Independence University Reviews | Glassdoor

Independence University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Getting to work from home and impact students in a positive way makes my career so rewarding(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great Pay, Great people to work for and with, Wonderful schedule(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Services Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    remote opportunity, educational benefits, great leadership and coworkers

    Cons

    I love my job and love helping students and graduates achieve their career goals!

    Independence University2019-05-24
  2. "Would you enroll as a student after working here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Independent University didn't have regional accreditation when I was employed at the university. Difficult telling students they couldn't transfer credits to a regionally accredited university after they spent time and Title IV funding/money into tuition.

    Independence University2019-05-17
  3. "Helping people achieve educational goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team is amazing! I love coming to work every day.

    Cons

    There is a lot of misinformation about Independence University on the internet.

    Independence University2019-04-18
  4. "Junior Financial Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Financial Planner in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home is the only pro

    Cons

    You make the LEAST and do the most. You are not valued here. They are also in the process of losing accreditation. The Admissions dept does NOT review the students properly. Some can barely read! They lie about promoting in 6 months regardless of how well you do. Please take your talents and time ELSEWHERE.

    Advice to Management

    Stand UP for your JFPs. If it wasn’t for us getting FAFSAs, none of you would have jobs.

    Independence University2019-05-21
  5. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students, program, working at home. Flexible.

    Cons

    I have been working for over 6 months and have not found one yet.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity!

    Independence University2019-03-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "You're talents will be more appreciated just about anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Independence University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good income, lots of good people

    Cons

    Worst upper management I have ever worked with. Changes every 5 minutes and additions to your job requirements with no adjustment for performance standard or pay (they don't give raises). School is currently on probation with their accrediting body, and has no trust or respect in the community.

    Advice to Management

    Take some courses in organizational behavior, leadership (they think micromanagement is a good idea here), and work with your employees once in awhile so you aren't so out-of-touch with how your decisions impact the morale and motivation of your employees.

    Independence University2019-04-09
  7. "Love the students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Admissions Consultant 

      I have been working at Independence University full-time

      Pros

      I love working with the students they are really what makes it for me!

      Cons

      Sometimes the processes get annoying but that is part of the job and working with the government

      Independence University2019-03-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "GREAT JOB"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      GOOD PAY Work from home Great Coworkers

      Cons

      Numbers are HUGE You have to be enrolling students

      Independence University2019-03-11
    • "Great pay, stressful work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Admissions Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Independence University full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Work at home opportunities

      Cons

      Very stressful, high quotas and expectations

      Independence University2019-03-09
    • Helpful (9)

      "Admissions Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Admissions Consultant in Orem, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Independence University full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Vacation time, that is it.

      Cons

      It’s a for profit college that does the bare minimum to mantain “non-profit” status. They don’t care about the employees or the students. In fact they are at risk of losing their accreditation because of dirty recruiting practices. Management sucks, they make you believe that it’s all about the student but when you don’t hit your 6 starts (students that you need to enroll) you get written up. Their programs suck,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop pretending like you care about your employees. You’re just a bunch of hypocrites.

      Independence University2019-01-11
    Found 215 reviews