Imperial Supplies Reviews | Glassdoor

Imperial Supplies Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
52%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Imperial Supplies   (no image)
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "company relocated out of green bay(in 3 reviews)

  • "It's a boiler room call center, they call it telesales to give the job sound dignified to beginners(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at Imperial Supplies part-time

    Pros

    Good internship program Ability to contribute to company

    Cons

    I don't have considerable cons

    Imperial Supplies2019-10-01
  2. "Risk Managemetn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk & Compliance Coordinator in Green Bay, WI

    I have been working at Imperial Supplies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workplace culture was great.

    Cons

    Lack of structure was bad.

    Imperial Supplies2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Green Bay, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Imperial Supplies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a very strong company. Constantly growing and very successful. Beautifully renovated facility with a lot of technology added. Benefits are good and pay is good if you can get into a good territory. The president of the company is about the most genuine person who works there. He truly EARNS the respect of everyone. There is nothing fake about him. I really enjoyed him.

    Cons

    Extreme turnover due to high demands and, quite frankly, unrealistic demands. The management team is like they are in a high school click. They are very immature, and if one of them decides that they don't like you.... you're done! Some of the stories and experiences that I have read on this site are true. Yes, a top management employee did brag about their power saying "I can fire whoever I want, whenever I... want" at an outing. Again, just high school BS. But completely inappropriate. When people say 8 hours of cold calling a day, they may be exaggerating a little bit. This happens when you first get hired. The sad thing is, you learn to hope someone gets fired, because that means someone from the new hire group has a chance to take over a territory. Finally, they do encourage you to lie to your customers. We were taught to tell our customers that we were different because we did not work on commission. LIE! I am pretty sure if we didn't work on commission, everyone would be making the same income. Then we were encouraged to call customer and lie about a "clearance" sale that was going on on one of our bolt bins. We were encouraged to tell the customer that "they were changing the color a little on the bin" and that is why we were clearing them out. When in fact, nothing was changing, we were just lowering the bin to the lowest possible price. There were all things we had to do in order to "survive"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The best advice is to grow up. Stop with the clicks. Actually help a struggling employee instead of leaving them out to the wolves. I mean this is someones lively-hood we are talking about. It you have an employee on a improvement plan and you COMPLETELY ignore them (no exaggeration here) for the month they are on it, OF COURSE they are going to fail. (most likely because that is what you wanted in the first... place).

    Show More
    Imperial Supplies2019-08-20
  4. "Suoervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Supervisor 

    I have been working at Imperial Supplies full-time

    Pros

    Training was good, and standardized across DC network

    Cons

    Pay and value. Work too hard for crap pay.

    Imperial Supplies2019-07-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Imperial Supplies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -catered food -nice building -can have a fun atmosphere

    Cons

    -Management not very good/lots of interdepartmental animosity -Sales driven company - other departments suffer if they are not in sales

    Imperial Supplies2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Work/Life Balance and Supportive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Green Bay, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Imperial Supplies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing benefits that go beyond normal compensation, including fantastic insurance, profit sharing, and annual bonuses opportunities - Supportive and engaged management team: they are continually developing their people, are open to questions/providing guidance, and ensure that you have the tools you need to be successful - True team environment: everyone wants the team as a whole to succeed - Open and honest... culture: No fear of repercussions if you bring an issue forward - Work/Life balance: Management encourages you to go home on time, take a lunch every day, and not take work home with you.

    Show More

    Cons

    So far? None! Great environment.

    Advice to Management

    Don't change what you're doing!

    Imperial Supplies2019-03-26
  7. "Not just a job, but a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Account Advisor in Green Bay, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Imperial Supplies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Imperial by far has been the best company I have ever worked for. The uplifting atmosphere that goes into a day is so refreshing. Everyone has a smile on their face and truly love what they do! I love the employees that I work with as well as the accounts that I handle on a daily basis. Everything from the pay, the work/life balance, the fun contest and prizes that you can win to the energy that is there, I have... absolutely nothing bad to say about this company!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a single con that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Imperial Supplies2019-02-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "For sphincter go getters only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Green Bay, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Imperial Supplies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New furniture for 40 year old building

    Cons

    Greed drives the company, if your head is not between the gluteus maximus, you end up on the street.

    Advice to Management

    Get religion

    Imperial Supplies2019-03-08
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Company is not honest about the realities of the job and high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Imperial Supplies full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good, strong training

    Cons

    8 hrs of cold calling daily, make your numbers or you are terminated. If you have the chops and/or inclination to pound through 150 phone calls a day with your metrics being scrutinized, you get to sit in a chair all day.

    Advice to Management

    Positions should not be posted as "inside sales" when they are flatly not. You can put a lot of lipstick on it, but Imperial is still a boiler room cold calling center at it's heart. Don't lie to incoming employees when they are told "there is no turnover. One person left once, but they came back". In actuality, it appears to be in the 15% to 20% range annually. Someone disappearing midday, followed by managers... cleaning out their desk was a frequent occurrence. But, hey, you hope for that guy to get terminated, you get might get his customers. The phrase "We welcome your questions and input" actually is used to identify employees who have not drunk enough cool aid. Never question the methods, just do.

    Show More
    Imperial Supplies2018-09-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Imperial Supplies full-time

    Pros

    A few co-workers and the medical benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management is trash and the culture reflects that!

    Advice to Management

    Focus on a healthy company culture and don't remain stuck in the 1980's.

    Imperial Supplies2018-07-05
Found 53 reviews