Independence University Reviews | Glassdoor

Independence University Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 217 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
112 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Working from home, my schedule is great!

      Cons

      I don't have any complaints! Everything is awesome!

      Advice to Management

      Everything is great! Keep doing what you're doing.

      Independence University2018-09-24

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback! We love to hear how happy you are! Stephanie Williamson

    • Helpful (3)

      "Admissions Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Independence University full-time

      Pros

      The pay is nice. Sometimes they give you food! That is all.

      Cons

      Management only cares about enrollment numbers. The school is a for-profit school who will do anything to get student money and once they are in, they do not care. Had to quit because I do care about the students and didn't feel right pressuring them into degrees at such high costs that probably wont benefit them.

      Independence University2018-10-04

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thank you for providing feedback. It is a FACT that we are a non-profit. We care deeply about the success of our students and staff. If you do not believe it what we do then it best for everyone that you decided to go elsewhere. We wish you success! Stephanie Williamson

    • Helpful (1)

      "Admissions Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work/Life balance. Awesome 6 week training. Positive-ethical environment. They are about student success. I have been in higher education for over 8 years and this company is by far the best I've worked. Student and employee success, what more can I say.

      Cons

      None. At first I had to ask myself was this to good to be true..........

      Advice to Management

      Continue to be the excellent leaders and mentors.

      Independence University2018-09-14

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thanks for the great feedback! Operating with integrity and values is of the upmost importance to us! We strive to provide the best training possible so we have confident, empowered employees. Stephanie Williamson

    • Helpful (1)

      "Fantastic Place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Provo, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Extensive & amazing training - 6 weeks paid is unheard of! Work from home Amazing starting salary for this type of position Really inner active, which shocked me because I was worried about the job environment working from home. Managers work with your schedule

      Cons

      Not as much vacation to start out with as I am used to Have to work Saturdays every once in a while as well as one late day No bonus structure based on sales

      Advice to Management

      Remember we are remote and stay engaged/ have relationships like you would if we were in an office setting. It doesn't always have to be about numbers.

      Independence University2018-09-14

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thanks you for providing feedback! Remote employee engagement is certainly a focus we will continue to improve. Stephanie Williamson

    • Helpful (1)

      "They care about their students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Faculty in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      A lot of support from the department

      Cons

      Sometimes the database used to track students is finicky

      Independence University2018-08-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Admissions Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working from home. Great salary and benefits. Set schedule. Flexible with appointments. Supportive leadership. Yearly business trip; all expenses paid. More than average paid holidays. Awards and recognition. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Benefits are expensive. Maintain high goals.

      Advice to Management

      My advice is to be more lenient with goals and expectations knowing that things happen that are out of our control. Making sure that all departments work together for a common goal to ensure everyone's success.

      Independence University2018-08-16

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thank you for the great feedback! Your advice is noted. We agree that ensuring all departments work together is key and we will continue to emphasize and improve on the progress we have made! Stephanie Williamson

    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Remote Admissions Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The team is awesome, salary is great, all your equipment will be sent to you, and not leaving the house.

      Cons

      Students often drop the ball and aren't always committed enough to do everything they need to do to enroll. Tuition cost can be a obstacle as well. But it's a lot include.

      Advice to Management

      Keep being supportive and making the work environment so easy to love.

      Independence University2018-08-15
    • "Admission Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Remote, holiday pay, free tuition after a year, happy/fun co-workers

      Cons

      pay is not that great

      Independence University2018-08-16
    • "Admissions Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Team Member 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time

      Pros

      IU thoroughly trains, and prepares their employees for their job. They have great benefits, wonderful enthusiasm, and they allow you to work from home all while providing all the equipment needed to be successful. I love that we can also obtain a degree while working at IU. I love there are lots of opportunities for advancement. It seems they really care about their employees and that means a lot. Many employers can...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not a ton of flexibility, and the job is sales driven, not bad unless you don't like a sales environment.

      Advice to Management

      Wish there was more fluidity to the work schedule.

      Independence University2018-08-15

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thanks for the great feedback! Stephanie Williamson

    • "Admissions Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Non profit University, Work from home, Great pay, Great work environment

      Cons

      Having to enroll students every month and meet company numbers. Can be stressful but at the end of the day so rewarding to help students pursue their dreams.

      Independence University2018-08-16

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thanks for the feedback! it is an awesome job but not necessarily an easy one! Stephanie Williamson

    Found 217 reviews