Illinois Department of Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Illinois Department of Human Services Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Illinois Department of Human Services CEO Joseph Harper
Joseph Harper
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "The pay is good and you will be helping people in need(in 5 reviews)

  • "The position is very educating and the pay is good(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "technically you are an independent contractor so no benefits like health insurance or PTO(in 3 reviews)

  • "The position isn't always permanent and most of the time not full-time(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Easy to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work with, Listen to concerns, take time to help with errors, respond to messages and calls promptly

    Cons

    office is far, can be hard to turn in timesheets

    Illinois Department of Human Services2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "IDORHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Care Assistant in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was happy to work for a client I knew very well.

    Cons

    The pay is not good and job specifications can be restricting.

    Illinois Department of Human Services2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Technician in Waukegan, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Union, State of Illinois, unlimited overtime

    Cons

    Staff are bullies, senior staff will make you do all the work, was called a racial slur, had 2 staff literally verbally attack me, lack of communication throughout facilities and mandated overtime every day. Alot of gossiping, petty, unaccountable and rude staff

    Advice to Management

    None as they are just as bad.

    Illinois Department of Human Services2019-05-16
  4. "Stressful but Rewarding at Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Technician in Kankakee, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, PTO, Upward Mobility, Get to Go on Outing, Changes Every Day

    Cons

    Stress, Mandatory Over Time, Over Due Back Pay, Slow To Change

    Advice to Management

    Make the hiring process faster, need to move to a paperless system

    Illinois Department of Human Services2019-03-04
  5. "Mostly Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Home Health Licensed Practical Nurse in Marion, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    great pay, new grad hire, flexible hours

    Cons

    technically you are an independent contractor so no benefits like health insurance or PTO

    Illinois Department of Human Services2019-02-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Personal Care Assistant in Chicago, IL

      I worked at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, average pay, relatively easy

      Cons

      Took a while to get adjusted to accomplishing certain tasks for clients

      Illinois Department of Human Services2019-02-18
    • "Worked part time but I loved it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Illinois Department of Human Services

        Pros

        Make your own hours and fair amount of work

        Cons

        Only part time only and no benefits

        Illinois Department of Human Services2019-02-02
      • "caseworkers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good insurance and great pay

        Cons

        There are really no cons

        Advice to Management

        None

        Illinois Department of Human Services2019-01-09
      • "Personal Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Personal Assistant in Taylorville, IL

        I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pay is not bad, flexible hours taking care of someone who needs your help in everyday tasks.

        Cons

        Losing a patient, and having to find your own patients

        Illinois Department of Human Services2018-12-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "The pay sucks"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Personal Assistant in Chicago Heights, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Illinois Department of Human Services full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        You have the freedom of no supervisor on your back

        Cons

        No benefits and you do work outside your title

        Illinois Department of Human Services2018-11-11
      Found 72 reviews