Imprivata Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Imprivata Chief Executive Officer Gus Malezis
Gus Malezis
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "IT Support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Helpdesk Technician in Lexington, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Imprivata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Friendly Environment; Good Pay-rate; Learning Experience

    Cons

    Heavy Traffic; Long hour work

    Imprivata2020-03-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Truly is a special place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imprivata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I spent 4+ years at Imprivata, and I loved every day I was there. The culture is great, the people are hard working, kind and fun, and the food is never ending. I was given the autonomy to get my job done and I learned a ton along the way. As the company has grown, processes have improved and things seem to run smoothly. The many theme parties and the yearly kickoffs were always some of the best times to get to connect with fellow colleagues that you may not always get to on a day to day basis. Flexibility to work from home as needed, vacation time when you need it and great benefits, along with everything I mentioned above make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    Working in finance, quarter ends could be a bit difficult, but that is expected, and only happens 4 times a year. Besides that, nothing else really comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Imprivata2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Release Manager in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imprivata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall company has pretty relaxed culture

    Cons

    But the product management was not strong so the priorities kept changing

    Imprivata2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Exodus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Imprivata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Food, food, food. A lot of social gatherings.

    Cons

    All the good people are leaving in waves. The technology is old. They are trying to get to the cloud but they don’t have experience. They have failed a few times.

    Continue reading
    Imprivata2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good, but could be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Imprivata full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, supportive atmosphere, general atmosphere of humility, investment in employee growth

    Cons

    No diversity in leadership; not fully vested in modernizing engineering

    Imprivata2019-05-13

    Imprivata Response

    June 19, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. Diversity is very important to us here at Imprivata. We continuously do a lot to address and support fostering a diverse workforce. We are always looking to morph and change to align with the needs of the business and we appreciate your recognition in the investment that we have made in employee growth over the last few years. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional Services: the fastest growing team by multiple measures"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imprivata full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I joined Imprivata's professional services team back in 2013 and I feel as lucky to be here now as I did then. At the time the company was pre-IPO and growing fast, at around 250 employees. Since then we have gone public, then private again under TB, and along the way we doubled to about 500 employees. But the small company culture prevails. We went from two products, to five, two of which have evolved to full-blown platforms that spawned their own suite of solutions touching clinical workflows (like EPCS that are grew faster than any other product under state regulatory requirements and is now poised to rocket forward under a national DEA mandate) and for the first time, medical devices (creating the fastest growing partner ecosystem in the company's history). All the while, our professional services team has grown in terms of team size and financial impact to the company, and has successfully led our customers through new challenges unique to the healthcare vertical. But even after all the years and expansion, I can still look around and see nearly all of the same faces that were on the team when I started. A handful that left to try a new adventure elsewhere even ended up returning. Having spent my career in services, and having worked with healthcare customers from payers to providers, large and small and all over North America, I can tell you that no plan, no customer, no project, and no product is ever perfect. But it's the people we work with, on our Imprivata team and our customer teams, that make an effort successful. This team has time and time again made one another and our customers successful by working together, in an expanding set of challenges and on a growing scale. And it is this team mentality that has kept me happy at, and growing with the company. I literally walk around our headquarters and know nearly everyone's name (I'm still getting to know some of the new ones). We have histories and friendships, war stories and success stories, that map the history and maturation of this company we helped build. I am proud to see what Imprivata is today, and proud of my contribution. And I have zero doubt that we will continue our growth trajectory in 2019 and beyond.

    Cons

    Both a pro and a con: the management structure is relatively flat, so the opportunities to move into management and upward within management come around less frequently than at a big company. But a) I've worked for giant companies and prefer a smaller one in part because I can affect more change without a title than I could with one, and b) I have seen promotions based on merit nearly all of the time here. You have to play your position and play it better than anyone, regardless of title. Do that, throw your hat in the ring when an opening arises, and you'll get the promotion eventually. Also, make sure you DO the job and others see you doing the job, if you want to GET the job. That's kind of how it works here.

    Continue reading
    Imprivata2019-02-08

    Imprivata Response

    April 10, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for this review and for recognizing the growth that Imprivata has undergone over the years. We too believe the people make Imprivata such an amazing place to work! Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Growing and Fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imprivata full-time

    Pros

    Imprivata has been really evolving. Working to keep the culture of a fun and entrepreneurial company while ensuring profitability and viability. There is always food around, with ample opportunities for folks to gather both for work, and fun. Also lots of fantastic volunteerism opportunities. More than just saying they care, Imprivata actually does the work. One really interesting thing about Imprivata is the amount of Engineering expertise at the top. This is not your stereotypical senior management team, but a group of player coaches who ask tough questions and help everyone no matter the level of the task.

    Cons

    There will be challenges in the future to keep the smaller company culture as they grow, but right now it's working.

    Continue reading
    Imprivata2019-01-11

    Imprivata Response

    April 10, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review and positive words. We work hard to foster a great culture as we believe it is important to maintain as we evolve and grow. We are happy to hear your feedback about the Imprivata Cares program and recognizing that all employees at any level work closely for a successful employee experience. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Ok place for the right people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imprivata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive workplace with the right oportunities Good market Good engineering challenges

    Cons

    People don't matter much Few have the powers

    Imprivata2018-12-21

    Imprivata Response

    January 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We place great priority on our employees and are always looking for ways to create opportunity, development, and positive experiences for all. It is disappointing to hear you didn’t have this experience, we appreciate the feedback. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

  9. "Professionals"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Imprivata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a degree of professionalism that keeps everyone engaged with what they do. Managers are nice and willing to put a good word in for hard workers

    Cons

    Some problems with projects being not well defined

    Imprivata2018-12-04

    Imprivata Response

    January 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing that hard work pays off. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

  10. Helpful (18)

    "Running Out of Time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Imprivata full-time

    Pros

    Large customer base, solid products, a lot of smart people, good reputation among customers

    Cons

    Imprivata's complete dominance in the healthcare "Tap-in/Tap-out" and SSO space has been very good for the company's growth over the last 10+ years. However, the market is largely saturated. Imprivata has introduced new products to sell to existing customers, but the majority of those products have been flops and none have proven to be anywhere near the revenue generator of the flagship product. Imprivata will be able to sustain itself for a long time on their recurring maintenance & support revenue, but they are going to struggle to meet growth expectations if they don't introduce innovative products that fill a recognized need. There have been a lot of employee departures recently, largely driven by the fact that the "excitement" of growth and the potential for a "payout" have largely died.

    Continue reading
    Imprivata2018-08-07
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 101 Reviews