Illuminate Education Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Illuminate Education CEO Christine Willig (no image)
Christine Willig
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Feels like you really make a difference to the future of kids and their education(in 11 reviews)

  • "Illuminate Education is full of some of the most passionate people anywhere(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Do not expect that kind of camaraderie at Illuminate(in 25 reviews)

  • "New CEO has no clue how to use the software(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Illuminate Education is a great place to work! It is an open collaborative environment. They do a great job listen to their employees and their ideas as to how to scale the company and the products. -Culture is relaxed, casual and open - Flexible schedule and work environment -Have remote opportunities available

    Cons

    I don't have anything at this time

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-02-26
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Original Purpose and Vision is Gone"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company started in 2010 for teachers and their students, by teachers, keeping the VOC or voice of the customer in tact and purposeful for more than 5 years until a change in Executive Leadership took place. All employees felt with purpose and drive, willing to go above and beyond for school districts and educators across the country, without any remorse or complaint. In fact, most of the original company still gets together today. We had a lot of growing pains, but we did in together, keeping our mission to serve and help educators across the country close to our hearts. With any startup with had our challenges, but worked together to come through to the other side. Our benefits were too kind and often reflecting back, we were a bit spoiled but it was because our Executive Team believe in taking care of their employees when in turn, take care of business, and it did.

    Cons

    When Executive Leadership changed, followed by 4 acquisitions and mergers at the same time, while also not embracing the culture and history of all companies before becoming one, there was an animosity driven from Executive Leaders (not the rest of the company) that trickled down, turning the product, its tools, and its impact into being disliked, unused, or hard for educators. It also came with disdain from what the original companies built, which was successful (I mean, why would they merge with the larger legacy company?)! Most of the legacy staff from the company is now not involved, fired, or let go from the company altogether. Their new goals and mission does not aligned with what educators are needing or saying. If they focused on embracing the history, culture, and talent of all legacy companies to pave the way for a new Illuminate, they would be much better off right now than they are.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-04-07
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Mega Merger - Mega Flop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illuminate Education full-time

    Pros

    hmm... I'll get back to you once I can think of one

    Cons

    I've worked at some disorganized places that left me feeling frustrated and exhausted, but at least coworkers were there as supports and in the trenches with you getting the work done. Do not expect that kind of camaraderie at Illuminate. You are on an island of your own. This company went through a mega-merger nearly 2 years ago and nothing is merged, it still individually companies under a large Illuminate umbrella. People who worked for one of the original companies before the merger will label you an outsider and assume you cannot do anything correctly. There is such a reliance on a few people who worked for the original companies prior to the merger they cannot delegate work to new hires. There is also no trust in new hires to do the work themselves. People who are praised here are workaholics who spend their evenings and weekends and holidays and PTO logging into their email to finish work. That is what is celebrated. There is no expectation of a work/life balance. Employees who are NOT managers are given supervisory work without communication to those who would be working under them - having a review completed by someone who is NOT your manager is insulting. Being told that you need to take ownership of a project when the person who should be handing the work off to you is a control freak who make it impossible to do so is degrading. It's like folks here never learned to communicate kindly to one another - you always need to look behind you to see who is about to throw you under the bus. This company is going to fail if they don't realize they need to break up the original company employees because they will never fully integrate otherwise.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (8)

    "So Sad!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was such an amazing company to work for at one time. Former educators made up much of the workforce. We cared deeply for our clients and understood the struggles that educators face.

    Cons

    So many to list! Greedy, money hungry people are running this company. They don't care about children or educators. I am guessing they are losing clients by the dozens due to the way they run this company. I am sure they are saying that they can help with remote learning, despite having very little to help with this. It won't stop them from lying though to get money from school districts.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-05-11
  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Illuminate is a company full of motivated people

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Curriculum Writer 

    I worked at Illuminate Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers and very helpful management.

    Cons

    Low salary, especially for workload.

