Index Exchange "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Index Exchange Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Index Exchange President & CEO Andrew Casale
Andrew Casale
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fair compensation, great work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Benefits - Free lunch on Friday, stocked kitchen with drinks, great medical insurance programs, gym reimbursements, commuter benefits program, etc(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few growing pains but all being addressed by management(in 14 reviews)

  • "IX is a toxic work environment, don't work here if you care about,your career or your mental health(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Great company that takes care of it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is the first time I've given a 5 star rating ... for anything. That's not to say the company is perfect, but the cons are small enough that I don't feel it's fair to take a full star for them. With that... - Work / life balance is insane. Attention is paid to not over-committing, timelines are generous, arranging time away from the office (WFH, sick/personal days, vacation, etc) is trivial, and the hours are extremely flexible. - Career growth (in engineering) - managers pay attention to every single engineer, discuss goals and work on getting them accomplished. That's not to say that promotions are handed out easily, but there is a clear path to a promotion, and enough guidance to get there. If you want a promotion, and are willing to do the work, one will come for sure. Additionally, there's enough budget for training, conferences, books, etc, and whoever *wants* it, gets it. Finally, there's enough smart people in key positions that everyone can learn from. - Tech - sure, there's legacy stuff that isn't all that exciting (much like anywhere else), but the company is going all out on modernizing it's tech stack, so engineers get to work with some of the latest stuff out there (Kubernetes, Golang, CI/CD pipelines, latest versions of Angular, etc). - Company culture - people are very friendly and teams do work as teams rather than groups of people. The formula for "team building" seems to be working here. - Office - very modern, open, some pretty cool gadgets, electronic white boards, massive conferencing screens, etc. - Job security and compensation - managers will work with engineers to course correct if needed, and they have lots of patience if they see improvement. Company has had just a few forced departures over the past little while, and they were never a surprise to either the person forced out, or the rest of engineering. They try to retain people at all cost, and when people need a change, there's an opportunity to go to a different department, work on different things, etc. The compensation is fair as well - not as generous as the top 5 companies out there, but definitely beyond reasonable. - Solving interesting problems - this is individual, but the scale at which the company operates demands that the problems are solved in a creative and efficient way. Also, problems are solved bottom-up, meaning engineers design solutions and implement them, rather than solutions being pushed from above and engineering is just to blindly implement. - Locations - there are multiple to choose from for now (although once you pick, it's difficult to switch). There's engineering offices downtown, uptown, in KW, Montreal... - Transparency - company goes out of it's way to share how things are going on all fronts with everyone. People know when the company is doing great, and also when it's time to do better. - Other perks - free lunches, wall full of snacks / drinks, company swag (you can go for a full week in clothes provided by IX), team outings (every 2 months, with some crazy budgets), company 2-3 day events (engineering hackathon, all hands, etc).

    Cons

    I can't say there's none, but I don't think any is significant enough to be a deal breaker. Here's some: - Sometimes Product can be a bit on the difficult side. It's not unheard of in the industry, but this place isn't immune to it either. - The legacy code needs to go away sooner, or needs to be fixed as it's slowing down delivery across the board, and it's just painful to work in. - There's times when the conversation just goes in circles, and meetings tend to run too long. Some managers contribute to this problem instead of fixing it. In general, fewer meetings and more efficient meetings would be nice. - Some groups just aren't great with committing to timelines - there's constant and unexplained delays for many things (moves, survey results, etc). - Part of the compensation package are "stock options" that in reality aren't worth anything at the moment, and this is unlikely to change in near to mid-term future. - Career path outside engineering isn't very clearly defined. For some positions it's unclear what's considered "a job well done". - There's some office politics, but this doesn't trickle down much to the engineers.

    Index Exchange2019-04-25
  2. "IX cares about it's people AND the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Innovative company looking to better the ad tech space - The company is in it for the long hall, not a quick sale. - The company genuinely cares about it's employees. People come to work here to have a career, not as a stepping stone for another move. - The culture and environment is extremely warm and welcoming. Everyone works hard but has a great work life balance.

    Cons

    - We are starting to outgrow our space, but we will be moving locations within the next year. I'm happy to say that is the only con.

