Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor

Illumina Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 742 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 77 reviews)

  • "care to employees welfare; work-life balance(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "So much going on - you need to be very good at setting boundaries or it will be easy to get sucked into poor work-life balance(in 61 reviews)

  • "Working in Illumina is very fast-paced and working with colleagues across the globe is challenging(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company is changing the approach to the healthcare around the globe and truly helping people to live longer and healthier lives

    Cons

    I don't see any cons that would be fact driven (only emotional comments, but this depends of everyone's taste)

    Illumina2019-06-24
  2. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Applications Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaging work supporting products that I believe in. Great support internally for field employees. Senior leadership truly listens to the feedback from the field and addresses pain points as best as possible. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    401k match could be a little higher, but all other aspects of compensation are great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in innovation and keep listening to us.

    Illumina2019-06-14
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - QC Associate 

      I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Really nice people at this company

      Cons

      Very fast paced work environment

      Illumina2019-06-12
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great Job, Poor Career Advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Everything always falls down to the business needs. Your Career could be headed in one direction and changed instantly based on company needs.

      Cons

      Promotions are based on Friendships

      Illumina2019-06-14
    • "Informatics Business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in Foster City, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Driven and responsive direct management team - Team interested in adapting and promoting learning of new skills - ability to pivot to new products

      Cons

      - Weak product portfolio - Not much career growth/ladder - Senior Leadership not actually promoting success of informatics - Dispersed team across many regions - Customers not favorable on products

      Advice to Management

      Get senior leadership to commit to products worth developing and be more transparent about changes to organizations and products currently in support.

      Illumina2019-06-20
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great in every way as I know

      Cons

      I did not find any

      Illumina2019-06-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Manufacturing 

        I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Company is growing and there are a lot of opportunities to grow

        Cons

        Environment operates very political

        Illumina2019-06-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Benefits, total compensation - Social events, happy hours - Mostly great hires

          Cons

          - Inconsistent management dependng on what group you're in

          Illumina2019-06-11
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great Company Culture"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in San Diego, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          - great company with intelligent people - great work/life balance, unlimited time off - opportunities to transition into other roles - management will always try to do what is right by the employee

          Cons

          - senior management claims to be progressive but leans more on the conservative side in terms of company politics

          Illumina2019-05-29
        • "Great Mission, Great Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Generalist in San Diego, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Mission and Values, fun company events, hiring the best talent, well compensated!

          Cons

          Work life balance, growing faster than our resources.

          Advice to Management

          Love the manager trust initiative, it's a great place to work because I feel trusted to work hard and complete my work.

          Illumina2019-05-23
        Found 742 reviews