Independent Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Independent Health Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Michael W. Cropp
47 Ratings
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medical benefits and a decent amount of PTO. IH has employee events going on every month. Always something to do. Great morale and ethics.

    Cons

    Certain days are really stressful. Sometimes I feel under appreciated. Small raises, and not much room for growth. Easy to get stuck in a position.

    Independent Health2019-06-17
  2. "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Investigator, Special Investigations Unit in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay; excellent benefits; great PTO plan; 401K matching; nice campus; strive for good work/life balance; "healthy living" culture; diversity; great core values (see cons); give back to community; some jobs have work-from-home capability

    Cons

    scant and disorganized training (at least for our area); high employee turnover in this dept; "great core values" that few people seem to live by - lip service without follow through; before new manager, staff was permitted to collaborate and contribute to decision making and was truly more of a team - now the attitude is "I'm the boss - you don't need to know unless I decide you need to know, and I'm not interested in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Revive the "Speed of Trust" campaign and actually follow through with it from the top levels to the bottom; live out the core values; hire managers who lead and inspire instead of oppress their staff; improve training/"onboarding" so staff can functions at their true levels of capability; see "cons"

    Independent Health2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    IH has a great culture, focused on customers and on employees. They strive to give employees the resources they need to do their job well and are always encouraging associates to improve and think outside the box. In general, compensation is respectable and associates can expect to be rewarded for going above and beyond. The organization is constantly trying to forge new pathways in healthcare and health insurance,...

    Show More

    Cons

    No company is perfect, but IH really ranks up there.

    Independent Health2019-03-26
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Recent reorganization, lack of parking

    Independent Health2019-01-29
  5. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good company with decent pay

      Cons

      no growth plan for internal employees

      Independent Health2019-01-04
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Independent Health full-time

      Pros

      Good atmosphere, okay benefits, friendly coworkers (for the most part)

      Cons

      Each department works in silos and has their own agenda.

      Advice to Management

      We need organizational goals to work for instead of departmental to grow as an organization.

      Independent Health2018-12-09
    • "Don’t treat contract workers the same"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Independent Health

      Pros

      Full time hours, relaxed employee environment

      Cons

      Some have been there along time. Required to park on street and not take part in activities

      Advice to Management

      Treat us like we matter

      Independent Health2018-12-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "IH Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great environment to work in

      Cons

      There are no cons there

      Independent Health2018-09-18
    • "Good Experience But Room For Improvement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Employees work hard Option to work from home Health Insurance is good & cost effective Great job to become experienced in health insurance

      Cons

      Lack of parking Management is inconsistent Lack of opportunity to apply within company and actually get the job

      Advice to Management

      Management is inconsistent. Often promise you things that never actually happen. Training is inconsistent Promote values that they themselves do not represent

      Independent Health2018-08-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Production Artist/Assistant to Creative Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Production Artist in Williamsville, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Independent Health full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      None. None. None. None. None.

      Cons

      Corporate GREED. Does everyone keep a knife under their desk to stab a co-worker in the back?

      Advice to Management

      Stop backstabbing each other in the back for your corporate bonuses. Stop allowing a culture of bullying behavior in the workplace. I am glad I sued you all and I won my severance pay. Take the apple logo you ripped off from me and my boss and make a pie or something else out of it.

      Independent Health2018-06-18
    Found 69 reviews