Indiana University Reviews | Glassdoor

Indiana University Reviews

Updated June 18, 2018
1,124 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Indiana University President Michael McRobbie
Michael McRobbie
389 Ratings

1,124 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "low pay for experience and education" (in 38 reviews)

  • "Many young people are forced to work part-time as they'll make more money that way but don't receive any benefits" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very nice people and enjoyable environment

    Cons

    Low pay. Otherwise the parking is the biggest problem.

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 17, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great feedback. Appreciate the 5-star rating.


  2. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    Great community and people. Love it!

    Cons

    Lots of pollon that spark allergies.

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience at IU. We are working with Mother Nature on the allergy issues. :)

  3. "Great staff/faculty!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Indiana University part-time

    Pros

    Many of the people working for Indiana University have a sincere love for the IU and Bloomington community, and it show in their work. IU does a great job in hiring their own as well, which shows how much people love it here. Working part time as a student , I have been offered a great salary compared to other minimum wage jobs.

    Cons

    As a part time staff member, you can only work a certain amount of hours.


  4. "Professional/ exempt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University full-time

    Pros

    great insurance; job security; option to take discounted college courses

    Cons

    poor advancement guidance/ tracks; poor employee increases


  5. "Not impressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Indiana University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, professional development, not much else

    Cons

    Low pay, little chance of advancement

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees a living wage!

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 17, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We are sorry that you feel this way. We work hard to pay a competitive wage but you need to consider the Total Rewards package, as we offer an excellent benefits program, great PTO, tuition... More


  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits: medical and paid time off.

    Cons

    Because it's a university, pay is not as good as the private sector.

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5-star rating. It means a lot coming from someone with more than 5 years here at IU. Thanks for all you do at IU!


  7. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great networking and experience options in an excellent town.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are limited at best depending on your position.

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and the great rating.

  8. "Undergraduate Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends

    I worked at Indiana University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Teaching students the course material.

    Cons

    Sometimes lots of grading that needs to be done in a short amount of time

    Indiana University Response

    May 30, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the 5-star rating and your service to IU.


  9. "undergraduate instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Instructor in Bloomington, IN
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Instructor in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Relax environment, nice manager. Little work load

    Cons

    No career development. Only temporary job

    Indiana University Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback.


  10. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Tutor in Bloomington, IN
    Former Employee - Peer Tutor in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work alongside some of the most knowledgeable professors.
    Hone your skills while helping others develop theirs

    Cons

    Low Pay but High Educational Benefit

    Indiana University Response

    May 30, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and the 5-star rating.


Showing 1,124 of 1,186 reviews
Reset Filters