InVision Reviews | Glassdoor

InVision Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 171 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
InVision CEO Clark Valberg
Clark Valberg
89 Ratings
  1. Helpful (32)

    "A great place to work and do big things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Design Education in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    InVision's influence in the software industry is strong. There are many opportunities here to make your mark. Remote work is humane. Like and work where you're most happy and contribute to a team of smart, motivated people working on a common mission.

    Cons

    Once you've gone remote you can't go back!

    InVision2017-05-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Inspiring, motivating, challenging and fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Let's get something out of the way right quick - it's extraordinarily difficult to find a company that makes a product you're genuinely excited about and inspired by. InVision is one of those rare companies. We're building software that will power – *is* powering – the future of product design. This is not a drill. I come to work every day feeling like my work will help influence how digital experiences are built... for the rest of eternity. That's pretty huge. But that's not all of it. This place cares about work-life balance. By now the company is famous for being entirely distributed, allowing anyone to work from home or from one of our many WeWork spaces throughout the country. I sincerely hope this never changes, because it's a game-changer. I don't know how I would go back to working in an office. Aside from that, the team is all amazing. This is obviously a good thing, but it can be intimidating when you're working alongside some of the best talent in the world. It also makes it more rewarding when you do stand out. And in general, so long as you're working hard and giving it your best, you'll be recognized and rewarded. All in all, this company is by far the best place I've ever worked. Words fail to express how big a deal it is to be able to travel and work from anywhere, to not have to rush out the door in the morning or slog back home late at night. And above all, the ability to work on a product that is so remarkable and that has so much potential to change the world is something that is so exceedingly rare that I feel grateful every day to work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are challenges with remote work. Things can be miscommunicated more easily, and there are transparency issues, and I have some awesome colleagues who I wish I could hang out with after work and grab a drink. Alas, it is what it is. The company every day is innovating to solve the challenges associated with remote work, but ultimately those challenges pale in comparison to all the many benefits remote work... offers – most of which is that there is a serious results-driven culture here. It's not for slackers. Management doesn't care about micro-managing because it's assumed everyone here is a performer who will get the job done. So if producing results is a challenge for you, this could be a con. For those who are serious about doing good work, it's great.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's one thing that comes up repeatedly that I'm sure management already knows about - transparency. Transparency around what's being worked on, around the state of the company, around career growth, about hiring and firing decisions, etc. Being a remote company means under-communicating can create confusion easily. As the company grows - rapidly - the need to solve some of these transparency issues is becoming... more real. But overall, I would say this - I sincerely hope that management never loses sight of what has made InVision such an amazing place to work. The inspirational product, the amazing work-life balance, and the remote working situation. Please never change, InVision! Oh - and please never take back the Starbucks card :)

    Show More
    InVision2017-05-22
  3. Helpful (36)

    "Great company- can't think of anywhere I'd rather work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant teammates and management Exciting product Rapid growth creates great career opportunities Very challenging Very flexible- we all work from home Flexible vacation policy

    Cons

    Communication and team management can be a little tricky in a remote environment.

    InVision2017-05-22
  4. Helpful (37)

    "Favorite job of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We have a ton of perks, that's for sure, but that's really not why I like working here. I love the fact that people are encouraged to explore and improve constantly, people are treated fairly, leadership cares about you as a person, and yes, the working from home aspect really does put the final nail in the coffin. I've been able to shift and grow here in a way that you don't find at many other jobs. It's fantastic.

    Cons

    Although we're outgrowing the "startup" size and definition, we still operate like a startup in a lot of ways. This can really not jive with people who want to just make a decision and stick with it. If you can't go with the flow and aren't willing to be flexible, this is probably not the environment for you. (i.e. you've been working at a thousands-strong company and love the way that operates) Also, you might not... like working from home if you need more face to face interaction during the day, but I'm also surprised by the depth of the relationships I've formed with people I've never met in real life—just talking over Slack and video chat.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speak more to the "why" behind what we're doing. Give the team something real to rally around, even if that "why" changes every 6 months.

    InVision2017-05-22
  5. Helpful (39)

    "High performance team tackling ambitious vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impressive team of top notch people across all areas of the business, with a seasoned leadership team steering the ship. Tackling an ambitious vision to transform the way companies produce digital products and run their design departments. Amazingly positive workplace culture. Everyone is incredibly friendly, helpful and ready to pitch in. (True story: when one employee’s house burned town, the team raised... tens of thousands of dollars in a matter of hours to help the employee’s family). Remote workplace brings unparalleled flexibility. Tools like Slack and Zoom make it easy to adapt to remote-work and connect with colleagues. Until I worked for InVision, I never realized how great it is to have NO commute.