    Continue reading
    Index Exchange2018-03-05

    Index Exchange Response

    April 3, 2018VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted to see employees feeling this way about the positive growth environment every Indexer helps us build every day. And we do care a great deal about each other - so much so that I do feel obligated to mention that we're still working on better work/life balance for some. But we'll stay on top of it until that all important balance is restored! Thanks once more, Dorothy

    Continue reading
  3. "Dynamic People, Fun Workplace, Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Truly fantastic, caring, intelligent, and fun coworkers. Everyone really gets along well, and enjoys seeing each other and spending time together. Great looking office spaces, with fun perks like catered Friday lunches, lots of food and drink options, birthday celebrations, and branded swag. Health care is provided at no cost to employees, they provide a 5% match on 401K, and they contribute to gym memberships. If you work hard and accomplish goals, it is usually recognized and appreciated. Hands down the best work culture/ environment I've ever been a part of. Company is focused on trying to create a good work life balance for employees.

    Cons

    For a long time there was less of a focus on giving the back end teams (IT, Office Services, HR, etc) what they need to thrive. There was always a good focus on what client facing teams need, but not anywhere near as much if you were not client facing. That has been starting to improve recently. There are definitely growing pains involved with growing so rapidly. There are some who have been here for its pre- Index Exchange days that definitely have had trouble accepting and adapting to the changes.

    Continue reading
    Index Exchange2017-09-29

    Index Exchange Response

    October 10, 2017VP, Human Resources

    Thanks so much for this review. I'm delighted that you appreciate the investments we make in our exceptional teams! We're excited to be empowered to increase that investment in areas like our People Team in the months ahead, and your point on expanding learning opportunities is well heard. That will definitely be an area of focus for us moving forward. Thanks once more for sharing. Warm regards, Dorothy

    Continue reading
  4. "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, work/life balance, upward mobility, leadership

    Cons

    Some tools are not fully built out or take awhile

    Index Exchange2017-08-17
  5. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The culture is incredible - surrounded by bright, hardworking, and fun people. Your ideas are valued and your peers are supportive and encouraging. -The company is honest and transparent in how it operates, and that makes me proud to stand behind it. -There's a flat structure - everyone is approachable and treated equally, from the associate level up to the director level. -The perks & benefits and work/life balance are great, and show how much leadership values their employees. The work environment is extremely flexible, and you are trusted to do your work and do it well.

    Cons

    -The AC gets a wee bit frosty at times -Normal small issues as with any successful growing company, but nothing that goes unaddressed.

    Continue reading
    Index Exchange2017-08-14

    Index Exchange Response

    August 30, 2017Sr. Director, Client Services

    Thanks so much for this review. It was a pleasure to read your kind and appreciative words about our incredible team, culture, transparency (always a work in progress!), and the trust we never regret placing in our team. We'll have to look into the A/C as you're not the only reviewer to mention that! And please let us know if any issues/growing pains aren't addressed quickly enough in the future. We very much want to continue to be worthy of kind reviews like this and that requires staying open to feedback, well, forever! Thanks for being part of IX. It's great to have you here!

    Continue reading
  6. "The best culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture with some of the brightest people in the industry. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    A few growing pains but all being addressed by management.

    Index Exchange2017-08-15
  7. "More Than a Tech Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership cares and shows interest in people on a professional and personal level. The healthiest work life balance I have experienced including background with agency, publisher and DSP. Generally a flat company which allows for plenty of exposure to senior leadership. Family owned.

    Cons

    Being solo in a new market presents challenges.

    Continue reading
    Index Exchange2017-08-10
  8. "Teamwork, Trust, Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Index Exchange for over a year and it has been very exciting to be a part of the growth that this company has seen since the inception of Index Exchange. The company has been built on a foundation of trust and transparency - these are not just words that our teams have been saying since they recently became trendy in ad tech. They are part of our company's core competencies and make Index life great. Everyone at Index is incredibly kind and intelligent - teamwork is key at Index - and working alongside some of the smartest people I have ever worked with has been a great way to continue to learn and grow personally and professionally. Work / life balance is important to most managers and most give their team members the autonomy to make their own decisions on day-to-day projects with their guidance if needed. I have never worked in an environment quite like this one - working at Index is extremely refreshing and rewarding and your day to day revolves around trust, transparency and teamwork.

    Cons

    It is a very rare day that I go home from work with any "cons" about working at Index.

    Continue reading
    Index Exchange2017-04-17
  9. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with Great work-life balance People are approachable and friendly

    Cons

    Below market salary Tech debt slowing progress

    Index Exchange2019-11-19
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Fair compensation, great work-life balance + perks, friendly + engaged staff, dynamic environment

    Cons

    Technical debt presents headwinds to onboarding of new engineers

    Index Exchange2019-08-03
Found 21 reviews