Iha of Ann Arbor Reviews | Glassdoor

Iha of Ann Arbor Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Iha of Ann Arbor CEO  (no image)
4 Ratings
  1. "GREAT PLACE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here is so team oriented. It is refreshing to be around, all in the name of serving the patient.

    Cons

    None to report at this time.

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-07-24
  2. "Wellness coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Iha of Ann Arbor part-time

    Pros

    Great people and leadership really cares about its employees.

    Cons

    With high demand of patient care it makes it difficult for work/life balance.

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-08-30
  3. "Nurse triage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - STaff Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good coworkers and quarterly bonuses

    Cons

    Poor hourly pay and short staffing

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees, please

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-08-01
  4. "alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 

    I have been working at Iha of Ann Arbor part-time

    Pros

    friendly environment, lunch break, easy work

    Cons

    the pay, strict, uniforms (what you must wear) is over the top, office supplies

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Managers make or break- mostly break. Nobody in upper management cares about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    While I had a good manager it was an enjoyable experience. As soon as they left the office tanked.

    Cons

    **separate note, before I left management told us that reception/phone calls may be centralized to the central office by next year, unsure how much reception will be used at the offices in the future** Okay but not great health coverage. Work life balance blows. Management rides you about making sure work gets done and in the same breath tells you do "just do what you can", then yells at you for not being 3... people. Management blows on the whole, breathing down your neck about picking up phones before the 3rd ring while also demanding you do other things. Chronically understaffed due to how many people get hired/quit. In my year and a half in the office I was in, about 20 people quit/left the office due to management. Reaching out to Central gets you stonewalled. Management has no heart, someone got into an accident on the way to work and called into the office to inform them and they tried giving the person a no-call-no-show because they "didnt reach out to management directly". I was paid about $13/hr and that is absolutely not enough to compensate for the stress of the job. I worked my tail off and wound up on anxiety meds and antidepressants and my yearly raise after excellent reviews from my peers didnt even cover the amount I have to spend on my meds for it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop loading up people with work and not giving them back up. If you expect 600 calls in a day and want each person answering 100 calls, putting 4 people on phone calls will NOT work out well, especially when they have additional jobs to do. the 90% pickup before 3 rings is absolutely unreasonable when you load up staff with other work and have them chronically understaffed. Also, "The Customer" needs to change, as... it literally suggests stereotyping patients by age in order to interact with them.

    Show More
    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "If your not in managements "click" your a nobody."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The overall experience of the medical field, helping patients, interacting with doctors and other non management staff.

    Cons

    Management, one of the absolute worst managed sites I've ever worked at, if you are not in the click your nothing, they absolutely know how high the turnover rate is but yet refuse to do anything about it, theres one manager there that should have NEVER became a manger, more like a Haunted House worker because all she does is scare staff away while running and tattling trying to trow her weight around to the PM.

    Advice to Management

    Fire all of you and start fresh, D needs to realize that the people that work there are human beings, and by undermining and belittling them to make her self feel better, she may be causing people serious dismise in there life. She really needs to be checked for Bi Polar disorder, and C needs to hop off the lap of everyone and go to manager training. M was the only good one there until D stepped all over her causing... her to mute and not have a say in anything. Everyone knows the issue so WHY NOT DO SOMETHING.

    Show More
    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-07-13
  7. "Wonderful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Receptionist 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time

    Pros

    Like family environment, lots of room for growth, frequent bonuses and incentives, great PTO

    Cons

    Clique management style for upper management

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "IHA does NOT care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Receptionist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On Dominos Farms, which is beautiful. Internal medicine doctors are amazing. Not one other positive aspect to this job.

