Imgur Reviews | Glassdoor

Imgur Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
45 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Alan Schaaf
35 Ratings

45 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Data"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome relaxed culture while still being serious and performance-oriented. Incredibly friendly and smart people. Fun product to work on!

    Cons

    Big ambitions can mean it's hard to stay focused - some scrappiness required!

    Imgur Response

    May 10, 2017 – Operations Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!


  2. "There's no place I'd rather work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Creative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company culture, lunch provided Mondays and Fridays, awesome benefits, centrally located, everyone is very easygoing and friendly

    Cons

    Open floor plan can be a little distracting, but there are plenty of rooms to duck into if you need privacy to focus

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The transparency and open communication is greatly appreciated.

    Imgur Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – VP, Talent

    Thanks for the review and we will continue with the transparency!

  3. "As the company grows, so is the culture in a good way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    very attentive to the employees. CEO is very transparent on the business affairs. Cool culture. Lots of flexibility. Great office space

    Cons

    technically we aren't supposed to work from home on Friday's but I hear that may change. Not really anything else to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    Keep re-evaluating processes and benefits, snacks, employee review process etc....I really like how things keep changing for the better and we are all well informed of the changes and why.

    Imgur Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – VP, Talent

    Thank you so much for this review! We are working hard at making Imgur better and better.


  4. "Best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Super transparent about the company's goals, roadmap, and executive decisions
    - Generous PTO and remote work days
    - You get to browse Imgur all day!
    - People are extremely passionate and it's inspiring to come into an office where everyone is excited to be there. The group is very welcoming.
    - The office space is incredible - big, open, with lots of flexible work spaces. And it's decorated with cool user artwork!

    Cons

    Nothing major, it's really the best company around. If you're extremely sensitive, you probably won't like the user content that you may be exposed to as part of you job.

    Advice to Management

    We could use more communication when features are shipped.

    Imgur Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – VP, Talent

    Hi there and thanks so much for the review. We love that you love working here and your advice is definitely heard. With the recent hire of our Technical Program Manager, we hope to beef up the... More


  5. "Still a great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working at Imgur is great. Everyone here is passionate about what they do, and you can tell people enjoy coming to work. I feel there is open communication across the company, and people are aware of what every team is working on.

    Cons

    There are lots of meetings

    Imgur Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – VP, Talent

    Thanks for the review and I'm glad you still love coming to work after a year. I hear you on the meetings and we are getting ready to roll out all new best practices around meetings to help with that.... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Tap dancing to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    + CULTURE: we have a bunch of values written on the walls etc., but none of that means anything if people don't adhere to them. At Imgur, the values actually do define how we behave and treat one another. At its core is respect and compassion.
    + IMPACT: We reach tens of million of people every day. Its pretty cool for such a small team to have an impact on so many people.
    + LEARNING: Every single day I'm learning from people who are smarter than I am. There's an incredibly talented group of people here, who challenge and push one another to perform at their best.

    Cons

    - Some times people leave the fridge open overnight and all the food needs be thrown out in the AM.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on! Since I've been here I've seen you grow as a team. Its incredible to watch and be a part of it.

    Imgur Response

    May 10, 2017 – Operations Manager

    Thank you for the thoughtful review! We love that you are thriving in our ever growing environment! We'll be sure to watch over the fridge door!


  7. "Exciting time to be at Imgur"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Engineer
    Current Employee - Android Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Awesome office space (and dog friendly!)
    - Down to earth and friendly people in every department
    - Honest communication about company's fundamentals from leadership
    - Positive place to grow and pursue passions in your career
    - Working on a product that reaches millions and the ability to see users' reactions directly on Imgur!
    - Excellent benefits and perks!

    Cons

    When things get hectic, there can be miscommunication among departments.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that every team is on the same page when developing features. While a lot of trust is given to each team to complete their requirements at their own pace, there still needs to be coordination to ensure everyone is on the same page during every phase of development.

    Imgur Response

    Jan 5, 2017

    Thanks for providing an honest insight into what it’s like to work at Imgur. We appreciate the open feedback in your response and truly value your advice to management. Building out features that... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Platform Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture and core values are no joke, Imgur practices what it preaches. Incredibly smart, talented, passionate people across the board. Great location, great perks, great work/life balance. The CEO is incredibly humble and wise. People are given lots of trust and autonomy. Reason and logic prevail here.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as teams expand and new processes are put in place to accommodate managing the project pipelines. I think this is a common denominator for any company at this stage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Imgur Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Operations Manager

    We value your feedback and love that you feel so strongly about our culture and core values! Thank you for your review!


  9. "A place like no other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imgur full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've had the opportunity to see Imgur grow as a company for the past few years. It's not the same as when I started... and I'm still here. Working at scale with a small team makes the job all the more exciting. We work hard to make this an amazing place to be. There are dogs in the office to help you during moments of stress, we have catered lunches, great benefits, a sweet office space, etc. etc. and of course, amazing people.

    I wouldn't be at Imgur if it wasn't for the amount of great talent we've hired. They're not only some of smartest, most passionate, people I've known, but also a pleasure to be around. I say Imgur is like no other place because I feel it's hard to come across a company where people want to give their best, are passionate about their work, and are excited to come in the next day. I'm thrilled to see how Imgur will evolve, what challenges we will face, and the engineering problems we'll be tackling.

    Cons

    Fast pace environment, sometimes results in burning-out and stressful times, but can be managed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to your employees

    Imgur Response

    Jan 3, 2017 – Operations Manager

    Great review, thank you!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Run of the mill startup. Cool perks, lacking vision."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insights in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Insights in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Imgur full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Your usual startup perks: a ton of snacks, catering, rooftop deck, offsites, lots of cool, down to earth people. Great office space.

    Cons

    Lack of vision, culture is murky. Too many values means nothing is really important. Too much structure for size of company. Doesn't move fast enough even though one of the company values is to ship often.

    Advice to Management

    Find your North Star.

    Imgur Response

    Jan 5, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your honesty. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive so we can continue to iterate and perfect our company. And we get it, it may feel at times that... More


Showing 45 of 46 reviews
Reset Filters