Imperial College London Reviews | Glassdoor

Imperial College London Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 993 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Imperial College London CEO Prof. Alice Gast
Prof. Alice Gast
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Imperial College London

    Pros

    Nice environment, everyone is excited about what they are working on

    Cons

    Living in London might be expensive

    Imperial College London2019-05-07
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Imperial College London

    Pros

    friendly and accepting; personal questions for interviews

    Cons

    not paid; other than that none

    Imperial College London2019-03-27
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Great atmosphere fun environment

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say, best place to be!

    Imperial College London2019-02-11
  4. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    Great institution with many opportunities

    Cons

    Pay not so great to be honest...

    Imperial College London2018-04-12
  5. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    A lot of freedom and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Pay is not very good.

    Imperial College London2017-03-16
  6. "Overall positive experience as a postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    made my own hours, independence, good people, pretty good location, nhs

    Cons

    forced into pension program even as international employee (I think I'll get this money back eventually though), pay not that high (standard for UK postdocs I think though), food in the scr is decent but gets old after a while with few on campus alternatives

    Imperial College London2017-02-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Livermore, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One gets exposed to politics and nepotism

    Cons

    Very corrupt and unhealthy environment to work in. Favoritism and racism hold very strong

    Advice to Management

    Retire

    Imperial College London2016-11-22
  8. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Imperial College London

    Pros

    Amazing institution, top-notch faculty, an environment where one can learn, grow, challenge oneself an lookforward to future opportunities feeling rewarded

    Cons

    It is important to carefully consider what opportunities are available and what the future prospects may be so as to take best advantage of one's time here

    Advice to Management

    Should focus more on offeric the best-rounded educational and professional experience possible in order to groom in the most effective way what will be the leaders of tomorrow

    Imperial College London2016-09-11
  9. "Very satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London

    Pros

    Staff and students are incredible. I had a very good time with my team and had a lot of opportunities to learn new skills

    Cons

    Organization and scheduling are not their major priorities, luckily people working there are very bright

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on organizing and maintain the schedule. It is hard for students to go on with their research when equipment is broken and doesn't get fixed

    Imperial College London2016-02-25
  10. "Sport and Campus Services Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sport Imperial and Campus Services in DeSoto, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse group of people, with a high intellect among each colleague.

    Cons

    Imperial College London is a tad impersonal.

    Advice to Management

    Be more connected to the younger demographic because they are the stakeholders.

    Imperial College London2016-01-19
Found 993 reviews