Indiana University Reviews | Glassdoor

Indiana University Reviews

Updated October 16, 2017
966 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Indiana University President Michael McRobbie
Michael McRobbie
339 Ratings

966 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • no advancement, low pay, HR is no good (in 32 reviews)

  • High turnover of part time staff (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    It is lots of fun and interesting. Also, don't have to grade too much because homework is online.

    Cons

    Grading stinks at times, but homework is online, so not too bad.


  2. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    Best perk is the tuition remission with stipend.

    Cons

    Assigned to classes with out a background in.

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Happy to see you had an overall good experience with the time you spent at IU.

  3. "Fun and Flexible Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPEA Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - SPEA Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Hours with competitive pay

    Cons

    None, SPEA is a good place to work

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Very happy to see the 5-star rating with such positive feedback. Go SPEA!!!


  4. "Lead Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Indiana University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent colleagues
    Professional development
    Excellent benefits
    Fantastic atmosphere

    Cons

    Salary based on university standards, not merit

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great rating. Coming from a person with more than 5 years at IU, this means a lot. We hope that you continue to be here for many years to come.


  5. "Associate Instructor (Graduate Teaching Assistantship) in Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Associate Instructor in Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - Associate Instructor in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Indiana University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Reasonable pay for non-STEM graduate teaching (3 courses over the fall and spring semesters), full health insurance premiums, in my department a great deal of flexibility and autonomy for the courses you teach.

    Cons

    Unless you have a fellowship, you are not guaranteed funding from year to year, even if you are making satisfactory progress in your program of studies/scholarship.

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5-star rating. It is unfortunate when funding goes away, but we are glad to see that you have been here for 3+ years and continue to think so highly of us. We hope your funding, and... More


  6. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    Learning teaching skills and communication skills

    Cons

    Busy schedule with challenge tasks

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the strong rating. We are glad to see that you enjoy working at IU.


  7. "Landscape Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Life/Work Balance, Mission greater than one's self interest, fantastic healthcare and benefits, encouraging and positive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility, high cost of living near campus, tempting to become complacent in work role, some micro-management at the executive level. Policies don't always align with stated values.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employee to apply their expertise and heed their recommendations toward implementable solutions. Continue to encourage outside the box ideas and less group think.

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your continued service and the 5 star ratings. Keep challenging us with new ideas as that is how we all grow as a university.

    PS - The campus looks gorgeous. Keep up the great work!

  8. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    Good support system with the professors

    Cons

    Nothing much to discuss between the teams

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Teaching Assistants are a large part of the life blood of IU. Happy to hear that you enjoy it as much as you do.


  9. "Office Administrator: Dept. of Brain & Psychological Sciences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Bloomington, IN
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful people, no two days are alike. Good ideas are never ignored.

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons. I loved it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Always good to know that someone had such a great experience working here at IU. We wish you the best in your endeavors. Hopefully you will come back to IU again when seeking employment.


  10. "Teaching Assistant (Graduate Student)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Bloomington, IN
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible work hours
    Clock hours online
    Respectful of your schedule & work load

    Cons

    Work can be inconsistent, especially grading. (Lots to grade one week, nothing the next)

    Indiana University Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Glad to have you here at IU. Thanks for the wonderful feedback!


Showing 966 of 1,019 reviews
Reset Filters