I have been lucky to find a family away from home with supportive colleagues and senior management. I love the projects because they are diverse, challenging and they always keep me on my toes. Growing up internationally, I love the fact... that our projects are all over the world as well as right here in our back yard. I was lucky enough to be one of the designers to work on our new office building, so to me… I love my work environment. Brand new and sparkly! Things that are important to me that a company or job position provides are career growth, interesting projects, great benefits and a fun culture. IDG has these so I gave it 5-Stars because for me it’s a great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Although I feel like IDG has a great and very open culture and there are lots of positive aspects to working there, this may not be the culture for everyone. It is a fast-paced design firm that provides lots of opportunities and requires someone motivated, with good problem solving skills and that loves to multi-task. It’s a work hard & play hard environment. If you are not a go-getter you may not enjoy it as much... as I do. I also like the fact that the culture leans towards full transparency, constructive criticism and a “say it how it is” type mentality; again not always suited for all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work... MIGA!!!

    Ideation Design Group2017-03-28
  5. "Working at Ideation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Graphic Design in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked for Ideation Design Group for almost 7 years. There are many creative opportunities in this niche for a Graphic Designer. For example, in this office's Graphic Design Department you can expect to see a wide range of project types including Illustrating Brand Identities, Signage, Menus, Renderings (e.g., colored plans, colored elevations and sketch-up models), Digital and Print Presentations, Trade Show... Materials, Website Designs, Bus & Food Truck Wraps, and Artwork (e.g., Canvases, Framed Prints, Murals, Barricade Graphics). It is a fast paced work environment and always keeps you on your toes. Since I've started working here, the company has grown drastically. We just recently built our own office building from the ground up and tailored it specifically to how we work. This has improved workflow between teams as well as productivity in our growing materials library. Each year the firm continues to flourish and I am thrilled to know I am a part of that support structure here at Ideation Design Group.

    Show More

    Cons

    These are not cons, however I will use this as an opportunity to make others aware of Ideation's employee expectations. Ideation prides itself on our business being all repeat client work or referrals and it is something Ideation if very proud of. We have built and nurtured client relationships that are strongly reliant on the "do-what-it-takes" attitude in our office. This is one of the many reasons our clients... continue to trust us with all their Architectural/Interior Design/Foodservice needs. You must be extremely organized and able to manage numerous projects at a time. Currently as the only Full-Time Graphic Designer in the firm, many of the projects that go out the door have elements that need attention from this department with overlapping deadlines spanning across multiple teams.

    Show More
    Ideation Design Group2017-03-29
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Worst run office I've ever worked in. But the coworkers were fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excluding management (and many of the designers), there's a great group of really fun, energetic people working there. The projects can be fun and different and give great foodservice experience.

    Cons

    Management is quite simply terrible. The designers are incredibly stuck-up and ridiculous. The owner is an unfriendly and elitist individual who thinks his employees should worship him. He's so unprofessional, it's not even funny. The rest of management treat their employees like second-class citizens. Apparently, they are supposed to worship management for just giving them a job and providing a nice office. ... There's no work-life balance as they EXPECT their employees to work at LEAST 50 hours a week. No, there's no better compensation for that, either. I've talked with many current employees that are looking for something better. The projects they seek have incredibly short deadlines and all end up being about the same thing over and over again. It's virtually impossible to keep up, which is why they expect their employees to work long hours (and routinely work weekends).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tone down your egos. Stop treating employees like a commodity.

    Ideation Design Group2017-02-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Creative Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office & Accounting Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ideation Design Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Encourage professionalism, creativity, forward-thinking, company growth, advancement and teamwork.

    Cons

    No Cons to mention at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!

    Ideation Design Group2016-09-15
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Overall, A Bad Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ideation Design Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good exposure to projects that you can add to your portfolio.

    Cons

    Extreme disorganization and lack of communication coming from top management. Leaders do not lead by example; they are quick to place blame on scapegoats, but don't hold true people responsible for their actions. Highly unprofessional environment (inappropriate topics brought up regularly in the office, inappropriate behavior and actions displayed by top management, and no HR department just to name a few). ... Favoritism is a common practice of the principals and employees are not treated as equals. Raises are very rarely given, if at all. Virtually no room for professional growth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees equally and fairly. Communicate openly and clearly to your employees instead of behind their backs. Set a good example for employees... lead by example. Treat employees like humans and not pieces of property.

    Ideation Design Group2016-03-03
Found 8 reviews