Impinj "rfid" Reviews | Glassdoor

Impinj Employee Reviews about "rfid"

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Chris Diorio
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good snacks and work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Free snacks (both healthy and the not so healthy) and the People, Environment and Culture team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "company undergoing growing pains, but positive future outlook(in 8 reviews)

  • "seriously, there are some pure geniuses there that have pioneered RF and the RFID industry(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rfid"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Wasted potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Impinj full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great HQ location, the big player but in a small industry. Strong brand recognition in RFID.

    Cons

    Senior leadership are out of their depth. Very political environment. Ethics a very suspect. Talk about values but in practice don’t follow them. Failed miserably at trying to evolve into an IoT company. CEO only knows and cares about ICs.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2018-10-18
  2. Helpful (29)

    "Subpar Pay, Above Par Snackbar, Obvious Class System, Lots of VPs, Poor Internal Vision/Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impinj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Well stocked snack bar & kitchen area. And I mean so well stocked the 6-figure salaried software engineers who can certainly afford snacks have been seen stuffing their backpacks after everyone else is mostly gone for the day - Unlimited PTO for nearly whatever reason. Do you have a doctor's appt? Repairman coming over? Need to take three weeks off to go cave diving in Australia? Sure.. there's no bank of sick or vacation time to pull from - which also means if/when you leave there's no cashout of accrued vacation - Flexible schedules for most positions - Beautiful office space - the building is literally <3 years old at this point. Conferencing systems are high tech - Technology is very prevalent in everything - from the conference rooms to the desk and computers supplied - Choice of Mac or Windows machines - you can even run Linux, if you want to be in the special flower club or like being mostly on your own for support - Bagels every Friday. If that's your thing. It also comes with a self-serving 'informal' formal Q&A session with the C-levels.

    Cons

    - The pay is subpar. In fact, they almost tout this as a badge of honor. They will pretty much tell you that if you want to make lots of money, Impinj is not the place to be. So...you're telling me you know you pay poorly, and don't care. But it's cool though, they use the unlimited PTO and the snackbar as ways to woo 'talent' from the other competitors in the area - Recruiting and hiring is a disorganized hot mess. The head recruiter doesn't care to follow process and procedure and just rams people into the system. Once that offer letter is signed, they're done and the supporting organizations are left to sort out the pieces - Many mysterious departures of management people. Sometimes it comes with many weeks or even months of advance notice (insert vague internal blog post here), sometimes the person is gone for weeks before the company as a whole is told - Weekly 'Bagel Friday' was initially a way for C-level staff to share with the company some of the goings-on that occurred earlier in the week. It quickly devolved into a 'you should be there' sort of thing where you can watch leadership toot their own horn - Anonymous feedback system sounds good, but then the leadership staff will address any questions or complaints during the Bagel Friday in such a way that it would intimidate staff not to bother putting in any substantive feedback. Side benefit – reading the comments (they are periodically posted internally) lets you realize just how entitled many of the staff are - Entitlement. Many of the engineering staff are highly intelligent people – seriously, there are some pure geniuses there that have pioneered RF and the RFID industry. And with that pure genius comes the dysfunction and social ineptness. Worked there for several years and there were people that never make eye contact, continually get your name wrong (despite corrections). - Leadership staff. Probably the only one worth his salt is the CEO. The rest are empty shirts. And it’s been VeePee-a-palooza. I think there’s a promotion roulette wheel in the Sales division. They minted like 5 VPs in one month – out of thin air. When someone leaves, they also like to readvertise the position at a much higher level than it was when the person was there - Class System – you’re either sales or engineering. If you’re anything else… you’re nothing, and treated as such. If you’re in a support org, expect to be at the whims of those two groups as to whether they want to follow procedure or even bother doing anything they’re supposed to do - Unlimited PTO means there’s no cashout if you should leave the company - Path of least resistance. A team in manufacturing is absolutely dysfunctional (think: people in ops roles that are simply way underqualified) and it’s obvious to everyone, however leadership doesn’t want to be bothered with fixing it so they let it be – despite spending money and time to shore it up - Time w/the company is more important than ability in many roles. Some people in middle management are simply only there - Breakfast club of employees that leave early because they arrive early via vanpool, but most of them sit in the kitchen for 3 hours every morning, and then an hour or two at lunch - Talk about a product that sounds cool, seems cool, but is never really shown to the employees. But it’s apparently real since they’re selling it. Yay! Do the work for the thing!

