Independence University Assistant Director of Financial Planning Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Assistant Director of Financial Planning

Independence University Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 217 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
112 Ratings
  1. "I LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Services Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    remote opportunity, educational benefits, great leadership and coworkers

    Cons

    I love my job and love helping students and graduates achieve their career goals!

    Independence University2019-05-24
  2. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor 

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Remote work, strong benefits

    Cons

    Micromanaging management, pressure for deadlines

    Independence University2019-06-13
  3. "Get real..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bricklayer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can work from home. That makes it easier to retreat to your bedroom to hide, which you'll want to do most days.

    Cons

    Every. Little. Thing. From stale, out of touch management to uptight leadership who is only obsessed with edging people out, taddling on others, and preventing opportunities for others. At one point, I wondered if we were in a real-life casting for Mean Girls or some other ridiculous high school drama. The men are rude and the women are catty. No advancement opportunities for people of color. My own supervisor ducked...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave! YOU are the problem!

    Independence University2019-06-09
  4. "Would you enroll as a student after working here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Independent University didn't have regional accreditation when I was employed at the university. Difficult telling students they couldn't transfer credits to a regionally accredited university after they spent time and Title IV funding/money into tuition.

    Independence University2019-05-17
  5. "Helping people achieve educational goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team is amazing! I love coming to work every day.

    Cons

    There is a lot of misinformation about Independence University on the internet.

    Independence University2019-04-18
  6. "Junior Financial Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Financial Planner in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home is the only pro

    Cons

    You make the LEAST and do the most. You are not valued here. They are also in the process of losing accreditation. The Admissions dept does NOT review the students properly. Some can barely read! They lie about promoting in 6 months regardless of how well you do. Please take your talents and time ELSEWHERE.

    Advice to Management

    Stand UP for your JFPs. If it wasn’t for us getting FAFSAs, none of you would have jobs.

    Independence University2019-05-21
  7. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Students, program, working at home. Flexible.

    Cons

    I have been working for over 6 months and have not found one yet.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity!

    Independence University2019-03-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GOOD PAY Work from home Great Coworkers

    Cons

    Numbers are HUGE You have to be enrolling students

    Independence University2019-03-11
  9. "Great pay, stressful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Work at home opportunities

    Cons

    Very stressful, high quotas and expectations

    Independence University2019-03-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "You're talents will be more appreciated just about anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good income, lots of good people

    Cons

    Worst upper management I have ever worked with. Changes every 5 minutes and additions to your job requirements with no adjustment for performance standard or pay (they don't give raises). School is currently on probation with their accrediting body, and has no trust or respect in the community.

    Advice to Management

    Take some courses in organizational behavior, leadership (they think micromanagement is a good idea here), and work with your employees once in awhile so you aren't so out-of-touch with how your decisions impact the morale and motivation of your employees.

    Independence University2019-04-09
Found 217 reviews