Imperial Tobacco Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Imperial Tobacco Canada Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Imperial Tobacco Canada President and CEO Jorge Araya
Jorge Araya
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great office perks - coffee barista - game room - free parking - great development opportunity

    Cons

    - fast paced working environment

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work, develop your career and leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I been an employee from Imperial Tobacco Canada for a couple of years now and everyday is different, it's a really energised and dynamic company, lots of learning opportunities and career development. One of the things that I like the most is that is a super diverse atmosphere with many nationalities working around and the global interaction.

    Cons

    this is not your typical 9-5

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-04-02
  3. "Working at Imperial Tobacco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time

    Pros

    - Recognizes and promotes its talent - Possibility of occupying diverse roles across departments - Provides its employee with line of sight and ensures we are equipped in delivering on the objectives

    Cons

    - Fast-paced environment because of the speed at which the industry is evolving due to legislation or consumer trends, which might not be for everyone

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-04-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity in shaping a rapidly changing industry. Surrounded by committed & dynamic individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging the status quo & working with people who all have a passion to succeed. A fantastic place to work and grow

    Cons

    Being self driven is a quality necessary to develop professionally at Imperial Tobacco.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to drive accountability through ownership

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great company, not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, good benefits, working for big tobacco is pretty interesting

    Cons

    Adapting to changing market is important, but the organization lacks focus. The company launches projects left and right without getting to the final results. The upper management's only focus is how we appear in front of the shareholders. Everyone smiles, but behind the closed doors, no one is happy in this company

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-04-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales Represetative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Fairly good pay Great co workers Great Step up to future careers

    Cons

    Not organized in efficient way Management is also disorganized

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-03-31
  7. "Cool Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, good remuneration good learning opportunities good career growth (if you are good) Lot of challenges The People

    Cons

    benefit could improved work life could be improved more international opportunities Cafeteria

    Advice to Management

    Spend more money on talents

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A very unorganized work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly and youthful staff

    Cons

    Management is not professional Promotions based very much on favoritism not qualifications Constant Micro-management

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2018-12-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Trade marketing account representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - company car - benefits - pay is decent

    Cons

    - every expectation is unrealistic and your bonus is dependant on the luck of the draw. Very hard to exceed expectations unless you dedicate your life to the job. Even then, you better hope you’re an excel wizard and very personable/ favoured by your line manager in order to vertically advance. Not a hard job but very stressful and hard to manage with everything going on. You are also made out to be a liar with the inconsistencies and changes in “ways of working”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on long term goals and stop sacrificing the future for short term gains

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2018-11-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Transforming the industry and best in class people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Imperial Tobacco Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Imperial Tobacco Canada for 12 years. I grew up in the organization and have seen it change many times over. The experience I gained was extremely valuable and unparalleled. If you are looking for a 9-5 “vanilla type”, organization Imperial Tobacco Canada is not the place for you. But, if you are motivated by challenging projects, innovative initiatives and constant growth, you will thrive here! The company’s best assets are the people and they are best is class. The organization invests in its people through training, on the job development and career progression. Though perception around the tobacco industry is still negative, it is an exciting time to be part of the journey: we are on the cusp of transforming the industry, as we launch less harmful products. The office environment is fresh and vibrant. We recently inaugurated the “LAB” with an onsite barista and cool spaces perfect for brainstorming and meeting up with colleagues. Onsite medical center and fitness center are great benefits as well. Expectations are high, but we work hard and play even harder!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes because of the fast-pace environment, work-life balance can takes a hit.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster a culture of diversity. Continue looking for innovative ways to operate in an ever changing industry. It might be a good idea to introduce even more flexible working arrangements to help foster even more diversity in the workforce.

    Imperial Tobacco Canada2018-09-28
Found 113 reviews