Infinia Reviews | Glassdoor

Infinia Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
0%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Infinia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A high energy environment, with very talented people trying to improve the world with a renewable energy product. A very talented technical team that was highly motivated at creating the right product.

    Cons

    @ the end it lost its energy, glad they were able to recharge in UT

    Infinia2015-08-17
  2. "game changing distributed solar technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Infinia full-time

    Pros

    Highly talented professionals with deep technical expertise.

    Cons

    built the company too fast

    Infinia2017-04-03
  3. "Designed 3D models, in Autodesk Inventor 2009, of high-precision R&D components and production fixturing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior CAD Mechanical Designer in Kennewick, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Infinia for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging design requirements. Adequate hardware set-ups. Interesting Inventor software review approach.

    Cons

    NO apparent managerial production experience present (R&D still running the operations. causing delays in delivery of promised quotas). The VP of Engrg. & chief machinist didn't know anything about ASME Y14.5M GD&T, based on their review of my details and drawings. Cronyism, favoritism and rejection of any new employees' input/ideas/solutions outright, created a hostile work environment as well. It's easy to... understand their need to declare bankruptcy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a great product...sell your current configuration as your "Chevrolet" model with a full replacement warranty. If a unit fails, replace it! THEN finish your "New & Improved" "Rolls-Royce" perfected model sometime later once it is achieved. You meet your promised quota deadlines, while insuring a satisfied customer base...which sells more units in the future.

    Infinia2013-12-08
  4. "Infinia - Ogden Operations Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Infinia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people that are very motivated to make the product work. Incredible product. Good work environment. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    The company has been an R&D company so long that it doesn't seem to know how to take it's product to market. This is unfortunate, because I believe the product is a real game changer.

    Advice to Management

    Decide that product is most import and focus on it.

    Infinia2013-10-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Highly technical, great people. No idea how long it takes to develop a product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer III in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Infinia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We were working on a solar product using a Stirling engine and parabolic mirror. This type of product has never successfully been commercialized and the feeling of accomplishing something that had never been done was exhilarating. There was always something interesting to work on and always a challenging problem to be solved. The people I worked with directly were top notch engineers/technicians and people. ... Working with them made coming to work everyday something to look forward to.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unrealistic planning lead to the investors loss of confidence. We were a small company trying to move from SBIR government grants to a publicly traded successful company. Company leaders thought that we were more advanced in our technology then we were and promised investors that we would be commercialized in 2 years. It has been 7 years and, though the product is very close, there are still at least 2 years of... integration work and refinement before it is a quality product. The difference between the time we told the investors it would take to commercialize and what it has actually taken lead to a loss of confidence and investors pulling out. At the beginning one investor told us that our timing was unrealistic and that their experience would suggest a time from of 7 to 10 years was more realistic. Infinia should have listened.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people when they present a detailed plan. They are not "padding" the time line. If anything they are underestimating. The uncertainty in what you are doing is too great to ignore.

    Infinia2013-09-30
  6. "Not a promising company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Infinia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is laid back

    Cons

    Bad management. Insecurity of product.

    Infinia2013-09-10
  7. "Start up - very interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Kennewick, WA

    I have been working at Infinia

    Pros

    Industry, leading edge of technology

    Cons

    Start up company leaves some with uncertaintly

    Infinia2011-01-18
Found 7 reviews