Independence University "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Independence University Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Eric Juhlin
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Getting to work from home and impact students in a positive way makes my career so rewarding(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great Pay, Great people to work for and with, Wonderful schedule(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GOOD PAY Work from home Great Coworkers

    Cons

    Numbers are HUGE You have to be enrolling students

    Independence University2019-03-11
  2. "Awesome Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Independence University full-time

    Pros

    Love working with my team and there is a wonderful work climate!!!!! I get to help people while working from home. It is a win win!

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Independence University2018-10-16

    Independence University Response

    November 5, 2018VP Operations

    Thank you for the great feedback! Stephanie Williamson

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Student Services Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Independence University full-time

      Pros

      Work from home Make your own hours (within the guidelines) Training was decent

      Cons

      You're slammed with everything all at once. You're encouraged to go to others on your team for help - but given wrong information from them to give to the student. No practical application training. Shadowing and observing - but no one to really work with you on the first few weeks of being on the floor.

      Independence University2018-10-17

      Independence University Response

      November 5, 2018VP Operations

      Thanks for the feedback. We value your opinion and will strive to improve our shadowing experience after the formal training is completed. Our goal is to provide the best training possible so we have confident, empowered employees! Stephanie Williamson

    • "Great Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Working from home, my schedule is great!

        Cons

        I don't have any complaints! Everything is awesome!

        Advice to Management

        Everything is great! Keep doing what you're doing.

        Independence University2018-09-24

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback! We love to hear how happy you are! Stephanie Williamson

      • Helpful (1)

        "Fantastic Place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Provo, UT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Extensive & amazing training - 6 weeks paid is unheard of! Work from home Amazing starting salary for this type of position Really inner active, which shocked me because I was worried about the job environment working from home. Managers work with your schedule

        Cons

        Not as much vacation to start out with as I am used to Have to work Saturdays every once in a while as well as one late day No bonus structure based on sales

        Advice to Management

        Remember we are remote and stay engaged/ have relationships like you would if we were in an office setting. It doesn't always have to be about numbers.

        Independence University2018-09-14

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thanks you for providing feedback! Remote employee engagement is certainly a focus we will continue to improve. Stephanie Williamson

      • Helpful (2)

        "Admissions Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Colorado Springs, CO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working from home. Great salary and benefits. Set schedule. Flexible with appointments. Supportive leadership. Yearly business trip; all expenses paid. More than average paid holidays. Awards and recognition. Room for advancement.

        Cons

        Benefits are expensive. Maintain high goals.

        Advice to Management

        My advice is to be more lenient with goals and expectations knowing that things happen that are out of our control. Making sure that all departments work together for a common goal to ensure everyone's success.

        Independence University2018-08-16

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thank you for the great feedback! Your advice is noted. We agree that ensuring all departments work together is key and we will continue to emphasize and improve on the progress we have made! Stephanie Williamson

      • "Admissions Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Admissions Consultant in Denver, CO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independence University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Non profit University, Work from home, Great pay, Great work environment

        Cons

        Having to enroll students every month and meet company numbers. Can be stressful but at the end of the day so rewarding to help students pursue their dreams.

        Independence University2018-08-16

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thanks for the feedback! it is an awesome job but not necessarily an easy one! Stephanie Williamson

      • Helpful (4)

        "Admissions Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admissions Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Independence University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Training , Great Pay , Provide you with Equipment when working from home , for Admissions role they do invest and help you progress the first 10 months, Go to Vegas for conference meet everyone on there dime, and work with awesome people

        Cons

        Communication between departments , after 10 months if you don’t hit 5 plus a month you out the door after 3 months of below quota ( no matter how hard you work or the situations that come about ) as long as you enroll 5 plus you will love this place .... also depends on who your manager and ADOA is .. benefits and 401k sucks along with pto you only accure 3.3 hours a pay check and if you are fired your time doesn’t get...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Don’t say to Admissions that all about the students , when still it’s about hitting numbers a month bottom line . I will say compared to your competitors you pay good for the stress and you invest but at the end of the day it’s a numbers game

        Independence University2018-08-22

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thanks for providing feedback. We strive to provide consistency among managers so if you have specific examples please email Elisha Anderson. Stephanie Williamspn

      • "Admissions Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Admissions Team Member 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independence University full-time

        Pros

        IU thoroughly trains, and prepares their employees for their job. They have great benefits, wonderful enthusiasm, and they allow you to work from home all while providing all the equipment needed to be successful. I love that we can also obtain a degree while working at IU. I love there are lots of opportunities for advancement. It seems they really care about their employees and that means a lot. Many employers can...

        Show More

        Cons

        Not a ton of flexibility, and the job is sales driven, not bad unless you don't like a sales environment.

        Advice to Management

        Wish there was more fluidity to the work schedule.

        Independence University2018-08-15

        Independence University Response

        November 5, 2018VP Operations

        Thanks for the great feedback! Stephanie Williamson

      • Helpful (1)

        "Remote Admission Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Remote Admissions Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independence University full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I love this company that I work for because of work/life balance. I love working from home . The training was fantastic! I learned so much :) I would recommend working for this company that truly cares about their employees ! There are a lot of opportunity to move up in the company fairly quickly. They are really big on hiring within:) The pay is really good for someone that works in Admissions..

        Cons

        I have not ran into any cons at this point :)

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work!

        Independence University2018-04-16

        Independence University Response

        June 6, 2018VP Operations

        Thanks for the feedback! Training is key and we want every employee to stay and grow with IU, if that is what they want! Stephanie Williamson

      Found 232 reviews