InVision Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

InVision Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
InVision CEO Clark Valberg
Clark Valberg
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, people, product, and perks. Remote working done right.

    Cons

    Things can get lost in translation in Slack chats.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    InVision2018-09-22
  2. Helpful (21)

    "Cultural/Growth Issues + Increasing Attrition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - half day fridays - tech stack is modern - decent benefits except 401k match

    Cons

    signs of toxic management: - entire teams have been let go with zero communication from any level of management - some engineering managers are overly aggressive/abrasive and contribute heavily to task churn - constant talk of high attrition amongst rank and file engineers also present: - high amount of tech debt - design/architectural issues present in many teams contributing to brittle services - negative... inter-team judgements of others contributes to toxic environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop chasing features and start cleaning up the 2+ years of accumulated tech debt

    InVision2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Management are ladder climbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Half day fridays, decent parental leave, recognizable name in the industry

    Cons

    Where to begin? Management: Management will let go of teams when something goes wrong instead of putting some of the blame on themselves. Toxic environment. If you have a bad manager, your life will be miserable. You're working remote, on an island, and no one will hear your cries for help. Pay: Not only are you paid under market value, don't expect to get a decent pay raise for doing good work, only enough... to offset inflation. There are no bonuses or 401k matching, etc... Product: We overpromise and under deliver. Product is falling behind, but hey, we make really pretty videos. Remote work: Seems like the dream right? But everyone is more worried about appearances vs actually getting stuff done. I've definitely seen people punished for doing great work but because their work is less visible, they end up getting bad reviews by their peers.

    Show More
    InVision2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Worked with great people, some C-level micromanaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with interesting, knowledgeable, kind people, and a couple of fantastic managers. All of the engineers are senior-level, so I had access to a lot of expertise. The company structure is divided into teams with a manager, a product manager, and about six engineers who work closely together. Interactions between teams are mostly mediated by API boundaries between micro services which allowed a lot of autonomy... for each team. It made for a very nice environment to work in. My relationship with product management was easily the best I have had at any company! Working remote was very helpful during a time when I was moving a lot. Regular "on-site" meetups let co-workers meet in person, which helps to offset the downsides of working with people who I would otherwise only see as moving computer screen images. And the meetups are super fun! The technology is interesting, consisting of lots of Dockerized micro services. I had a lot of latitude in design decisions in the services I implemented. Employees are encouraged to learn new things and share in group presentations.

    Show More

    Cons

    Due to some reorganization in 2017 I was shuffled between three teams with three different managers in the space of eight months. My first manager was fantastic. But later I had a manager who did not have much experience working with engineers. That coincided with a time when there was pressure from upper management to get some work down on a short timeline. IMO one of a manager's most important jobs is managing... upstream expectations so that their engineers are not overburdened, and I felt I was not getting that help from my new manager. My departure was partly motivated by personal schedule issues; but this experience was also a factor. The CTO is very hands-on, which has upsides and downsides. In some cases engineering teams were told to adopt certain technologies or practices. For example I thought I would be writing Node.js code, and I was working with a team with a lot of Node experience; but the company was in the process of switching all new development over to Go. I know there is value in consistency of technology, but the language change was disappointing to me. On the other hand the CTO spends a lot of time talking to engineers; and I appreciate the time he took to respond to my concerns personally. When I left there was a legacy codebase written in Coldfusion that was a pain to work with. But the company was in the process of moving away from the legacy monolith to micro services as quickly as possible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I was in a position where my team was told by upper management to implement a large set of changes on a timeline that I think was not realistic, with goals that were not super clearly defined. My experience at InVision was not all like this, but the months that were were tough. Please make an effort to get your engineers to tell you how long the work will really take, and base product timelines on that instead of... the other way around.

