Index Exchange "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Index Exchange Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Index Exchange CEO Andrew Casale
Andrew Casale
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fair compensation, great work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Benefits - Free lunch on Friday, stocked kitchen with drinks, great medical insurance programs, gym reimbursements, commuter benefits program, etc(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few growing pains but all being addressed by management(in 14 reviews)

  • "IX is a toxic work environment, don't work here if you care about,your career or your mental health(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It's clearly, simply, the best work environment I've ever been in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Vision, Culture, Future path

    Cons

    Growing pains of any other successful company.

    Index Exchange2018-04-11
  2. "Supportive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    - Very supportive of working parents - Innovative and at the forefront of industry technology - Actively working to make things more organised and function better for employees and customers

    Cons

    - Typical growing pains - Would benefit for more hires from the industry to get diverse opinions when it comes to decision making

    Advice to Management

    - Would like to see a true C-Suite in senior leadership.

    Index Exchange2018-04-16
  3. "Dynamic People, Fun Workplace, Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Truly fantastic, caring, intelligent, and fun coworkers. Everyone really gets along well, and enjoys seeing each other and spending time together. Great looking office spaces, with fun perks like catered Friday lunches, lots of food and drink options, birthday celebrations, and branded swag. Health care is provided at no cost to employees, they provide a 5% match on 401K, and they contribute to gym memberships.... If you work hard and accomplish goals, it is usually recognized and appreciated. Hands down the best work culture/ environment I've ever been a part of. Company is focused on trying to create a good work life balance for employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    For a long time there was less of a focus on giving the back end teams (IT, Office Services, HR, etc) what they need to thrive. There was always a good focus on what client facing teams need, but not anywhere near as much if you were not client facing. That has been starting to improve recently. There are definitely growing pains involved with growing so rapidly. There are some who have been here for its pre-... Index Exchange days that definitely have had trouble accepting and adapting to the changes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care about and support employees. Making sure the company is inclusive to all teams and offices. Make education available to everyone and try to help employees successfully grow.

    Index Exchange2017-09-29
  4. "A Place Where You Can Be Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Index Exchange is somewhere that you can bring your whole self to work. The same person that my friends and family know, is the person I am at work. The people here believe in the company, work hard, and enjoy working. Being surrounded by that energy is contagious. I'm always happy to come to work. If I have an off day, I know my colleagues are there to support me and make me laugh. The company is incredibly... successful and growing rapidly. It feels great to have that kind of stability! The benefits are amazing! There is zero monthly employee contribution for health, vision, and dental. There is a 5% 401k match. $50 gym reimbursements or discounted rates. The list goes on and on.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some growing pains. This is the best environment and culture I've ever worked in. Make sure you're working to foster that and not just letting it be what it is. Make sure you're putting your employees first and gathering the resources you need to support them.

    Advice to Management

    Put experienced and well trained managers in place.

    Index Exchange2017-09-22
  5. "The best culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture with some of the brightest people in the industry. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    A few growing pains but all being addressed by management.

    Index Exchange2017-08-15
  6. "Lots of growth and opportunity, great team, well positioned in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    - Working along side very smart and talented people is a luxury that not all companies really have. Everyone is also eager to learn and grow, which makes collaboration and knowledge sharing much more fulfilling - The company itself is well position in the ad tech space, it feels good to be part of a growing and thriving organization when we see so much uncertainty for some of our peers and competitors - While... one should be a bit self directed and try to be as focused as possible to succeed, there is definitely room to grow and shape your own path here

    Show More

    Cons

    - We are seeing substantial growth in a very short amount of time which means that we experience growing pains sometimes. We were once a lot smaller and could get away with a bit less structure and process and out business can no longer support that way of operating - That being said though, we're learning and trying to straighten every process and create order from the chaos and I believe that we'll get to a more... stable state very soon

    Show More
    Index Exchange2017-05-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very flat structure - entry level roles get to work/collaborate with C level executives - Transparent environment - hold monthly company wide meetings to share what each division is currently focusing on - Great work culture, very casual and friendly - Flexible work hours and free food

    Cons

    - Growing pains with building out upper management, though there has been definite progress in the last 6 months - Career pathing could be improved - Team onboarding could be improved

    Index Exchange2018-10-02
  8. Helpful (11)

    "A great company to work for if you want to stagnate your technical skills and abilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great perks, such as catered lunches, free snacks, and gym memberships. Frequent team outings and company-wide events. Management and process improved during my time with the company but could be improved upon still. A lot of nice people in most departments.

