Indio (CA) Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Indio (CA) CEO, Co-Founder Mike Furlong (no image)
Mike Furlong
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mergers and Acquisitions can be scary (but not here)

    Jan 28, 2021 - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Purchase of Indio by Applied Systems in October 2019 has added the stability of a major player in the insurance AMS field and enabled Indio to continue to grow. Applied has been fairly hands off and has chosen to implement the CS model within some of their own divisions. Benefits have changed some in pricing but adding in a matching 401k while leaving unlimited PTO alone is great!

    Cons

    The normal cons of a start-up and SaaS -- changes all the time, more work than bodies - but that all has plans for improvement

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Oct 20, 2020 - Implementation Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good culture and postivie encouragement

    Cons

    not a lot of growth now- need to have a more clear path of how we can grow, improve

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic people and culture

    Mar 21, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best reasons to work here are the people and culture. The engineering team is divided between SF, Austin, and Poland, but communication has not been an issue. Has an engaged engineering leadership team that proactively looks for problems and tries to solve them. You feel very appreciated for your work, which is something I haven't always felt at other companies. The new SF office on Market St. is very nice and located half a block from Bart/Muni. There are company sponsored happy hours and free lunch/snacks/drinks. Salaries and benefits are competitive, especially for a company this new. The company was recently acquired by Applied Systems, which means we're also on pretty solid financial ground (good now that it seems like the world is heading for a recession). When Indio was acquired the executive team was kept in place, reporting to Applied's management, so it hasn't been too much of a change. There were some layoffs unfortunately, but we've been told nobody else will be laid off and they've made it very clear that they value us and want to retain us.

    Cons

    Just got acquired, so stock options aren't really going to be a huge part of any new hire compensation, if that's what motivates you. Has a 401k, but no matching. No healthcare or dependent care FSA. From an engineering side, there's more tech debt than you might expect from a company this new, but we are actively working on it. The Poland team has some really good engineers, but obviously there are time zone issues working with them.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    One of the best experiences of my career

    Jan 28, 2020 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, passionate, fun team. Solid leadership and vision. Excellent product/market fit. Outstanding opportunity.

    Cons

    None except that Indio was so successful that it was acquired by a larger player in the industry and that acquisition resulted in several of us getting laid off, including me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    GREAT PEOPLE AND A EVEN BETTER PRODUCT

    Nov 19, 2019 - Sales Development Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is wholesome and welcoming! We are all well-aware of our responsibilities and believe in what we are doing, which makes coming to work that much more enjoyable!

    Cons

    No cons at this point and I hope never to add to this list.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great product, great vision, great team, GREAT place to work

    Oct 3, 2019 - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work in the Austin, TX office. Office life is very convenient and nice. We have catered lunches everyday from local restaurants and even have a nearby parking garage that Indio pays for us! It's an exciting team and we are constantly having happy hours and events. The job itself is challenging but very rewarding. We are disrupting the insurance industry with a much needed solution. Management has a great vision as to where we need to go and they are very transparent about it as well. The product is well received and our reputation is positive and growing. It's a relatively short SaaS sales cycle with great support and communication from other team members. The team is continuing to grow across all departments as clients want more and more of the product. At any time you can connect with CS or engineers and receive support of answers quickly.

    Cons

    There are the typical struggles of a successful start-up in keeping up with changes and growing pains. It's an ambitious group of people across all of our locations so you have to stay on top of everything happening within the company and industry as a whole.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I honestly can say this is the best company I have worked for. Hands down.

    Oct 3, 2019 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Indio has already carved out itself out to be a very important need for clients. Indio is poised to have very steady growth and being apart of it is very exciting. The sky is truly the limit and the product is only getting better. There is a team environment where everyone learns from everyone and it is very encouraging.

    Cons

    Parking could be better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great sales career

    Dec 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work in the Austin sales office - One pro is the product itself; it's very well-received. The hardest part is the initial part of having prospects understand what it is since we're first to market but once they grasp the concept they get really excited which makes cold calling a not at all unpleasant experience. This is also not a super high volume of sales calls position, you are encouraged to do research on your prospects and tailor your pitch to fit them. This isn't a "stick to the script" Sorry to Bother You call center sales office. It's professional sales people all trying to grow their careers, treating each other respectfully and treating the prospects with respect - no hard closing or sketchy sales tactics. Other pros, co-workers and culture - it's a smaller office so your co-workers can make or break that experience but I'm happy to say everyone is so nice, encouraging, welcoming - they are always willing to help and give feedback/best practices. Other startup perks - snacks, catered lunch on Wednesdays, unlimited PTO, great health insurance.

    Cons

    Being a remote office there are those communication gaps that can happen but it's really not bad at all, just room for improvement.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Environment

    Sep 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Indio is growing quickly and management is bringing on as many new employees as they can manage. Even though it is rapidly growing, the company is attracting great talent that is helping the product scale up in a smart way. I'd recommend this company to anyone looking for a position that has a lot of opportunity for growth. Also, it's a fun company, that supports employees to work hard and to stay balanced with fun happy hours, trips and meals together. Also it is a very transparent work environment, emphasizing open communication between colleagues and employees with management.

    Cons

    With the rapid growth, it's been hard to get to know each person but I think this will smooth out over time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Indio has been amazing to work at!!!

    Aug 30, 2018 - Senior CSM in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being here at Indio for little over a month has been great. The team is hardworking and also knows how to have a good time. We have a clear mission and everybody is on board and ready to work to accomplish it. Insurance can get a bad rap for not being exciting but a company like Indio is bringing it into the 21st century. I love how fast we are moving and how much I have learned in just a month!

    Cons

    Flying ping pong balls! lol.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 English Reviews

Work at Indio (CA)? Share Your Experiences

Indio (CA) logo
or