Industrial Light & Magic Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
37%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Industrial Light & Magic President and General Manager Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I don't think they get the same standard of training as San Francisco(in 8 reviews)

  • "I've never been to a VFX studio that was perfect, that didn't require OT and all that jazz(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to wotk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time

    Pros

    Work with some of the most talented and creative people you've ever met

    Cons

    Salary a little on the low side. Hard to get a full time position these days

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-05-10
  2. "Very creative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Generalist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    top of the industry quality job

    Cons

    lack of the concistant work volume

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2020-03-12
  3. "Good Company - Crazy Hours"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great work. Solid Company

    Cons

    Long, unpredictable hours. Difficult to have life/work balance.

    Industrial Light & Magic2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Management Hell"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Effects Production Assistant Therapist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people who actual do the Visual Effects work are incredibly talented and fun to collaborate with.

    Cons

    Executive Production leadership corrupted by a few, key, Class A talentless harpies who know more about Sex In The City than the history of Cinema. Work day interrupted on more than one occasion by production women literally crying to me about their treatment working under this tight group of Executive Mean Girls. Everyone: go where you’re creatively valued and can make way more $.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-12-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I actually quite like this place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been around the block and I like ILM a lot because it is much more well-oiled in process. You have to learn a bit quick the processes, but this place has been good to me and building up my career. Senior leadership trained me well, and now I feel more than prepared to do anything and capable as an artist. Benefits are really nice and they pay for OT. All the medical, 401K is good, when you first receive vacation it might seem like accrual is slow but you work OT often that it accumulates very fast. Take that as you will! I've been lucky to work with projects that are very flexible with OT, but some producers are not as flexible so it's more luck of the draw. Sometimes it's worrying because Canada is cheaper and I've wondered if San Francisco's office would lose its spot, but now I'm more than confident that San Francisco is here to stay. I feel secure more than ever and assured that if I ever left this company I can do anything.

    Cons

    I'm a bit concerned with the studios in Vancouver, London, and Singapore. I don't think they get the same standard of training as San Francisco. Sometimes jobs are so bad, they always come back to San Francisco. Training and leadership (maybe incentive for SF members to move to other places?) I think is definitely needed. I got hired at the cusp of Disney buying Lucasfilm. I know this place was ran a little differently before. You can see some Disney decisions bleed. It does feel like projects now revolve around them and approval, and not as many original projects are coming to our studio anymore because Disney vetos it. My bottom line comes down to this. I've never been to a VFX studio that was perfect, that didn't require OT and all that jazz. As sad as it's a bit of an industry standard. Hours reflect other places I've worked. If you don't like it here because of OT, it's more or less the same everywhere.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-17
  6. "Had a great time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on the biggest/best projects in the entertainment industry, all of the time.

    Cons

    Chose to leave after seeing layoffs, at the same time we were hearing we'd made record earnings on films. All of the work is being outsourced.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Under appreciated"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The caliber of the people working there is high. ILM is the best at what it does!

    Cons

    There is HIGH turnover in production. The salaries are laughably low and coordinators are underappreciated in general. You have to leave the company and return if you want to get promoted beyond Coordinator.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Game of Thrones in here, you will be stabbed in the back..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CG Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The story of this place and the people that started everything is so inspiring.

    Cons

    No morale No culture anymore, it's turning into a production line Long hours You will get emails about how the company is thriving, how successful the projects are thanks to you, but you will no get bonuses anymore. A promotion is just impossible, Managers don't really pay attention to who is who, they usually promote the whiners and not the most talented or hard workers. If you are not a supervisor nobody will pay attention to your suggestions or feedback. Salaries are awful no work-life balance in San Francisco, the most expensive city in the world. The work is now done in Vancouver mostly, San Francisco only gets the left-overs Not a healthy competition environment. Trying to save money they turned the work areas into a homeless camp.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-03-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Managment of artists"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits for employees, used to be better pre disney

    Cons

    Managers who truly have no idea what the persons they manage actually do. if you not buddy buddy with them you won't go anywhere and will have actively thrown hurdles in your way.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-03-05
  10. "Things are changing but I still like it here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digial Artist in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great projects, free disneyland tickets

    Cons

    Work being sent out of the US.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-01-17
Found 118 reviews