Illuminate Education Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Illuminate Education CEO Christine Willig (no image)
Christine Willig
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Heading in a Great Direction

    Jul 23, 2018 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Amazing company culture. Illuminate has managed to maintain the important aspects of its culture through recent periods of significant growth and change. * Management structure exists, but employees do not feel overly-monitored or babysat * Strong "Team" atmosphere still prevails and employees truly care about helping each other.

    Cons

    (July 2018) - Still some growing pains with putting in new processes and transitioning from a small company/start-up mindset to a large company/industry-leader mindset.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A Once Vibrant Company Tarnished By Bad Leadership

    Nov 16, 2020 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule (depending on your manager) - Casual dress (when offices were open) - Helpful team members (at least, in my case) - Health benefits aren't bad (although, they used to be 100% covered by the company)

    Cons

    - Mega-merger (5 companies into 1). This was more than this company could chew. I suppose it sounded like a wonderfully profitable idea on paper. Reality has been quite dismal. - Senior Leadership Team. The company used to be a nice split between employee-focused and client-focused, which in turn, drove profits up organically. Our big company meetings would show what cool things employees were doing (or going to do) followed by an inspirational pep talk by the original and genuinely excited CEO. Now we get talks about EBIDA and sales projections dictated to us by a not-so-genuine and uninspiring CEO and SLT. - Communication is a huge problem. Big changes that alter people's lives are dropped instantly and without warning. All under the guise of "strategic planning." The problem is every strategic plan seems to involve laying off employees. - And with that...lots of talent and product knowledge walking out the door. This makes everyone's job harder and takes time away from exciting new projects. - Developer jobs cut in favor of overseas hires. If you are applying to be a developer at this company, just know that your job could eventually find its way to India. - Pay is on the low side of average (especially for dev workload) - Clients (i.e. teachers and students) are the ones paying the price for these "strategic" decisions. That's what happens when your focus is on the money and not the product and people who build, sell, and implement it. - A once-great culture has been all but wiped out. They love to use the word. They love to say it out loud to try and convince people it exists. It doesn't. - This experience has proved to me that a hierarchal corporate structure isn't always the solution. We used to be a "flat organization." It was much better without borders. - Leadership used to care about what employees thought of them. Reviews didn't just run downhill. We were asked (frequently) to rate leaders. Now, all we have is Glassdoor and who knows if any of them even read this stuff.

    Continue reading
    22 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mr do it all

    Mar 16, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On rare occasion there is some down time to breath.

    Cons

    You'll be expected to juggle multiple projects across multiple languages that have all been abandoned because the author's have all left/been cut.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Used to be a good company

    Mar 10, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good home office atmosphere, great colleagues

    Cons

    Used to be a good company until all the tiers of management were added, and impossible deadlines with unrealistic goal-setting

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Not a good environment

    Jan 7, 2021 - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice team coworkers and nice location

    Cons

    Not a good environment plus not good pay.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    recent good reviews bad...

    Jun 28, 2019 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    most of the pros are long gone since the new ceo got a hold of this company. she is quickly eroding all reasons to work here.

    Cons

    since july '18 almost everything has be down hill. It's very hard not to conclude that the new ceo and her senior leadership (which has grown out of control) are trying to sink all these merged companies. the most recent "good" reviews have to be fake as the last 2 weeks the company has been hit with turmoil and layoffs. while layoffs can be understood for a vc company that's trying to get a return, the backward thinking has been insane. the ceo likes to say they do it for the kids and for the future but the most recent on goings at this company proves that is the furthest thing from the truth. a simple example is that the whole data science team (2 members but still) was let go... yeah, why does an education data visualization company need machine learning developers? she also took the fantastic culture and values that made this a great place to work and ripped those out in the short time she's been here. I've work for a couple of large companies and some were very corporate... this company moved from and open fun loving place with lots of benefits to someplace I wouldn't advise anyone to apply at.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Abused, Lied to, Disrespected

    Jun 24, 2019 - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People working with you in the trenches are great!

    Cons

    If you like to be abused, lied to, or disrespected this is the place for you.

    27 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 7, 2016 - Junior Developer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work overall. Flexible work hours; work remote if you want. Good benefits. Work culture is great and people are friendly; we play video games Monday night and personally like that everyone is around my age; we are young overall. The company works toward a non-toxic environment. I work on a small team, but I’d say they’re all very competent and easy to work with. Small, but nice things: the Macbook given to me to work on works great and runs fast, the secondary monitor provided is nice and huge, we were given a choice in any other equipment and I chose a Das mechanical keyboard and high precision mouse and got it, I like that we use the JIRA ticketing system and GitHub, and a gift of an iPad mini on my first day. And finally for me personally, a big plus was that the company has been patient with my recovery from surgery.

    Cons

    They’re on boarding process probably needs updating, but at leas they have one. Some documentation on several systems are also out of date, but this is always work in progress. There is a general lack of written specs so most questions about the system need to be answered by someone. This also causes unnecessary issues being raised.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Jul 19, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working environment, Co workers are always willing to help, Managers listen to your needs and try to get what you need to perform your job, The on boarding material they have is great I only have been with the company a month and a half and I already feel identify with it. The annual retreat was a lot of fun and gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of colleagues from different parts of the country people that I didn't know or I only have seen from the conference tv. The feeling that you work is helping in kid education is great

    Cons

    For the time I have been with the company I only can think about positive things

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Company

    Jul 21, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's easily the best company I've ever worked for. The compensation, benefits, and bonuses are all great. Management is thoughtful, strong, and loves to see people excel. Co-workers really enjoy what they are doing, and everyone has a well-defined purpose and sense that we are working to help students, teachers, and school administrators.

    Cons

    No cons, but you must be flexible with change, as the company is merging with other companies. This is also a company transitioning quickly from a "start up" mode to a disciplined, professional company. If you don't like that, this is not for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Illuminate Education Job Seekers

Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Illuminate Education? Share Your Experiences

Illuminate Education logo
or