Cover image for Ingram Content Group
Logo

Ingram Content Group

Engaged Employer

Ingram Content Group

Add a Review

Ingram Content Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 5, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 510 of over 510 reviews
3.9
75% Recommend to a Friend
Ingram Content Group President and CEO  Shawn Morin
83% Approve of CEO

Found 22 of over 510 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Ingram Content Group President and CEO  Shawn Morin
Shawn Morin
237 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Lots of overtime and great benefits.(in 82 reviews)
  • "Great people and work in a flexible environment within my department(in 38 reviews)
  • "Easy work for decent pay(in 37 reviews)
  • "Some great coworkers who are really dedicated to publishing and deserve better.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Good work/life balance(in 12 reviews)
Cons
  • "bad management to work with(in 23 reviews)
  • "Long hours and difficult to stand in one spot all day(in 15 reviews)
  • "Big personalities and upper management who will treat entry level employees as though they are beneath them.(in 10 reviews)
  • "toxic management culture...very much an 'us versus them' mentality, many managers had no formal management training and saw the regular employees as a resource to be exploited rather than people with knowledge and ideas(in 10 reviews)
  • "Ingram always talks ad nauseum about all the latest tech buzz, but nothing ever happens due to lack of leadership from highly non(in 8 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ingram Content Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Anonymous

    May 31, 2016 - Anonymous in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a job, benefits are sub-par with Nashville market, discount on books

    Cons

    DO NOT BELIEVE the positive reviews posted. HR sent out a mass company wide email asking folks to come on here and post how 'great' it is to work for ICG. The 3.7 rating is artificially inflated. This is by far the WORST company to work for in Nashville. Employees are run through the ringer and spit out. The Finance department is the worst of the worse. Upper management in finance does not care about employee well-being. 80% of the finance department has turned over in the last year and a half. That's why there's always job postings for Finance Managers and analysts. They're not adding staff, they're just trying to replace the last person who filled the position for 9 months. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Insecure, immature, and inconsistent management

    Oct 31, 2010 -  in La Vergne, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are as good as most companies in comparison. Sick time for the hourly workers is very good in my opinion, where some companies only have sick or personal time for salaried employees.

    Cons

    I made the decision to work at Ingram mainly because of the Ingram name and the new challenges and opportunities that I believed came with the position. After a very short time I realized this was not the place for me and discussed my concerns to my manager, who was actually a pretty good person and also no longer works there, and he jokingly told me that I needed to be 'Ingramized'. Which actually turned out to be no joke. It basically meant that I needed to relinquish my integrity and morals and conform to their ways of management. Integrity was one trait that upper management insisted that their employees have but, for the most part, it didn't apply to them. Upper management and certain supervisors taking lengthy smoke breaks/”meetings” repeatedly throughout the day and then reprimanding the lowly worker for taking a couple of minutes to talk to a fellow co-worker. Very little leadership by example. It was very much a 'do as I say not as I do' attitude. Very poor communication from management to the warehouse workers. It was very much an atmosphere of arrogance and bullying from upper management and certain 'privileged' supervisors. I witnessed managers and supervisors verbally reprimand and belittle employees on the floor in front of their co-workers. It was not so much a customer satisfaction way of operating but more of a numbers, bottom-line operation. And as far as H.R. was concerned, the head of the dept. definitely sided with upper managementd with upper managementd with upper management on every instance that I witnessed and seemed to make his own rules as he saw fit. I am not a disgruntled ex-employee posting my gripe here to 'get even'...but I am sincerely disgusted at the overall experience while employed there. Very insecure, amateurish upper management…as well as some of the self-promoting supervisors and leads.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Ingram Content Group team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    there are kinks, overall good place to work

    Apr 20, 2022 - Production Machine Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits slowly working on clear communications between workers and upper management, but still progress consistent hours if you apply to Ingram directly versus through a temp agency

    Cons

    Concern over making production quotas quickly makes the quality of the product suffer; not sure if upper management is hounding the supervisors to go faster or not. New equipment breaks more often than older machines.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Marketing Department Creative

    Feb 22, 2016 -  in La Vergne, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generally upbeat and helpful. We worked together to get the tasks done and offered reviews and critiques on creative work. Good break room environment with video games and loads of books everywhere.

    Cons

    The pay was not always the best and upper management did not care for the creative people. Many designers and writers who seemed to be working in a factory-type environment with massive overlapping deadlines for content in dying channels (printed catalogues).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Terrible Management

    Aug 17, 2020 - Senior Trade Shows and Events Specialist in La Vergne, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits were good. Some of the people are amazing.