    Show More

    Cons

    Rapid growth breeds some growing pains that are common in many startups. Communication could be better across departments, new employee on-boarding can be challenging, and information and projects are distributed across many tools. Luckily, internal initiatives are being discussed to address these areas already.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting the mission & vision. Keep the team laser focused on the goals at hand and remove distractions wherever possible. Keep highlighting and praising the culture of iteration and improvement that has made this such a special place to work.

    InVision2017-05-20
  6. Helpful (44)

    "Amazing Company & Amazing CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InVision

    Pros

    Working at InVIsion was by far the most important step I could have ever taken in my career. The company grew from this little startup to one of the most recognizable brands in the startup world, and especially the design community. Saying that users love the product and the company would be an understatement. The company moves at an incredibly fast rate, projects can go from a conversation to reality in just a... few days or less. This is normally a pretty difficult feat at most companies, but InVision, under the direction of the CEO, has really brought together a group of world class individuals. From engineering to design, sales, and marketing, everyone is incredibly driven to get the job done. The company and it’s crazy awesome product is what really attracts you to work there, but it’s the people that make all the difference. I can really say I’ve made lifelong friends over the course of my time at InVision, and thats not a culture I’ve experienced at other companies I’ve worked at. The CEO is a true visionary, a kind, heartfelt guy who will straight up called me during the middle of a work day, even with his busy schedule, if there was something I wanted to talk about strategically, or just get off my chest. He has really created a strong culture that makes your co-workers feel like family, with strong support to always do your best work coming from all sides. InVision is really a place where anyone, from top to bottom, has their opinion heard and can be a big part in taking the company to the next level.

    Show More

    Cons

    None, loved every second of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    InVision2017-05-12
  7. Helpful (38)

    "So Glad To Be Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are a self-starting, self-directed worker, the all-remote, work-anywhere structure is a dream come true. Work where you are. It's refreshing to be at a company that is really trying to experiment with the future of the workplace in a meaningful and systematic way. The product is incredible, and aggressive/visionary product development is ongoing. No resting on laurels here! Employees are welcoming,... friendly, and apolitical. Everyone is trying to get things done.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you struggle with being remote, it probably won't be your cup of tea. As a rapidly growing software startup, all of the normal stresses and strains are present. Things move fast, and you work hard. Systems are being built in earnest across the company. Nothing atypical for a rocket-ship startup, but, again, not everyone's jam.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the devotion to the product and customer experience. Keep up the devotion to doing right by employees. Everything else will follow.

    InVision2017-05-12
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Couldn't ask for a better employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Engineer 

    I have been working at InVision full-time

    Pros

    Remote work environment; intelligent, devoted and kind people; killer product

    Cons

    The company is still figuring some things out from a management standpoint.

    InVision2017-01-13
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Good company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don't think I've ever worked for a company of this size at this high of an operating level. The people working at InVision make this happen. The people are amazing. Perfect work-life balance. I can work when and where I want. There are core hours or availability, but that doesn't have to be when work gets done.

    Cons

    It's remote only. So staying focused can be a challenge if you've never worked remotely before. Communications between teams can sometimes be strained, but this is an issue with every company.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see the company "do fewer things better". Improve visibility of senior leadership. I haven't been on a call with or spoken to the vast majority of senior leadership. It would be nice if they were more accessible and visible.

    InVision2016-12-07
  10. Helpful (32)

    "Such a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    InVision is an exciting company that is laser focused on creating the coolest design products out there! As a result we're on a rocket ship toward new ideas. I know that sounds dumb, but it's how it feels -- zooming ahead with new ideas to make the world of design better for everyone. Amazing and dedicated people to work with, who enjoy the challenges of our expanding vision. Being fully remote can cause... feelings of isolation but InVision people are wonderful about reaching out to meet each other, on a daily basis through slack channels, and in person when they travel. I enjoy watching new people's reactions when the whole company reaches out to welcome them or wish them happy birthday, or support them when hardships arise. When someone is coming to your area of the world they will reach out to try to connect -- and since we all get free beverages at Starbucks, it's easy to say "let's meet for coffee". This company seems less compartmentalized than any I have encountered. I find no matter the level, people are happy to connect with each other and there is an openness I haven't experienced elsewhere. Benefits are good and being able to work from anywhere is terrific. There is one engineer who is going to travel the world for a year while still being employed full time. How cool is that?! There is a level of trust that is remarkable. Trust that you will do what needs to get done and that you will not abuse the privileges offered. And most of all there is a sense that if you want to expand your experience and learn something new, you are encouraged to go for it. InVision is GREAT!

    Show More

    Cons

    Being fully distributed can lead to feeling a bit isolated but management is very aware of this and seem to sincerely want to do what is needed to offset this. The CTO has started bringing the engineering teams together periodically with great results. Onboarding could be better but management is aware of this and seem to be working on smoothing things out.

    Advice to Management

    It would be great to have a company-wide meet up while we are still of a size that could work.

    InVision2016-11-29
Found 171 reviews