Improv Comedy Club Reviews | Glassdoor

Improv Comedy Club Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New experiences every week with new famous comedians. Fun down to earth management. Great food. Great employee incentives. Good money vs hours worked.

    Cons

    There really is no cons, it's a very fun and flexible weekend job. Maybe only drawback is losing your weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Promote from within. Always have the staffs back in most if not all situations.

    Improv Comedy Club2015-06-30
  2. "Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club part-time

    Pros

    Young. Great people. Entertainment and food.

    Cons

    The hours are late and there's no fixing that.

    Improv Comedy Club2018-06-12
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You get to work with top tier comedy talent. Generally a fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Upper management tends to be disconnected from what each individual clubs needs are. Redundant paperwork. Terrible communication within the company. No real structure.

    Advice to Management

    Clubs are in different cities which means they have VERY DIFFERENT MARKETS. They are NOT all the same. LISTEN to your managers. That's what they're there for. There's a reason that this company has lost a fair amount of managers over the last few years. It should be an honor for anyone to work for a legendary company like the Improv, and that includes upper management. Just remember, we all have/had the same goals...

    Show More
    Improv Comedy Club2018-01-03
  4. "Great fun good food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good adult entertaiment. Fun and safe. Great comedians.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is very crowded and busy takes awhile for a drink to be delivered to you.

    Improv Comedy Club2017-10-19
  5. "Comedy club madness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Improv Comedy Club part-time

    Pros

    Good money once you get the hang

    Cons

    You dread going to work because of dumb customers but that's almost every job these days

    Improv Comedy Club2017-03-22
  6. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club part-time

    Pros

    Got to meet big name comedians

    Cons

    Always called in to cover other people's shift

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees more like people and less like dispensable objects

    Improv Comedy Club2016-09-26
  7. "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club

    Pros

    Great tips Get to watch shows Meet celebs

    Cons

    Management sucks Favoritism Angry customers Rules are different for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Reward people for hardwork. Don't play favoritism

    Improv Comedy Club2016-06-26
  8. "The Improv Comedy Club in Woodfield Mall is Not a Professional Organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - My specific position was the easiest job I've ever had. - Comedy shows are a lot of fun, and you'll get a chance to see them on a regular basis, either in between responsibilities at work, or through free tickets offered by management. - Being open only on weekend nights means there is a good chance at a good work-life balance. - Servers can make relatively good money.

    Cons

    I originally was going to give this a two-star overall simply to not have my review disregarded by people as being spiteful. However, I decided to be honest and give it a one-star. This is honestly the worst managed place I've ever worked. I took a job in the box office as a side job--I was gainfully employed and simply wanted something to fill my time on weekends, which this job did nicely. I accepted a low-ball...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take management classes, invest in training, show support for your employees, show competency in your own policies, and handle yourself with professionalism.

    Improv Comedy Club2016-06-23
  9. "Excellent atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Receptionist in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and atmosphere. Fun team to work with day in and day out. Senior management understanding yet firm. Excellent experience.

    Cons

    Late nights and sometimes difficult to get time off approved since there are so many staff members and so many spaces.

    Improv Comedy Club2015-12-11
  10. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Improv Comedy Club full-time

    Pros

    Short work weeks and short hours. Made roughly 800 a week working less than 25 hours a week.

    Cons

    Management was not very involved. The bar had very little added tip potential. Made nearly all tips through server tip out.

    Improv Comedy Club2015-07-23
Found 21 reviews