    Cons

    They don't care about you at all. There is no way to suggest ideas for the betterment of the company without going through your boss. If you have a terrible boss, you have no way to succeed. They also value men over women and the company is mostly women. I know of multiple instances of sexual harassment and the men were protected over the women in those cases. If you try to report your boss for verbal abuse and harassment to HR, no one will listen or at least they won't care. They will just try to get you to quit or they will find a way to fire you. They fire most of the good people instead of finding a better place for them. The bad seeds tend to stick around forever. Upper management protects them for some reason even with extremely high turnover. Never go to work in the Trade Shows & Events Department. It is an extremely toxic work environment due to poor management.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Give us a chances to broaden you talent.

    Jun 7, 2022 - Sr. Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great health benefits at a reasonable cost (and I mean GREAT), discounts on product, having the option of working from home but also a good in house environment, company bonus, promotion opportunities. Being a family owned company provides a steady work environment. Upper management keeps us well informed with the going on's with the company. So, no surprises of takeovers by bigger company.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any cons working at Ingram except maybe the raises could be better.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Environment, Middling Pay

    Dec 9, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Environment Great benefits Great hours Overall the work environment is one that I enjoy and would recommend to anyone who asked.

    Cons

    Non-competitive pay Limited support from upper management Unwilling to hire the right amount of people to do a job The pay is really in the middle of the pack, if not the lower 25%. Currently there is a trend of people either leaving for other jobs or leaving for unspecified reasons, but then never having their positions back-filled so the work piles up on the people who are left

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Where to Work

    Nov 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and good working environment

    Cons

    Upper management communication to employees lacks.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Place of Haves and Have Nots

    May 22, 2019 - Marketing Copywriter in Smyrna, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent structure and processes - Fun environment (depending on department) - Job security - All the benefits that come with working for a large company That last bullet encompasses a lot of pros, but I'll try to sum it up here. If you've ever worked for a small business or a start-up you may be familiar with the many growing pains that come with that environment. While smaller organizations offer a lot of, what I would call progressive ideals, like focusing on a good work-life balance, they also come with a lot of chaos and fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants project management. At Ingram you will see less of that chaos. That is not to say projects don't get messy, but most departments have well-defined procedures and they stick to them. Of course there were plenty of "shiny objects", but for the most part they too adhered to a sound process. On the job security note. I seemed like you could really suck at your job, yet would have to do something really egregious to get fired. Pro? Con? Guess it depends on your work ethic. Lastly, if you happen to be in the Haves...life will be just swell for you at Ingram. Congrats!

    Cons

    - Abysmal pay compared to market averages - Not a good place for creatives - Upper management can be somewhat oblivious and out-of-touch - Depending on department, minimal investment in professional growth and opportunity to advance - Very defined caste system - somewhat of a good ole boys/girls club That last point, in my mind, is Ingram's biggest downfall, hence the title of this review. All Ingram employees are equal (read valued), just some are more equal than others. There are highly skilled professionals at Ingram who have to punch a clock, and that is just sad. I know this has a lot to do with employment laws, taxes, and plenty of stuff I don't fully understand, but it's still a huuuuge detractor. In many cases, those who do the actual work make things happen, get the smallest benefit. If you find yourself in a position with the title 'Manager' (titles mean a lot at Ingram) you can count yourself among the Haves. Anything less, you are probably part of the Have Nots. Let's say it is the Friday before Memorial Day Weekend. An email comes out from your department head welcoming everyone to leave early. That's great if you are a salaried associate. What if you are hourly? Didn't build up time Mon - Thu so you could leave early Friday. Sorry. Or say the snowstorm of the century hits Middle TN. Email goes out urging people to be safe and if they can't make it in stay home. Tough luck if you are non-exempt. Looks like you are using a vacation day. But you get overtime.... Just two examples revolving around job classification, but the Haves and Have Not dichotomy goes well beyond salaried vs. hourly.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Ingram Content Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ingram Content Group? Share Your Experiences

Ingram Content Group logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Ingram Content Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Ingram Content Group photo of: Ingram Content Group
Ingram Content Group photo of: Ingram Content Group
Ingram Content Group photo of: Music City Corporate Challenge
Ingram Content Group photo of: Music City Corporate Challenge
Ingram Content Group photo of: Ingram Content Group
Ingram Content Group photo of: ALA 2017 #TheLibraryLife
Ingram Content Group photo of: ALA 2017 #TheLibraryLife
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

VitalSource Technologies, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ingram Content Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

Ramsey Solutions Logo
Ramsey Solutions

4.2

264 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 510 Ingram Content Group reviews submitted anonymously by Ingram Content Group employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ingram Content Group is right for you.