Cover image for Illumina
Logo
See All Photos

Illumina

Engaged Employer

Illumina

Add a Review

Illumina Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,666 of over 2K reviews
4.1
81% Recommend to a Friend
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
87% Approve of CEO

Found 1,661 of over 2K reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
880 Ratings

What people are saying about Illumina

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Illumina and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company with a lot of benefits

    Nov 20, 2022 - Service and Support Specialist 2 in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture for growth within company

    Cons

    The industry is changing and evolving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast-paced and innovative biotech leader experiencing issues with company strategy

    Nov 23, 2022 - Inside Sales Representative II in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Such a wonderful mission and purpose. Everyone is passionate about genomics and this comes through in their work and engagement with the company. Great benefits and perks, offices are top-notch, and people are all very motivated and intelligent. I met some amazing people and it was so fun to visit campus as well as participate in extracurricular activities organized by the company,

    Cons

    There is a stark disconnect between the commitment made to employees by middle management vs. the strategic decisions that top executives and the leadership team make. This has been amplified by recent activities including the frivolous spending on the Illumina Genomics Forum, then just weeks later, laying off 5% of the workforce to cutback on costs. It is contradictory and reveals what the company's priorities are.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Illumina team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company to work at!

    Nov 14, 2022 - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wonderful brilliant people at Illumina. The mission is genuine, as are the people at the company. Illumina is destined for wonderful things, and I would always recommend this company to a friend, and could see myself coming back one day.

    Cons

    I felt that people were not respectful of time off / sick time, even though we had unlimited. I also felt like there was a little bit of "big brother" watching over me when I did my work. Also, the return to work was not as flexible as I would've liked. One other thing to add, I felt like I was underpaid compared to the industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great career opportunity

    Dec 1, 2022 - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome campus, work life balance, culture (company cares what employees think), smart & friendly people. Incentives: FTO, ESPP, VCP, RSU

    Cons

    Could be paid a bit more. Recent down sizing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I don’t get why it’s mandatory to go in

    Oct 27, 2022 - Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, So many things to learn, Awesome coworkers Amazing benefits Highly intelligent people who are also approachable

    Cons

    A little too much freedom, kind of had to learn everything myself. Recently had to start logging everything and now it is mandatory to be in the office/lab everyday, it’s almost to the point of micromanaging (not my direct manager, my manager is amazing I feel like it’s upper management)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Got let go

    Nov 26, 2022 - Process Development Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good for your resume, be surrounded by smart and out going people

    Cons

    Very corporate, higher ups don't care about you, overly political groups of individuals, dog eat dog kind of place

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Leadership Needs Improvement

    Nov 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - My team and direct chain of management are incredible, transparent, and extremely intelligent and inspiring people. - I feel like I'm supported to grow in my role and I'm challenged everyday. - The work we do is life changing and it feels good to play a small part in doing good in the world.

    Cons

    Some of the senior leadership (C-levels) come off as disingenuous and do not instill trust. There's no way to provide feedback and the iPulse surveys (that the company has recently decided no longer need to be as frequent...) only allow ratings for VPs and nothing above. There's no way to provide feedback to high level leaders. They stand in front of us and speak like politicians, answering questions in company meetings in circles without any true transparency and they do not seem to truly care about employee wellbeing at all. They preach about how diverse our company is, how much they care about women, how we care about sustainability, yet come off as cold, insensitive, and and actors just "playing a part" and spewing nonsense when they speak direct to the employees. I've felt this way since starting at Illumina 3 years ago, but this has especially been echoed recently with the 5% layoffs and our CEO couldn't even make an appearance in person to give his message at the company meeting face to face with the people these decisions directly impact. They scream that they care on their Twitter accounts, but in practice do not seem as if they care about the employees at all. If we could provide feedback for leaders higher than our VPs, I'm sure this sentiment would be echoed from all across the company, but instead they give us no voice and we all whisper about it in the hallways and try bringing it up to our direct managers. It is severely negatively impacting the overall culture and mindset.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Technician 3

    Nov 29, 2022 - Assembly Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good insurance . Nice people. Hours is good

    Cons

    Don’t value their workers. Management is unorganize . A lot of politic.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Prototype Services(PS) dept issues

    Nov 21, 2022 - Engineer Technician in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent company to work for

    Cons

    -Poor management in Prototype Services department -Favoritism and politics runs high in PS -Managers don't manage the team -Managers aren't on campus to see the issues -Managers are more focused on group meetings opposed to getting technicians to do actual work for internal customers -Technicians aren't professional- confidential meetings with HR aren't kept confidential and are discussed among other techs in the group regarding a situation at a beach. - no investigation, no disciplinary action was taken.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Illumina is a great place to work!

    Nov 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flex time off - technically unlimited vacation time Highly collaborative, team-centered culture Great benefits Possibility for remote work, hybrid, or on-site to fit your needs

    Cons

    Post-COVID there are not as many people reliably on site, so it takes a bit longer to get to know people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,661 Reviews
</>Embed

Illumina Reviews FAQs

Illumina has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 1,932 reviews left anonymously by employees. 81% of employees would recommend working at Illumina to a friend and 76% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Illumina employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Illumina. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

81% of Illumina employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Illumina 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Illumina to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Illumina Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Illumina? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

Illumina Careers

Cover image for Illumina

Empowering Bigger Breakthroughs​ The potential of genomics to change the world is unparalleled. From our earliest startup days, we’ve...More

This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Illumina

17 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
We are proud to announce that for the second year in a row, we were named a Military Times Best for Vets Employer. Thank you to all our #veteran employees that continue to give back by serving as mentors, participating on career panels, and supporting our recruitment efforts to grow the veteran talent pool. Our iSERVED Employee Resource Group also partners with various VSO (Veteran Service Organizations) by hosting cohorts throughout the year introducing our company and business to transition veterans.
Shared image - https://employers.militarytimes.com/2022/company/illumina
https://employers.militarytimes.com/2022/company/illumina
employers.militarytimes.com
See all

Illumina Photos

+ Add Photo
Illumina photo of: #OneTeamOneMission
Illumina photo of: Singapore Volunteer Walk
Illumina photo of: UK Santa Run
Illumina photo of: Volunteer Appreciation Celebration
Illumina photo of: Intern Volunteer Event with Rady's Children's Hospital
Illumina photo of: Illumina in the Community
Illumina photo of: Bringing the heat to our Illumina chile cook off!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Illumina Job Seekers Also Viewed

Genentech Logo
Genentech

4.1

3,918 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,932 Illumina reviews submitted anonymously by Illumina employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Illumina is right for you.