Indian Oil Reviews | Glassdoor

Indian Oil Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 526 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Indian Oil CEO Shri R S Butola
Shri R S Butola
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is pretty good(in 58 reviews)

  • "Organisational culture is very good and there is job security in this organisation(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hardship location have to work in remote locations(in 35 reviews)

  • "I was impressed by the work culture but there is always room for improvement(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Indian Oil for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great opportunity to explore the refinary

    Cons

    nothing as such for the company

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Indian Oil2016-07-18
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indian Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Pay is a plus -Structured program

    Cons

    -Locations can be demotivating -Work culture for plants is not good

    Indian Oil2019-01-19
  3. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indian Oil full-time

    Pros

    - Canteen (low-cost - high quality) - Open and Stressfree environment - Good compensation - Supportive Senior Management

    Cons

    - Average Mentorship - Inert and slow paced environment

    Advice to Management

    work on improving 1-1 mentorship for Interns, motivate them.

    Indian Oil2018-01-26
  4. "Marketing Divisio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indian Oil full-time

    Pros

    good salary benefits... More facilities....

    Cons

    Have to do overtime...More customer oriented,...People magaement..Internal politics

    Indian Oil2017-02-09
  5. "Worked as an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Indian Oil

    Pros

    good exposure, diversified people, good experienced engineers, typical old age mentality, lack of energy

    Cons

    Rusty outlook, lack of interest shown by a few. lack of clarity of thoughts, rude managers, talk only in native language

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible, Create a healthy atmosphere for leaning, create a separate divisions for interns, be more vocal and less rude

    Indian Oil2016-05-06
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Indian Oil

      Pros

      The company offers great perks for an intern position. My supervisor was very supportive and whenever I encountered a problem I was guided by some peers.

      Cons

      Since it isa typic public sector company of india there are people that come to relax in the offie it is hard to deal with them.

      Indian Oil2016-03-23
    • "No proper work-life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Indian Oil

        Pros

        Good salary for a beginner

        Cons

        Too much work load and politics

        Indian Oil2016-02-17
      • Helpful (2)

        "INDIANOIL IS A GOOD COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in The Country Store, VA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Indian Oil full-time

        Pros

        You have sufficient freedom and very good opportunities in this company. It all depends on your ability to satisfy your Bosses. If you are able to satisfy and work with any type of Boss, you will be able to go up & even reach the CEO position in this company.

        Cons

        Your Boss decides your career in this company which I suppose is the case with any other company. Only issue is that if your Boss spoils your career initially, the black mark gets stuck to your profile which will last till you leave the company. As such, initially, you have to take care that your Boss does not tarnish your record.

        Advice to Management

        There has to be a system implemented to enable even the last level employees ( Officers) whose career has been tarnished by their Bosses to present their case before the CEO so that he gets an opportunity to redeem his career.

        Indian Oil2015-10-03
      • "Internship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Process Engineering Intern in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Indian Oil for less than a year

        Pros

        Great company to work for. Got a lot to learn

        Cons

        Working for one of the nav ratana companies can be a little stressful at times

        Indian Oil2015-07-28
      • "Good for Freshers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Officer Grade A 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Indian Oil

        Pros

        Nice Package and other facilities like medical etc

        Cons

        Irrespective of your work or performance you climb up the Ladder slowly.

        Advice to Management

        Nothing, they can't help.

        Indian Oil2015-07-07
      Found 526 reviews