    Cons

    -Low pay -Expensive insurance -Too much work -Horrid organization/ lack of -Poorly managed -Management not interested in employee development. -Management barely present. -Incompetence runs high in mgmt. -Toxic environment/ not a culture of caring. Bullying is fully tolerated, including physical threats. - Absolutely no room for growth, unless you now someone at corporate who can get you that growth.... -Complete lack of understanding from management for issues. -Complete lack of compassion for employees. -The culture of this company builds you up to think they have values, but they are not upheld. -Extremely high turnover. -Employees are made to train a constant stream of new employees with no added compensation. -Employees are made to do work for their supervisors, without added compensation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employee Review I was honored with the opportunity to work for this company, but it is not the company I thought it was. I thought they cared for their internal customer, us.. the workers... the heart and soul of their organization. But in the years that I spent in this company, I was abused and overused. This is a review of my personal experience. Health benefits are incredibly expensive. Pay is low for... the amount of work needed. Raises are given annually to most employees, but they are minimal at best in monetary value. Employees (of internal medicine) are just another number to punch in IHA, which you would think would be a good thing, because all they care about is numbers... But for the employees it is made well known how replaceable they are. There’s way too much work for the employees, and they are always made to feel like a failure. There’s literally a year worth of medical records backlogged, at least. Employees are made to do management level reports because management doesn’t know how to. If customers complain about an office policy, it’s somehow the fault of the office workers, who don’t make the policies. If the phone scores are too low for too long, because the office is constantly understaffed, someone with seniority gets the boot for vague “gossiping” with no explanation of what examples could be made, no verbal or written warning, no previous mention, no chance to defend themselves and then they are escorted from the property while IHA keeps their belongings. No value whatsoever placed on longstanding employees. Receptionists work at least 50 hours a week, and have their lunches deducted from their pay if the office is too busy to take a lunch. Management runs out the door at 4pm every day, barely working 35-40 hours a week. Lunches used to be an hour, but get cut because there’s extra work. Managers get an hour or more. There’s extra work because employee turnover is ridiculously high. There used to be monthly recognition for employees with top performance but continuous management turnover has brought that to an end. It must be expensive to repeatedly train managers just to replace them. Management gets angry if corporate hears that they are out of the office, even if they are actually out of the office. Management often tells the employees that they should never say there’s not a manager available, even if there isn’t one, or even if no one knows the manager is there because they are usually gone or hiding in their office. Bullying runs rampant in this company. If you make a complaint about your safety, the HR department makes a point to tell you that any further complaints will result in your office being “possibly not the right fit for you”. But those who threaten and bully get to have a conversation with the boss where they badmouth the employee who complained. Management also badmouths people who get fired or quit, in front of the entire staff. Management also screams demeaningly at staff in front of staff members. When that gets reported to HR, nothing is done and the manager retaliates in front of all the staff. I seriously believe the entire HR department is there solely to protect the business from lawsuits. Management is always brought in from out of the company, and usually have no idea what they are doing. Office staff is made to teach their supervisor, even though internal applicants have applied for the supervisor position... which leads the team to believe they are somehow qualified to train the position that they aren’t qualified to do themselves. This causes the entire team to have absolutely no respect for the supervisor, especially if they still don’t know the job a year later. I can’t advise on how badly this type of treatment gives the impression that your values are nothing but pretty lies. This company fooled me into believing that I was working for an employer with compassion, but in the end, I was nothing but a number just like the countless other employees who couldn’t wait to leave.

    Show More
    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-03-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Benefits, Hidden Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Receptionist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Iha of Ann Arbor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - insurance, 401k, discounts on popular services like mobile carrier, free counseling service

    Cons

    During training you’re told that you will be encouraged to grow and learn and improve but in the actual job there are many people waiting to just cut you down and get you written up and fired so they can have your job or just get rid of you if you disagree with them. No one can just talk to you frankly about errors and help you improve, they take it to your boss right away or even worse just complain about you to... coworkers who then don’t take you seriously. Training for medical assistants is virtually nonexistent as well, they arent allowed to do anything at all beyond EHR entries, BP, throat swabs and urine testing when they should be doing so much more for their MA programs. They were also not very flexible with schedules.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Happy staff means happy patients. If your staff are overworked or exhausted, whether it be due to the job or other external factors, consider a schedule change or any change to help them get past it and succeed. Don’t feed into the rattle tale drama and educate your staff on civil confrontation and constructive criticism versus taking their word straight away and writing someone up. The same goes for customer... complaints - get all sides of the story before you give someone a reprimand.

    Show More
    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-01-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Medical Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Iha of Ann Arbor full-time

    Pros

    Above average medical/dental/vision benefits

    Cons

    Underpaid and overworked. Work/life is way off balance

    Iha of Ann Arbor2019-01-02
Found 50 reviews