Impinj "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Impinj Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Chris Diorio
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good snacks and work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Free snacks (both healthy and the not so healthy) and the People, Environment and Culture team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "company undergoing growing pains, but positive future outlook(in 8 reviews)

  • "seriously, there are some pure geniuses there that have pioneered RF and the RFID industry(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Competitive Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Impinj full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive with similar stage companies. Benefits are above average

    Cons

    Company is experiencing growing pains

    Advice to Management

    Focus

    Impinj2019-04-21
  2. "Overall great company. Bright outlook. Currently undergoing some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work life balance is ideal

    Cons

    company undergoing growing pains, but positive future outlook

    Impinj2018-05-04
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Dumping the wrong people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice location, good transit and view.

    Cons

    During growing pains, company drops 10% of it's workforce

    Advice to Management

    We've let politics win out at Impinj. They've just decided to let go of some of the most important people here. Who is making these boneheaded decisions? There doesn't seem to be any vision from way on high where the executives are. Can they see us down here? They're more interested in keeping their jobs, shifting blame or just plain not taking responsibilities for their own mistakes or shortcomings. I...

    Show More
    Impinj2018-03-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting company with high standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time

    Pros

    Impinj has a differentiated offering in the IoT. It is a company that could be something really significant in that space. That's an exciting prospect and offers loads of opportunity to play a significant role in building something really meaningful.

    Cons

    The company is growing quickly and will experience growing pains. Expectations for performance are high across the board so you can't shrink from the challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Sprint to widen your lead, and stay true to your culture.

    Impinj2017-01-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains are Real Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company culture that allows me to attack problems in a respectful and forthright manner - Great flexibility in terms of when and where I get my work done as long as it is done well and on time - Its ok to try and fail. Just make sure that the communication and feedback loop is open and often

    Cons

    - Growing pains are really. Everyone is pushing hard and that can make small tasks feel difficult

    Advice to Management

    - Be transparent and gain alignment. Work closely with your teams to push down company goals and objectives clearly and often. If we can keep great people rowing in the same direction we can have a huge impact.

    Impinj2017-01-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Find your greatness at Impinj"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Impinj is one of Seattle's gems and will soon be one of Seattle's great companies. It has a great vision and mission that will make the world a better place, a huge opportunity, a great team, an awesome culture, an honest transparent C-level team, a beautiful new facility, it's committed to improvement, and it has employees from all over the world.

    Cons

    Small group of employees who feel entitled instead of grateful, growing pains to accomodate accelerating revenue growth

    Advice to Management

    Maintain focus on culture, mission, vision and strategy. Keep breaking down silos. Hire the best. Keep improving the culture. It is already awesome and only getting better.

    Impinj2016-03-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Impinj full-time

    Pros

    The hardware product has terrific potential and a great position in a niche market. The team members who have been there for a long time (longer than a couple of years) are a joy to work with. Impinj is still small, but is not a startup because of the success of its hardware business and because its market is proven, so it can afford waste and a few non-trivial mistakes.

    Cons

    With the company's dramatic change in executive leadership last year, old-guard employee turnover and influx of recent hires, Impinj is experiencing growing pains. While I had great experiences with some team members, I found myself in a part of the organization that has no product vision, no idea who the customer is and no culture of continuous improvement, which has lead to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a conversation about developments in the last year and put a spotlight on the areas of the organization that are vitally important for the future of the company but that are opaque to the people on other teams who have done foundationally crucial work. Have those areas of the company delivered what was promised? Do they feel like a natural growth of Impinj's culture of innovation or are they more like an offshoot,...

    Show More
    Impinj2015-12-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A company with a lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impinj full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Emerging technology, bagel Fridays, quarterly company events, stock options. Impinj also offers an open paid time off policy that the company values for their employees. CEO has a clear vision.

    Cons

    Mid-management lacks communication and training engagement with employees, in other words you are pretty much left to fend for yourself and believe it is a result of growing pains. Lots of water cooler talk as well which is not professional.

    Advice to Management

    Make yourselves available to train your employees and better engagement to make sure new employees have proper knowledge and tools to succeed.

    Impinj2014-08-06
Found 66 reviews