Informatica Lead Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Informatica Lead Software Engineer Reviews

Updated July 6, 2017
10 reviews

Filter

Filter

Lead Software Engineer

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Informatica Chief Executive Officer Anil Chakravarthy
Anil Chakravarthy
3 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is getting difficult due to multiple releases parallely (in 29 reviews)

  • The current privatization will reduce interest in R&D and bring down cost cutting everywhere (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best place to work ,learn and grow with lots of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Development Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Former Employee - Lead Software Development Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I was with Informatica for 8 years.I had to leave informatica as I relocated to chennai for some personal reason.
    Work life balance
    Great team members who are willing to help always and very knowledgable managers to properly guide the team
    Flexible timing and WFH options
    Interesting projects
    Good compensation and good exposure

    Cons

    Nothing.This is probably the best company that I had worked in.

    Advice to Management

    You are already doing good !


  2. "Informatica"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work life balance, Pretty good work culture , New technologies to learn, Yoga , Gym, Zumba , bus pass facility available for employee, decent CTC.

    Cons

    Bonus not properly paid , Hike percentage has come down too.
    Sometimes very aggressive deadlines. PIP(Performance Improvement Plan) and employee termination is also on the rise recently.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Ilabs B2B - The best team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I have been with informatica quite some time and lucky to be part of INFA, particularly part of B2B team.
     The Team - with technical excellence and intelligence. They crack complex features in simple way. everyday learning. Responsible for end-to-end product release.
     The Process - well, follows strcitly Agile-Scrum, which helps the team to be more productive. Design,Code,code-review and retrospectives. Makes life simple.
     Freedom - Can openly discuss the new ideas/design changes and challenge others. But be ready to get counter-challenges.
     Management - The Best. No politics. employee friendly. Importance to every individual. Guides to grow in career.

    Cons

    Some hiccups in recent times due to org changes. But getting back to normal now.

    Advice to Management

    Just focus on - One Team One Dream.

    Informatica Response

    Jul 25, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your review. We definitely plan to focus on "One Team, One Dream" as we grow the business. Best of luck to you and your colleagues.


  4. "Lead QA Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Hyderabad (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Hyderabad (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great environment, learning, exposure and opportunities

    Cons

    few people and their politics

    Advice to Management

    recruitment should be improved all over

    Informatica Response

    Aug 11, 2015 – VP Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As the leader of global recruiting I'd love to hear what your experience was? and why and what you feel should be improved. I take candidate experiences very seriously... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Lead software engineer R & D Bangalore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Informatica full-time

    Pros

    None as such that i can see because unfortunately i have landed in a team with a very bad management and atmosphere

    Cons

    When i read the reviews of informatica here, it sounds like an altogether different world. So, the culture in some teams looks like is much different than others, in fact complete opposite.
    There is too much of micromanagement
    Work from home is discouraged
    The team environment is negative
    There is no sense of achievement
    There is no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Please introduce 360 degree feedback and skip level one on ones so that people can channel their concerns if the upper management micromanages

    Informatica Response

    May 7, 2015 – Sr HRBP

    Hi There, Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to hear that you are having tough time with the team's culture. I would recommend you to have an open conversation with me or any... More


  6. Helpful (11)

    "Bangalore R & D ilabs is Not for talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Depends on your aspirations.
    1) If you really want to build products from scratch . this place is not for you. Do not be fooled by what manager and HR tell you at the time of joining. They just want you to get into grind.
    2)70 % work is maintenance and support in all R and D teams irrespective of what you are told.
    3)Regarding work life balance, some teams have it, but there are teams where you have to work from 9 in the morning to 12 at mid night and this is not for support team. This is work profile for R & D team in informatica . So If you really planning to join a team here, get in touch with someone who actually works in that team

    Cons

    1) Place is about just get the work done.. Code quality does not matter. No discussion about any design and architecture.
    2) Too much legacy code of really low quality.
    3) Nothing to learn at all
    4)Work involves only bug fixes

    Advice to Management

    Role of the manager in the team I worked in, was just to ask people about their work updates multiple times a day.
    Although he was a technical person, he knew nothing about the product in deep.

    Informatica Response

    Mar 26, 2015 – Director HR India

    Hi There, Thank you for your feedback . We appreciate you taking time to share the same. Your comments indicate that you seem to have had a different experience than usual and we are concerned... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "It's pathetic, don't give value of experience and pay(too much variable pay, and they won't give 100% bonus promised)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nothing to say about pros for this company

    Cons

    1. Too much variable pay in CTC.

    2. Performance bonus component is just a way to hold your 10% of CTC with them , never given 100% bonus for past 4 years.

    3. R&D team has least priority among other units in the company (feels like we are developing world class products but other units are enjoying the benefits)

    4. Never expect long term onsite chances (L1 or H1B) from R&D unit ( 1% - who are very very lucky will get relocation chances to US).

    5. Never value veterans so this is not the place for long term employment.

    Informatica Response

    Feb 17, 2015 – Director - Human Resources

    Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We take your feedback very seriously. We would certainly like to know more about why you feel the way you experience Informatica... More

  8. "Best place to wrok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Work life balance.
    Latest technologies.
    Great IT infrastructure.
    Brilliant co workers and Managers.
    Free food.
    Best Employee benefits.

    Cons

    Rare onsite opportunities.
    No more cons.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work here only for Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Almost Politics free environment
    Decent technical growth.
    Slow but steady salary hikes. Everybody gets some hike here

    Cons

    1. The salary is not competitive enough.
    2. Quite a slow moving company...perhaps another oracle in the making
    2. Work is not outstanding. It will be hard to justify your years of experience with your actual experience.
    3. The domain that company works in not hot anymore. You'll get many takers in the industry.

    Informatica Response

    Dec 11, 2014 – Sr HRBP

    Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts.Please feel free to connect with me or anyone from the management to talk more about the concerns you raised above. Thanks, Anoop Ramachandran


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good work culture, long working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Good working culture
    - OK compensation

    Cons

    - Expected to over-work
    - Key decisions happen in US
    - Less growth in India
    - Work can get monotonous

    Informatica Response

    Nov 25, 2013 – Director - Human Resources

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Appreciate you taking the time to provide us this feedback. We take the feedback we receive very seriously. Happy to know that you like the working culture in... More