    Continue reading
    Impinj2017-07-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Working in the Lab/Clean Room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Technician in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time

    Pros

    Provide free food and drinks. Company culture is very supportive and welcoming. RFID is a growing industry. Nice office setting. New docking stations for all employees. No hand me downs.

    Cons

    Small company and people tend to hang in "clicks".

    Continue reading
    Impinj2017-03-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "10 Years with Impinj"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Despite how far we have come in the decade that I have been with Impinj, it feels like there is still so much we are uniquely positioned to do. RAIN RFID can extend the reach of the internet to billions of items that might otherwise remain unconnected. We are not the company that we were just 3-4 years ago. It feels to me like we've kept all the good things about being a scrappy and hungry start-up company as we've transitioned into being an enterprise platform provider ready to scale to the next level.

    Cons

    Buckle up. At impinj I think you will be able to have a good work life balance. Impinj does not have predetermined limits on PTO, as long as the work gets done....yet there is always more opportunity that we want to address. So that is a bit of a dilemma!

    Continue reading
    Impinj2017-01-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Just about about the best place I've ever worked...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj

    Pros

    Impinj is an undiscovered gem that I hope that many will discover soon. The company is building (owning) the RAIN RFID platform with software, hardware and firmware. Its a company which is filled with really great, friendly people who are interesting to talk to, about RFID or just about any topic. Its so fun to come to work every day....seriously. My favorite thing is that at lunchtime, people leave their desks and come to the large kitchen area and sit down together. Some play board games, some play trivia and it just feels good. You can sit down anywhere and feel welcomed. I believe that people are genuinely happy here and it shows. There a certain lightness and lift that you feel when you walk into our offices. And, many people have been here since the beginning which is a testament to our company! We are in a new space in South Lake Union and it's a beautiful light filled office with lots of open spaces, lots of windows and amazing views of South Lake Union, EMP, Space Needle, and the Olympics. We have snacks, unlimited PTO but mostly this place is awesome because the people are awesome and of course smart!

    Cons

    With all our windows, sometimes it gets a little cold in the office. And we have some healthy snacks so I feel guilty when I'm reaching for the Oreos.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2016-01-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time

    Pros

    Peter Drucker once said that the culture of a company eats strategy for breakfast. And if that is true, Impinj is going to rise to meteoric heights. The people are fantastic. The culture is awesome. Management has made a conscious decision to foster the environment in the company. And it shows. There is no competition amongst employees. People look out for each other. The camaraderie is great. There is laughter in the aisles most of the time. We go to trade shows/conferences and share great times. As mentioned in one of the other reviews, there is not a whole lot of ego going around. Employees want the company to succeed and are very very loyal. Everyday we (as in every employee in the Seattle office) come together in the afternoon to hear how the company did that day. We cheer when there is awesome news. And when there is not so awesome news, we buckle down and go back to work.

    Cons

    Company is moving in a new direction of selling solutions based on RFID technologies. Along with a new strategy comes a lot of ambiguity. There is additional strain on resources. Some products get more attention than others.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2015-04-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, leaders in a growing industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are awesome - smart, talented, collaborative and overall GREAT. Management displays a good amount of transparency. Perks include unlimited time off, bonuses for biking/busing/walking to work, tuition/training reimbursement, lots of fun events that give you the opportunity to relax and get to know your coworkers.

    Cons

    For years the RFID industry didn't take off as expected so major career advancements could be tough due to little internal growth.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2014-07-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Very good experience with a good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Communication Systems Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Impinj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of people working in an enthusiastic, supportive environment. Best products in their market. Great location in Seattle's Fremont neighborhood. If UHF RFID ever really takes off, Impinj is poised to take the world by storm.

    Cons

    UHF RFID market hasn't grown as anticipated. Salaries are ok but not great. Too many layers of management for the current size of the company. Small cubicle workspaces.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2014-01-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Talented engineering staff, nice people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Communication Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Impinj full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leader in Gen2 RFID. Wide variety of tasks. Informal, friendly atmosphere. Fun technical challenges. Engineering employees are valued and recognized for their contributions.

    Cons

    Salaries are only so-so. Passive UHF RFID market hasn't turned out as well as hoped. Commuting in the Seattle area can seriously cut into personal time.

    Continue reading
    Impinj2013-10-07
Found 69 reviews