Illinois Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor

Illinois Mutual Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Illinois Mutual Chairman and President Katie McCord Jenkins (no image)
Katie McCord Jenkins
15 Ratings
  1. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, staff, products, benefits and service

    Cons

    Economies of scale, market, small, resources and technology

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2019-12-27
  2. "Pretty nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Net Developer in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Insurance premiums, atmosphere, hours, company culture pretty good.

    Cons

    Still a little conservative for my tastes.

    Illinois Mutual2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Hidden Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Half day fridays, free healthcare, subsidized cafeteria, tuition assistance, performance and education bonuses, great culture

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Illinois Mutual2019-07-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere, free medical, and 1/2 day Fridays every week!

    Cons

    With smaller company, you have limited growth potential as you move up to management.

    Illinois Mutual2018-12-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "hidden gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rep in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IM is a hidden gem in Peoria. The people here are great and that includes the leader. A lot of important projects going on, very busy. But at least I know why unlike at my last company. Here they actually try to tell you what and why. Compensation and benefits (medical coverage at no premium cost!) are phenomenal! Plus Friday afternoons off. To top it off the business they are in actually helps people.

    Cons

    There is no shortage of work. If you don't like this or have problems prioritizing this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2018-07-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compressed work-week (1/2 day Fridays), free health insurance, subsidized cafeteria, great employees work for the company.

    Cons

    In IT, you will be told anything to get you in the door but your actual job may be totally different. Or, you may not have enough work to keep you busy. If you like the thought of sitting idle while your skills fade away, apply here. If you value your career and want to keep your skills sharp don't let the promises and the high salary offer temp you. Taking an IT job here is the equivalent of career suicide. IT management is disfunctional and CIO provides no concrete vision.

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2018-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illinois Mutual full-time

    Pros

    good company to work, management is good

    Cons

    none, company size is small

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2018-05-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "best ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Best place I've worked--ever! salary, benefits, people, leadership, culture--it is the complete package.

    Cons

    If you don't like working at a smaller company, you might not like it here. People know you by name and you make friends here.

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2017-05-17
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Top Notch Midwestern Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very competitive salary and benefits package. The people here are smart, bright and professional individuals. A lot of tenured folks; some have been here for 20+, 30+ years, which has somewhat of a correlation to how much they enjoy their work. Company culture is rich with leadership and history, conservative yet progressive by thinking outside the box. The company has done right by hiring young professionals and leadership listens with intent as well. I am proud to work for Illinois Mutual. The learning and development opportunities here are plentiful. Executive leadership has a passion for continuous improvement and managers make time for its employers to grow professionally and personally thru several programs the company offers. I have worked for a number of world-class companies, but by far, Illinois Mutual has been my favorite. …

    Cons

    Illinois Mutual has been in business for over a 100 years now and some of that conservative culture is apparent. Though recently, they have been pushing out initiatives to change that. Business professional attire is more relaxed and now casual Fridays has been introduced. Flexibility in schedules, work from home schedules are being piloted and half day Fridays; this leaves you believing the company has its employees best interest in a family friendly and centered culture. While this really isn't a negative, there is a lot of red tape.....mostly because we're in such a heavily regulated industry. If you are coming from a larger firm or different industry, the pace of change and approval can frustrate you. The company is also small (but mighty) which leaves little room for upward career mobility, but the benefit of learning development opportunities make up for that.

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2016-06-09
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Terribly Lacking Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friday afternoon office closes at 12:15 pm; decent benefits

    Cons

    Bully management is allowed to single out & harass certain employees with no recourse or accountability. The company lacks a true leader. The company forces insurance classes on its employees with practically no hope of promotion. The manager only hires "yes" supervisors, to prevent any fresh ideas or course correction. This company is so far behind similar ins companies. Operating systems compare to mid-1990's or older. Staff is penalized for company's lack of innovation in the areas of automation.

    Continue reading
    Illinois Mutual2016-06-21
Found 20 reviews