Illuminate Education Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Illuminate Education Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Illuminate Education CEO Christine Willig (no image)
Christine Willig
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's easily the best company I've ever worked for. The compensation, benefits, and bonuses are all great. Management is thoughtful, strong, and loves to see people excel. Co-workers really enjoy what they are doing, and everyone has a well-defined purpose and sense that we are working to help students, teachers, and school administrators.

    Cons

    No cons, but you must be flexible with change, as the company is merging with other companies. This is also a company transitioning quickly from a "start up" mode to a disciplined, professional company. If you don't like that, this is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, and never forget that your employees WANT to excel and grow.

    Illuminate Education2018-07-21
  2. Helpful (24)

    "Abused, Lied to, Disrespected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People working with you in the trenches are great!

    Cons

    If you like to be abused, lied to, or disrespected this is the place for you.

    Illuminate Education2019-06-24
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, Co workers are always willing to help, Managers listen to your needs and try to get what you need to perform your job, The on boarding material they have is great I only have been with the company a month and a half and I already feel identify with it. The annual retreat was a lot of fun and gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of colleagues from different parts of the country people that... I didn't know or I only have seen from the conference tv. The feeling that you work is helping in kid education is great

    Show More

    Cons

    For the time I have been with the company I only can think about positive things

    Illuminate Education2018-07-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Still a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Illuminate Education continues to be a great place to work, full of challenges and opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with the growth we're going through. There are plenty of opportunities for personal growth, but not career growth. Loyalty to the company is poorly rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the people who built the company

    Illuminate Education2017-10-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I love working for such a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Illuminate Education is a company that doesn't just care about the bottom line. Employees are treated like they really matter.

    Cons

    The concept of a participation age company can take some getting used to. The organizational structure is never really clear since there really isn't one.

    Illuminate Education2016-12-19
  6. "Great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear goal, clear mission. The leader truly cares about employees and the mission. Empowered to turn the ship as needed. Great people. Everyone cares so much.

    Cons

    The company has grown rapidly in last couple of years and still going through some growing pain. Is that a con?

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring for the employees and let them reach the company's mission

    Illuminate Education2016-10-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illuminate Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, exceptionally passionate and caring about each individuals.

    Cons

    None other than growing fast, but might be a good thing

    Illuminate Education2015-01-26
Found 7 reviews