KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Independence Village

Engaged Employer

Independence Village

Add a Review

Independence Village Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 330 of over 334 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Independence Village President John Fitzpatrick (no image)
John Fitzpatrick
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place and great residents(in 16 reviews)

  • "Our employees are dedicated to creating the absolute best experience with each resident and with each other(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "residents pass away which is sad(in 14 reviews)

  • "It is challenging when Residents pass(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Independence Village and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Work Environment

      Aug 2, 2021 - Server in Plymouth, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and residents, hours are extremely flexible for a part time job

      Cons

      Pay is low compared to competitors at other retirement communities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Management Needs help.

      Sep 23, 2021 - Resident Assistant in Waterford, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I mean...I like that's its a nice scheduled job.

      Cons

      SHORT STAFFED. We can't get people to stay for more then a week, let alone 3 days. The work is to overwhelming! We have needy families who don't understand how much we try to make it work in our condition. Our staff who are "Team Players" are not- they pick and choice WHO they want to help out. Somedays are worse than other because we get agencies who slack off and don't do their jobs correctly. Days when we DON'T have regular staff we have 2 floors we have to manage, meaning pass medication on another floor on top of our own floor we have care on+mediction. - it's impossible! Our boss does not take into consideration that we're one person doing other peoples job. She does not listen to our needs and concerns, but insteads makes it our faults that we aren't doing it the right way. ITS ALL ABOUT THE FAMILIES AND MONEY. But we still manage to come to work underpaid, unappreciated and short staffed because we need a job. The corporate needs to hire more staff so we aren't going under anymore. If we had solid hard, team players to come work with us the job would become so much easier!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job for College students

      Nov 5, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist in Midland, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work environment, Great managers

      Cons

      Burnout is real, can be a lot after awhile

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      Sep 6, 2021 - Caregiver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the residents and the care

      Cons

      It's a no lift facility yet we lift and hoyer multiple residents

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Staffing

      Sep 28, 2021 - Resident Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the resident and some staff members

      Cons

      Poor staffing ,no organization and horrible communication.Workload is overwhelming

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job

      Jun 8, 2021 - Caregiver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the girls I worked with. I worked here for a few years and enjoyed it

      Cons

      Long hours, mentally and physically tough work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Independence Village Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, Thank you for your kind words about working at Independence Village. We love that you enjoyed your time with us and your colleagues. We want to learn all of the ways we can support our team both mentally and physically. If you want to connect with us on our best ways to do this, please reach out to Pam Hayes at (810) 220-2655 to discuss your experience more thoroughly.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall Good

      May 22, 2021 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Ankeny, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      most of the co-workers and staff are very friendly and we mostly all get along

      Cons

      a downside of independence village is the upper management, I've worked there for a little less then a year and I've had 3 different nurses which were all fired

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Independence Village Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, Thank you for sharing that you liked the people you worked with at Independence Village of Ankeny! We agree that the pandemic brought with it unique challenges in our industry. We definitely look for only the most dedicated and loving people to support our residents, so, unfortunately, turnover is sometimes inevitable. We would love to learn how we can improve from your experience. If you would like to connect with us directly, please call Pam Hayes at (810) 220-2655. Thank you!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 15, 2021 - Life Enrichment Assistant in Brownsburg, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Making meaningful relationships with residents, very good company.

      Cons

      I have no cons to mention

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great environment

      Apr 8, 2021 - Server in Plymouth, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, great management, and residents are extremely nice

      Cons

      Wage, but for such an accommodating environment it is worth it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jan 19, 2021 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Atchison, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to meet and talk

      Cons

      Bad people some staff are

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Independence Village Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We believe this review might be on the wrong company page as we don't have a community in Kansas. If you want to connect with us directly, please call Pam Hayes at (810) 220-2655.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 330 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Independence Village Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Independence Village? Share Your Experiences

    or