Indian Oil "work culture" Reviews | Glassdoor

Indian Oil Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 526 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Indian Oil CEO Shri R S Butola
Shri R S Butola
163 Ratings
  1. "GAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashik

      I worked at Indian Oil full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible Timing , Good Work Culture

      Cons

      Process are slow ,

      Indian Oil2018-01-26
    • "Good for people seeking a stable family life only"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Apprentice Engineer in New Delhi
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work-Life Balance Job Security Flexibility of roles within the organisation

      Cons

      Monotonous nature of work Poor work culture (read:lazy and strong workers unions) Mostly managerial job (not core engineering) Remote Locations

      Indian Oil2018-01-26
    • "junior engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Apprentice Trainee in Jaipur, Rajasthan
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      IOCL is utilizing very latest technology in crude oil field instruments for safe & accurate operation. it is best option to join IOCL to learn every thing related to crude oil processing.Very good work culture, strong middle management and top management.

      Cons

      my employment is not permanent in IOCL.

      Advice to Management

      supporting for improvement ideas.To provide more growth opportunities to employees and be fair in recognition and compensating employees accordingly.

      Indian Oil2018-01-13
    • "Sales Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Officer in New Delhi
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      1. Excellent social status 2. Good compensation

      Cons

      1. Messed up work culture 2. Nothing like professional HR Management Existent

      Advice to Management

      Overhaul the HR Policies`

      Indian Oil2017-12-29
    • "Good PSU to work with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time

      Pros

      Good salary and benefits, good work culture

      Cons

      Transferable job but no other cons

      Advice to Management

      Nil

      Indian Oil2017-10-27
    • "Overall Job Profile and Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Chittoor
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Indian Oil full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent Salary for Engineering Graduates

      Cons

      Work culture is sub optimal

      Advice to Management

      Improvement in Human resource Training

      Indian Oil2017-09-07
    • "Stagnant Growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operations Officer in Farrukhābād
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Indian Oil full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Social repute, PSU benefits, Timely salary

      Cons

      Bad work culture (bureaucratic), most people don't want to work which implies that those who do work are overloaded. I had to work multiple shifts, at one time I worked 6 AM to 10 PM for 1 week straight. Even Sundays were working for me, as I had to go for maintenance of the plant. Plant operators are a menace everywhere, they don't work at all and union politics is quite strong.

      Advice to Management

      Sort out union menace and better appraisal for employees who actually work.

      Indian Oil2017-08-28
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - GET in Pānīpat
      Recommends

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good learning opportunities and nice work culture. Nice management, eager to help, self confidence boost up. One of the best company to work with

      Cons

      Cons: Hot in summer during work in the filed job, groupism prevailing, pressure very high in the initial years but later job is boring.

      Advice to Management

      they should look for the spark in the employees and thus giving them a chance to progress. I have literally no other advice. But overall company is good.

      Indian Oil2017-05-28
    • "PSU"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Rānchī
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Oil full-time

      Pros

      A PSU with work culture of a MNC. Best company to work with in terms of pay and perks.

      Cons

      Lot of public dealing and interference from government.

      Advice to Management

      Should be able to take decision independently

      Indian Oil2017-01-22
    • "iocl"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Haldia, West Bengal
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Indian Oil for less than a year

      Pros

      good medical benefits, facilities and quarter

      Cons

      bad work culture, transfers, bad bosses

      Advice to Management

      give some importance to merit

      Indian Oil2017-01-18
    Found 526 reviews