    Show More
    InVision2019-01-05
  5. Helpful (23)

    "There are better places to be an engineer, avoid InVision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully distributed and remote culture Free coffee Nice laptops Some really good people

    Cons

    The culture is toxic. Upper management has no idea how they are going to do all the things coming down. Constantly being berated for the mistakes of the upper management. Teams would constantly be at odds with each other. Communication is terrible. My priorities were changing weekly (no joke!) because someone decides that x is more important and needs to be done now and is communicating to the relevant stakeholders... at the last possible minute. Career mobility is stagnant. I kept asking what was my promotion plan and nobody gave me a straight answer. I feel like my career regressed here. What's worse is that all the people who were senior to me were hired during the time I was at InVision and almost nobody was promoted. Micromanaged to the nth degree. I was given technical designs to implement with obvious flaws in them and when I would try to propose a better solution I was constantly shut down. The pay is below market rate, but the emphasis is on hiring top engineers so we seldom got great engineers. If they were great, they were working in a remote area where the pay was higher than the local market, but for most major metros the pay was not close to market rate. The work itself was not challenging. At one point it was, but toward the end it was mostly fighting with other teams in the organization and less actual technical achievement. Half the time engineers were told that they would have a staff or principal engineer be assigned to the project to get it back on track and they would perform just as good as anyone else would in that position. InVision prides itself on being a design company, but doesn't care about the engineering behind it and thus it is always neglected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out long term plans for once. Slow down. Fix the management culture. Figure out how to grow your people.

    InVision2018-12-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, exciting work on an industry-defining product. Very good engineering tools and deployment processes. Working remote is the best perk. Strong work/life balance; management is understanding of day-to-day family time and family leave.

    Cons

    Little communication between teams -- but you can make an effort as an individual and it's welcomed. Roadmaps are sometimes unclear because we're in such a high growth phase.

    Advice to Management

    Clark and David are awesome, as is the engineering management. Keep doing what you're doing.

    InVision2018-05-19
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Great Place to be an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small teams, interesting technical problems, passionate customers. Especially the small focused teams. When I talk to friends about what I'm doing, they are always envious of the cutting edge tech we're using. I love the long-term vision: I like being part of what's going to be a big success (or should I say: an even bigger success because it's already amazingly successful).

    Cons

    Working 100% remotely is a powerful plus but the downside is it's harder to have a sense of "belonging". Also, like many growth startups, working out of the tech debt and that's never fun.

    InVision2017-05-24
  8. Helpful (34)

    "Horrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InVision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Committed to remote work. There are no offices, the entire company is remote and global. Lots of opportunity to work with smart people from all over the world. Work-life balance can be good, or it can be horrible depending whether or not you are working on something that has the CEOs attention.

    Cons

    CEO is a sociopath and much of the executive staff are sycophants. Occasionally there are good managers and executives that cycle through, but they never last more than 6mo or so. The CEO runs this company, no dissent is allowed. Priorities change on a daily basis. There is no respect for any kind of project management or prioritization. I have seen co-workers stressed out because the CEO has called them late in... the evening to verbally dress them down because they were not still up working on a project. This company is driven by working each employee to the breaking point without regard to work-life balance. Many excellent engineers and managers have been hired, praised publicly as the greatest hire ever made, only to be demeaned and humiliated by the CEO or executive management 6mo later after the company got what it wanted out of them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remove the CEO

    InVision2017-05-10
  9. Helpful (14)

    "The Best and the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible hours, and some really great people!

    Cons

    Some not really great people - I found InVision to be a pool of super awesome technical talent, with no-so-great leadership. Leads to frustration and a lack of ability to be the best at what you do.

    InVision2017-01-22
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Good company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InVision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I don't think I've ever worked for a company of this size at this high of an operating level. The people working at InVision make this happen. The people are amazing. Perfect work-life balance. I can work when and where I want. There are core hours or availability, but that doesn't have to be when work gets done.

    Cons

    It's remote only. So staying focused can be a challenge if you've never worked remotely before. Communications between teams can sometimes be strained, but this is an issue with every company.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see the company "do fewer things better". Improve visibility of senior leadership. I haven't been on a call with or spoken to the vast majority of senior leadership. It would be nice if they were more accessible and visible.

    InVision2016-12-07
Found 19 reviews