Independence University Admissins Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Independence University Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
127 Ratings
  1. "I LOVE My Career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule! Work from home (remotely). Salary Promotion within.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Independence University2019-06-19
  2. "Great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Financial Planner in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I didn't think I would like working from home, but I love that there is no commute and management is extremely supportive. Even though I work remote, there are still team meetings via zoom and one on one's with my boss which makes me still feel part of a team. Open communication and praise when you hit your metrics. Training and ongoing training is provided to ensure you are successful. There is an evident culture...

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, however it is a great trade off for working from home.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive work environment and ongoing support you provide to your employees in order to grow/develop. Thank you!

    Independence University2019-06-19
  3. "Student Services Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSA in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to help, and meet exciting New people everyday! Very rewarding to help a student get to graduation.

    Cons

    Time, certainly not enough time to accomplish the tasks that should be taken care of. However we make it work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing! I love IU!

    Independence University2019-06-18
  4. "Love Working at Independence University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for Independence University! They work hard to keep employees informed, provide us with the tools we need to be successful in our jobs, and they help us to set and reach our goals. The people I work with are interested in helping each other and we have a warm and friendly working environment. Management is great to encourage and train us. They work hard to continuously evaluate and improve to provide...

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to say about Independence University!

    Independence University2019-06-18
  5. "Feedback on IU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, great atmosphere, great team, leadership listens and tries their best to work with you, positive, always changing and trying to improve, work with great students and your leaders will back you.

    Cons

    Always changing and getting new responsibility without your load being lightened. It can get really hard try to keep up with all of the things we are required to do. Luckily our leadership is forgiving and works with you. However, for the amount of things we do the compensation sometimes doesn't feel worth it. We are also held accountable for things we can't control. For example, our metrics. We can't control the effort...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The changes that are being made to the SS dept are good. A lot of things have improved. Before we get any more responsibilities that we have to do, please consider the amount of work that we already have. Thank you!

    Independence University2019-06-18
  6. "amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, pay is good, environment is great, advancement opportunities are available. Most of it has a great culture

    Cons

    none great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    keep up what you are doing because it is working

    Independence University2019-06-18
  7. "Great employer to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have really love working for Independence University because of the staff I work with. We really have a close knit group we work with and the students are wonderful to help. I really have learned a great deal about being an advisor as I have grown in my job.

    Cons

    There really are no down sides for me working here at Independence University. My experience has been very positive.

    Advice to Management

    I think we need to continue to strengthen our student advisors and give them even more by way of pay as I believe we are still a bit below the national average for our jobs.

    Independence University2019-06-18
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best hours I have ever had. Salaried position so no worries about fluctuating commission. Positive environment. The ability to work from home which I love. Company has integrity and good values.

    Cons

    On the phones all day can be a grind, but only working 8 hours a day it goes by fast.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Independence University2019-06-18
  9. "not just a company, but a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Financial Planner in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    family style environment, positive attitudes, management help

    Cons

    pay, favoritism, metrics are excessive.

    Independence University2019-06-18
  10. "So far, so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great 6 week training. Technology provided (desktop, monitors, headset) for position. Work from home.

    Cons

    Limited to no social interaction. No option to use a laptop in case desktop crashes. High cost for benefits for a family.

    Independence University2019-06-18
Found 232 reviews