    Illuminate Education2020-02-28
  7. "Excellent Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time

    Pros

    Really love and believe in the work that Illuminate Ed is doing. Feel like I'm a part of a force for good for the present and future. - Company hires well. Some of the smartest, most collaborative and supportive people I've ever worked with. I rarely, if ever, encounter an employee with a bad attitude. - Culture is relaxed, casual, and inclusive. - Employees have a lot of autonomy. - Flexible work environment - remote work opportunities available, depending on the role. - Good benefits, including medical, dental, & and vision - Maternity/paternity leave policy is more generous than standard - Dog-friendly environment! - Free snacks - Free gym access

    Cons

    Remote work opportunities offer flexibility, but in departments where most the team is partially or fully remote, it can be more difficult to feel connected with the team and company. Even with employees who work mostly in-office, some departments are physically isolated from others, making it difficult to get to know people from other depts. Wish there were more opportunities such as social events for employees from all depts. - whether remote, partially remote, and non-remote - to mingle and connect. Recently, I've seen more efforts made by admin to help facilitate this, and I hope the efforts will continue.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-02-15
  8. "Treated Well"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've enjoyed my time contracting for this company. The people are nice and the office is in a great location. Management seems to genuinely care about the direction both the company and it's people are going in.

    Cons

    It's both good and bad that people can opt to work remotely. This is a personal opinion but I think more stuff gets done when everyone can be in the same room working on a project. I know that this doesn't work for everyone and for a lot of people working remote is a plus, but I find it difficult.

    Illuminate Education2020-01-31
  9. Helpful (12)

    "UPDATED Review - Giant Steps in the Wrong Direction"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The outstanding colleagues (some of whom I would consider family) that haven't been fired, laid off or quit out of frustration - Flexibility for remote work - Product, at least the ones that are still actively supported

    Cons

    If you're thinking of working here, do yourself a favor and filter these reviews by Date. You'll notice exactly what the cons are. Here's my summary: - Executive leadership lacks company vision/goals, transparency, and compassion. It's truly sad to see a company that was steeped in employee culture, care for ALL clients, and dedicated mission navigated off a cliff. - The above listed cons can be further broken down. Let's start with company vision/goals. There is a lack of what the "big idea" is, other than making profit. - Lack of company culture. Frankly, I'm quite surprised at how quickly it went from a supportive and employee-centric environment to a rigid hierarchy dictating what/when/how to perform our job responsibilities. - I didn't go to business school but understand that layoffs are a sad reality of mergers. But laying off folks with deep product knowledge and training experience, prior to strategic time(s) of the year is downright irresponsible. This decision has impacted clients and ultimately, the students (our most important clients, in my opinion). The con is a client-facing team that no longer have end to end knowledge of products.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2020-01-25
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Bullied Leaders who throws you under the bus at all cost"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Remote work - decent pay and benefits - still has PTOs (when they are approved) - Decent team to work with

    Cons

    Lots of cons where do I start: - No communication between the different teams - Bad managers making you duplicate work constantly - Getting thrown under the bus when leadership fails - No backfill for past engineers. Instead of replacing people that have left, others inherit the workload. As a result, everybody is overworked and stressed. - Tech debt is through the roof. Instead of fixing the bad infrastructure, let's add more features and increase the load. We need money. - Constantly stressing over cost (poor leadership planning). - There are 2 state as an engineer at illuminate: fire & pause. We're told that we need to get this thing done right now, and forget your life or your family. Then, we're told, it's not urgent anymore to wait until leaders have made further decisions. My current manager is a bully who does not take blame for anything. Instead, he finds ways to make you do the work, and when things do not go according to plan, he throws you under the bus. We are constantly doing the same work over and over again, because of his poor leadership style. He tries to get you to work on your paid holidays, but then pretend that he never once asked you to do that. There is no papertrail to prove your point, so he gets away with it. He tells you that you cannot take vacations on specific months (due to high testing season), but refuses to put that in writing. Who wants to work for a manager that you cannot trust. You never know which version of him you're going to get, as a result, you're constantly worried when coming to work. He created a very hostile environment for everybody. He is not flexible for you, but demands it of you.

    Continue reading
    Illuminate Education2019-12-10
Found 157 reviews