Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Bob Rusbuldt
0 Ratings
  1. "Independent Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ

      I worked at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Best career that I ever had. I am sorry that I had to sell my book of business.

      Cons

      The times of being an independent agent, or a captive agent, are going by the wayside. Insurance is no longer viewed as something that protects people, rather, it's become a commodity for price-conscious clients who no longer believe that they need insurance advice.

      Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2016-04-05
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America full-time

      Pros

      Independence, security, freedom, money, knowledge

      Cons

      Long work hours, rude clients

      Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2017-09-28
    • "Independent Insurance Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America full-time

        Pros

        Markets are changeable, so are companies to place when you work with several.

        Cons

        Less detailed training given for each company

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2016-12-09
      • "independent insurance associates"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Broker, Director in Harrisburg, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        my own agency,overall control of destiny

        Cons

        staffing,personnel,loyalty and likeness to be successful

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2014-04-09
      • Helpful (3)

        "Lack of training and lack of compassion lead to an equality issue lay-off"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Great for networking - Good place to get information on all types of insurances across the country - Helping out the "mom and pop" insurance companies across the US through IIABA's Trusted Choice branding

        Cons

        - Lack of training for new employees; they expect you to understand what your job entails and what is expected of you without explaining anything up front - Lack of compassion when newer employees ask for help; I was left at the biggest conference of the year on my own for more than 3 hours with no direction or aid in what was expected of me - ended up introducing myself to random people just to get names however, my...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Train your new employees - don't just expect them to take off running when they have no direction to run in, let alone material to run with. You can't expect perfection from someone that doesn't even understand their job title yet.

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2013-05-02
      • "great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Agent in Irvine, CA
        Recommends

        I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America

        Pros

        pleasant working environment, great staff

        Cons

        advancement opportunity could be better

        Advice to Management

        great company

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2010-10-28
      • "Producing?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Insurance Producer in Saint John, IN

        I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America

        Pros

        Ability to go after and get involved in a lot of different aspects in commercial and personal lines of insurance.

        Cons

        depending on the owners, it can be a bad field, it also doesnt help the current gov't is putting the clamps to a lot of commercial companies either.

        Advice to Management

        Furlough!

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2010-01-10
      • "Dependds on the Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Office Manager in
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America

        Pros

        Choose wisely working for the right independent agent can be rewarding and can be a flexible job.

        Cons

        Small companies often mean little or no job security and little opportunity for career advancement.

        Advice to Management

        None

        Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America2010-08-18
      Found 8 reviews