Illinois Secretary of State Reviews | Glassdoor

Illinois Secretary of State Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "My experience with the Illinois Secretary Of State is a professional experience that produces team work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dealership Inspector in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State

    Pros

    The best reasons to be with this Job is to help customers complete the task at hand

    Cons

    The challenges are working with customers who don’t always give you the best response

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you are doing Managment!!

    Illinois Secretary of State2018-12-18
  2. "Taking care of customer that wants to register business in Illinois or apply for any process related to corporations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Services Representative in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a chance to practice my spoken English considering that my first language is Spanish, good benefits.

    Cons

    Repetitive job, administrative job that does not allow me to develop my professional profile, this is a survival job for me.

    Illinois Secretary of State2019-03-11
  3. "Court of claims clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Court Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are numerous pros with working for the secretary of state. The most important two for me would be the great Law experience and the consistency of networking.

    Cons

    In my two years of working here I have yet to encounter little to no cons in my working experience. The only con I could mention would be the unhappiness from the public. Some times dealing with a public citizen who doesn't agree with the state decisions can take a left turn.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to continue the great communication between employees and management.

    Illinois Secretary of State2018-11-27
  4. "Secretary of state"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a awesome place to work

    Cons

    The only con is advancement

    Illinois Secretary of State2018-09-13
  5. "Working at the DMV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of paid holidays

    Cons

    There is no professional growth working for this organization

    Advice to Management

    Needs a complete organization restructure

    Illinois Secretary of State2018-05-01
  6. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Student Worker 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, lots of diverse experiences working with customers

    Cons

    Multiple managers, multiple directions, and instructions from different people

    Advice to Management

    Manage communication to work better with each other

    Illinois Secretary of State2018-02-01
  7. "Operations Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady hours and paycheck. Potential retirement fund.

    Cons

    Horrible, I mean horrible management. No support from the union, as most jobs there ARE Union jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Not advice, per se..but just for your information, A Good Manager can either MAKE or BREAK a job and destroy the Morale of a whole Department. This is something That ALL persons in a Supervisory role at the SOS need to think about before micromanaging their employees and implementing absolutely ridiculous policies. Because at a certain point..NO job is worth sacraficing your well being for.

    Illinois Secretary of State2017-11-02
  8. "Public service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time

    Pros

    Easy job. Most of the customers are polite. Holidays off. No job to take home.

    Cons

    Political. Some incompetent employees. Managers playing favors.

    Illinois Secretary of State2017-11-01
  9. "Easy going job, customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Don't take work home Good work/life balance

    Cons

    No room for growth unless you move to the bigger cities. i.e.: Springfield, Chicago. Raises are slim to none (based on contracts) Illinois is broke Co-workers make easy work harder than what it is

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers fairly, don't play favorites. Work once in a while.

    Illinois Secretary of State2017-10-24
  10. "Public Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Illinois Secretary of State full-time

    Pros

    Job variety, meeting new people

    Cons

    Lack of advancement opportunities within

    Advice to Management

    Recognize employees

    Illinois Secretary of State2017-01-27
Found 28 reviews