    Cons

    Note: This is for the Toronto location of the engineering department. Nepotism, company politics, and poor cross-departmental communication are very rampant in this company. If you want to grow your career and not worry about being caught in company politics, go elsewhere. The Toronto tech scene is thriving, and IX does not play a role in that. Management and leadership team lack in management skills, industry... knowledge, and communication skills. They have hired some great new managers to help the team scale, but unfortunately, the majority of senior and tenured employees lack experience and are behind in what is happening in the tech scene, have poor communication skills and low emotional intelligence. The most disappointing part is that the culture of unwillingness to learn and communicate has trickled down and is perpetuated by employees who have been working with the company for a while. As a result, the tech stack is extremely outdated and the company lacks innovation. People want to stick to what they know because they are afraid to try anything that would hurt their egos. People would rather be right than actually do what is best for the product. The process has improved in my time working at Index, but still has a long way to go. There was very little thought and planning into the products we were building. It doesn't help that there is very little communication between the business and engineering teams. It's very common for projects to pivot mid-way or not even ship at all, because of poor teamwork, planning, and resourcing. Additionally, the company culture is awful. The HR and people team don't do anything to help their employees and are willfully ignorant of how it truly is them. The HR and people team are just like IX's social media presence - all style, no substance. How the company is portrayed in social media is extremely deceptive and only represents a portion of the company. Index does not encourage diversity of thought, backgrounds, or opinions either. Almost everyone comes from the same cookie cutter background. Voicing your opinion that is against the status quo is extremely frowned upon. The company was heading in a right direction in actually listening to their employees' concerns; however, when employees actually started voicing their opinion, they changed how people can communicate their concerns in a way that actually discouraged them to do so. Index is definitely experiencing growing pains and that's understandable -- however, whenever Index takes a step forward in improving as a company, they'll take another two steps back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Improve how you're treating your employees, so they actually feel like they're contributing to your company instead of just a cog in a machine. You've started gathering feedback from employees, so do something about it instead of getting defensive and skirting around.

    Index Exchange2018-04-21
  9. "Great company with huge potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    - Company has a great vision, and the determination to fulfill it - People are friendly, intelligent and not afraid to share their opnion - Work life balance is pretty strong and being a family company they ensure that family comes first

    Cons

    - Over the past few years, there have been a few growing pains but the exec team has been focused on addressing any issues that scaling so quickly has created

    Advice to Management

    - Keep the communication channels open and continue to empower more junior members of staff

    Index Exchange2018-03-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unique Company, Unique Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches, great benefits, flexible hours, open-concept office, etc. - standard benefits/perks most tech companies have. The story of the company, the leadership and its amazing growth are what makes it unique. Definitely different than other companies in the space in terms of how it has evolved and grown - teenage founder, no VC, key pivot into a full-fledged tech company, organic growth, fully private with no... need/aspirations to go public/get acquired. The growth in both revenue and headcount is absolutely insane. Working environment is intense but rewarding - they aren't kidding when they say 'fast paced'. From the ceo on down some of the smartest people and best leaders I have worked with. I have been given more room and support here to try new and different approaches than any other company. Expectations are high but there's absolutely room to fail and learn as well. I have yet to have a day where I have been bored. Has been a great magnet for Ad Tech talent across all teams/offices - lots of great people to learn from.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of what needs to happen next is already in progress. No company is without 'growing pains' and IX has had their share. Huge project currently underway to shore up management in Engineering - this has completely changed how Engineering is run (for the better). They've been very lucky to bring in 6+ experienced and amazing leaders in 2017. Still lots of work to do across the company in terms of growing up,... formalizing policies and processes (both big and small) and getting ready to continue to scale the company. Like all growing companies IX struggles with how to stay loyal to long-time employees but also usher in change. This very localized to certain teams/departments but something they'll need to continue to address as they grow and their needs evolve. Not a lot of formal frameworks for learning - both internally and in a professional development sense. Internal knowledge transfer, onboarding, etc seems to be a work in progress - so you need to be comfortable approaching the right people to fill in the gaps. Same can be said for review/feedbacks - no standard exists across the company and thus it can vary from team to team. Core focus on Engineering can sometimes come at the expense of properly growing other teams or even related disciplines within Engineering.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue the recent trend of focusing on building and scaling the company in a sustainable way. Make sure leadership is aligned with the areas they excel in and hire experts to address gaps that emerge. Keep tech as your core focus and work to introduce even more strong leaders across that side of the business. Work hard to keep talent within the company and provide more defined avenues for growth. Create a... professional development fund to aid in learning and advancement.

    Show More
    Index Exchange2017-07-12
Found 14 reviews