Illinois State Board of Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Illinois State Board of Education Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Illinois State Board of Education CEO Jesse H. Ruiz (no image)
Jesse H. Ruiz
3 Ratings
  1. "Early Childhood Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Early Childhood Teacher in Maywood, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's not only extremely fulfilling, but very enjoyable. Every day is something different. It's impossible to get boted@

    Cons

    Wow! I can't think of even one.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Illinois State Board of Education2017-09-05
  2. "Unimpressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Auditor in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No expectations; there was no work to justify the position I was hired and trained in; I was told to play on facebook.

    Cons

    Management expect you to play on facebook Management does not care that you do not have work Management continues to hire people in position with no work to justify employment.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure so that employees who do not have work help others who do. I worked in a unit where only two people had work. I met a secretary who retired because she did not have any work for four years. So sad that management knows this goes on and continues to take salaries from the state of Illinois and does not make change. Those salaries could be used to pay off the huge deficit. What a concept?

    Illinois State Board of Education2019-06-20
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education

    Pros

    The managers will give you choices and let you select which way you are going to take.

    Cons

    Not any in my mind.

    Illinois State Board of Education2017-08-10
  4. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois State Board of Education part-time

    Pros

    I do believe they would like to positively impact the lives of students and families but politics prevents success

    Cons

    Illinois is a bankrupt state that is unable to support the programs it has in place. Strategic vision and innovative thinking are necessary foundations of true change

    Illinois State Board of Education2017-07-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "program specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits and pay plus over good work environment.

    Cons

    those close to retirement are worthless because they know they are covered by AFSCME and it takes an act of god to prove they are not pulling their weight. new employees have to pick up the slack, in addition to work extra hard to do their own job in an agency that is already short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Better supervision over those not doing their jobs and motivation to get them to move so they don't feel so protected by the union that they get away with everything. Take care of your best workers and appreciate the best that you have while you still have them, or they move on.

    Illinois State Board of Education2017-06-13
  6. "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education full-time

    Pros

    Engaging work setting educational policy

    Cons

    The pay is poor, have to pay own TRS, work year round vs. in a district, have to pay own parking. I gained a 17k raise by going back into a district. I could not afford to work there. Please tell applicants that agency does NOT pay retirement as opposed to most school districts that do!

    Advice to Management

    Please see above.

    Illinois State Board of Education2017-04-13
  7. "Principle Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits are Good

    Cons

    Culture and management are terrible

    Advice to Management

    Hire competent managers versus friends

    Illinois State Board of Education2016-11-20
  8. "It could be worse..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People seem friendly; agency has a good mission; pension and other benefits are great; special events committee organizes neat things such as food trucks, holiday craft sales, parties, etc.

    Cons

    Very divided - communication with other divisions is limited by the structure; claim they can only promote you if you're doing the work of multiple people, but they never do; inflexible schedule; people on the verge of retirement don't have a care in the world, and younger employees have to pick up the slack.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage communication across divisions. Increase pay. Look into alternatives to "masters degree or bust" for promotions, such as experience, certifications, etc.

    Illinois State Board of Education2016-10-11
  9. "Improving all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illinois State Board of Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparency, truly trying to make a change

    Cons

    Attitudes of many seasoned employees

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within, given job experience even without degree and get rid of requiring Master's Degree on everything

    Illinois State Board of Education2016-08-02
  10. "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Illinois State Board of Education

    Pros

    There are 13 paid holidays a year

    Cons

    It is a state job and few managers have new ideas, but suffer from "near retirement and not rocking the boat."

    Illinois State Board of Education2016-03-16
Found 16 reviews