Informatica Reviews | Glassdoor

Informatica Reviews

Updated May 25, 2017
860 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

860 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is getting difficult due to multiple releases parallely (in 29 reviews)

  • The current privatization will reduce interest in R&D and bring down cost cutting everywhere (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (8)

    "Sad destruction of what was once a premier company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica full-time

    Pros

    As a former employee (and not a disgruntled one I might add), the only thing left that is a "pro" are some of the people that I have left behind. There are some truly great people still there. It hurts me to be this honest.

    Cons

    The PE lost a fight with the former executive team (who almost all quit) and has deployed the worst executive team I have yet to encounter in my career. The new HR group has zero interest in understanding the culture and wants to insert their own, which is rooted in 1982. Crazy high turnover in HR because of this. The executive team consists of several siloed folks all rowing in different directions. PE managed to take what was once a premier destination company and absolutely destroy it. There are probably resume building opportunities there, but the company is slowly becoming a stain on one's resume.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that you need an experienced CEO to right this ship and take action. Just start over in HR and find the culture that once existed. Quit trying to prove to yourself that all you have to do is send jobs outside California to make it successful, remember where the innovation came from in the first place.

    Informatica Response

    Nov 30, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    We see Informatica as a leader in all things data management and having a very bright future ahead. Obviously, we disagree with your characterization of the Company. We would note that we continue ... More


  2. "Software Engineering Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Software Development Intern in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome company, dedicated people, supportive leaders, helpful HR, incredible facilities spl the gym and classes.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing great job

    Informatica Response

    Oct 4, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your internship here and - more importantly - that you got real value out of the experience. We look forward to seeing you back on campus again in ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Middle Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    None i can think off

    Informatica Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    We couldn't agree more - Informatica is a great company to work for, largely thanks to dedicated people like you. We appreciate your review and best wishes for your continued success.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Left just after the acquisition"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Informatica full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive compensation and great people to work with

    Cons

    Quota can be a moving target. Can't speak to the changes after going private

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Informatica Response

    Sep 1, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thanks for your review. While a lot has changed since Informatica went private, the fundamentals - our commitment to our customers, innovation, and unleashing the potential in data and our people ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pre-sales engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Informatica (More than a year)

    Pros

    there were good people in individual groups. they were flexible in opportunities outside my group. customers were mostly pretty satisfied with the products. wide product line allowed me to present comprehensive solutions to potential clients.

    Cons

    very big company, with all the attendant bureaucracy. they have a terrible vacation policy. when on-boarding, my training was virtually non-existent.

    Advice to Management

    given that the vacation policy is set at the very top, my advice would be to improve the on-boarding process to better familiarize new hires with the company, its policies, where to get information, an easy to use employee information portal.

    Informatica Response

    Sep 8, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about working with Informatica. We may compete with some industry giants, but Informatica is actually relatively small - less than 5,000 employees worldwide. Our ... More


  7. "Enjoyable place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great workout facility. Co-workers and upper management are easy to talk to. Culture is inviting.

    Cons

    Pay is on the low end of competitive and the company is in transition from being private to eventually going public.

    Informatica Response

    Aug 17, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences working at Informatica. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best.


  8. ".Net Developer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Net Developer in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Net Developer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Informatica part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Mid level company working for small projects. Even though the budget allocation is less they will strive foe maximum employee satisfaction.

    Cons

    The global exposure will be less. Good for a Entry level software Developers but as a senior Dev they might not reach all your requirements.

    Informatica Response

    Aug 17, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    We appreciate your comments and you taking the time to share them here. Our global exposure is actually growing and our leadership in Big Data, Cloud, MDM, and Data Security affords plenty of ... More


  9. Helpful (14)

    "In Total Chaos"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Redwood City, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    + Product Stack People Know
    + Old Name that never dies
    + Mostly good colleagues
    + Work/Life ok

    Cons

    + Management who are unfamiliar with the product and the problem customers face
    + Product improvements completely out of line with what customers ask for and what competitors are bringing to market
    + CEO And VP have no interest in interacting with you as an employee or person even at events. They just stare and walk away.
    + Extremely Rude and Condescending Management
    + Old Dinosaur Culture that is un moving and stuck in the " this is the way we do things"
    + Unlimited PTO a farse.. as having been told by one superior "well you took PTO before you joined our company", why do you need it over summer. (Mind you management of course took it to sit on a Mexican beach).
    + Losing Ground to competitors very fast. In short order the newer cloud group will be unable to compete with folks like Mule & Snap & Boomi.
    + PE Play a total disaster as are most of these acquisitions. As one colleague optimistically put it "maybe we'll ipo in a few years", which resulted in giggles at the pure idiocy.

    Advice to Management

    Cant really advise, improve your product, shame you went private. Youre not doing what Dell is doing.

    Informatica Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    We regret that you have a negative view of your former workplace. Since we cannot know how long ago you left, it’s hard to address your comments. A lot has changed, and mostly for the good. Senior ... More


  10. "Senior Graphic Designer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    'Small' but mighty tech player, teeming with bright minds. Hands down the best job I've ever had.

    Cons

    Some might say it lacks a few of the 'perks' that others in the industry have grown accustomed to. (commute compensation for me).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, we're behind you!

    Informatica Response

    Jul 27, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for sharing your experiences working for Informatica and for your encouragement. We appreciate it! Best wishes for your continued success.


  11. Helpful (4)

    "presales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Director in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Informatica (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Working through a transition can be very difficult

    Cons

    We are still in a period of transition over the last 3 years and more to come

    Advice to Management

    Make an operations plan, define roles and goals, publish it and stick to it

    Informatica Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts about Informatica. It is true that we are in a transition phrase, but change is part of the dynamic industry in which we compete. As Lao Tzu wrote ... More


Showing 860 of 895 reviews
Reset Filters