Ingram Micro Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Ingram Micro Account Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Ingram Micro CEO Alain Monie
Alain Monie
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, salary, benefits. Positive work environment.

    Cons

    Trying to get out of the area surrounding the office at rush hour is a nightmare. Two lane roads, traffic backups... it’s a mess.

    Ingram Micro2019-06-24
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Sr. Marketing Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Marketing Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ingram Micro

    Pros

    Opportunity to interact with top vendors in technology

    Cons

    No growth potential within marketing.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based upon skills not length of service

    Ingram Micro2015-11-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Plainfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some incredible leaders in upper management, unfortunately they are not the standard or the majority. I did have the pleasure of working for a phenomenal leader for 5 years, but I've also worked for VP's that could barely operate a laptop. The compensation can be fantastic, but it depends on when you are hired. If it was prior to the acquisition, you likely are better off from a salary standpoint than... if you were hired by Ingram - Ingtam is notorious for low pay. But again, if you have the right boss finally you can make a great salary with great incentives. The company has a great local presence and supports a large number of charities, and volunteering is always encouraged which is fantastic. There is also a gym on site that you can pay to use but if you use it frequently you basically get your money back, that's a great incentive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ever since the company was puchased by Ingram Micro everything has gone downhill. The old BrightPoint culture prior to the acquisition of BP by INGRAM was best in class - but when BrightPoint was purchased we lost our best asset - our President (never have I met a more honest, forward thinking, intelligent, and genuine man, who was invested in every single employee in the company). Unfortunately he resigned, and... since that day the company has become a lousy place to work. HR is a joke as someone else stated. Do not trust HR, they are dishonest and serve no purpose except to try and keep employees from sueing upper management for illegal activities. If you file a complaint with HR you might as well turn in your two week notice immediately. They state there is a "no retaliation policy" and that could not be farther from the truth. If you go to HR about any upper level employee you can expect to be let go. As someone else mentioned previously, the CEO did state the company needed to make up for a 10 million dollar loss and that was done by a massive reduction in force (layoffs) and they continue to let people go as needed. They're always rumors of outsourcing entire departments to different countries. If you are female - do not expect to ever be promoted above a manager. If you are not part of the boys club, you can expect that you will never move up within the company. Because of the constant push to reduce costs I would ever suggest applying for a position with INGRAM MICRO MOBILITY (at this time, fall 2015), you would be the first to get fired and there would be no job security.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is imperative to find a way to make HR a resource employees can use and feel confident that the information they share will be kept confidential. Start being honest, and address the elephant in the room....employee satisfaction is at an all time low and that is because the constant lies from the executive leadership team. This has caused uncertainty among employees, a lot of the company's best talent has left... simply because they do not know what is going on with the structure and organization of the company. My advice would be start being honest, find employees that you lost that were huge contributors, and again always tell the truth even if it's not what the workforce would like to hear.

    Show More
    Ingram Micro2015-09-27
  4. "Working at Ingram Micro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They are very flexible with personal time off.

    Cons

    There is not much I can say

    Ingram Micro2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Absolute shambles of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice offices in Milton Keynes

    Cons

    Everything; - No progression - Terrible pay - 0 Benefits - Even if you work there for years there is no progression - Micro management - Management do not understand the roles in the business so cannot actually manage you at all - Biased / unfair targeting There genuinely is not anything I could recommend about the company and would advise anyone to reconsider applying for a job here.

    Advice to Management

    Skill yourself up on the process' and the actual job so you are aware of what employees do on a day to day basis. Stop micro managing people and have a humane level of flexibility.

    Ingram Micro2019-08-13
  6. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn alot. Fast pace. Good training.

    Cons

    Heavy workload. Stress environment. Mentally tiring.

    Ingram Micro2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Very corporate..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with and to learn from

    Cons

    Very conservative. Very "cooperate". As opposed to "start up" if you know what I mean....

    Advice to Management

    To care more about your employees.

    Ingram Micro2019-01-15
  8. "Assistant Manager- Account, Finance, Claim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager - Finance & Accounts in New Delhi

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ingram Micro is good company for working. I work almost 11 years

    Cons

    company is not giving notice period

    Ingram Micro2018-11-16
  9. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is fantastic, great bunch of people to work with, extremely helpful. Decent exposure to Distributor / Reseller and Vendor opportunities. Very relaxed atmosphere. To a degree some good training is provided on technicalities of products from the pre-sales teams so if you do join, make sure your first introduction is to the pre-sales team, they will be more than happy to work with you.

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be non-existent, commission structure keeps you on a 300% stretch so there is very limited earning potential, with a changing commission structure every now and then. If you want to stay in one position for the rest of your life, with no defined route for personal growth or development, then I would recommend joining Ingram. Very relaxed atmosphere. The job can become fairly monotonous and... sometimes you might just feel like bit of a quote monkey not really using your full intelligence.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My one piece of advice to management would be to listen to empolyees and come up with a list of all the Ingram Micro processes to aid account managers, this process could be quite easily streamlined, it just takes the right manager to do so. Another point would be to uncap the account managers and sales staffs commission giving people the ability to earn more, and most importantly sell more! Management should try to... spend more time with employees to see what we see, and be more interested in creating better account managers using leadership as a motor. Drive employees to want to work more for you, rather than just turning over staff like a revolving door.

    Show More
    Ingram Micro2018-11-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Key Account Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to many vendors and great place to start your career if you want to get into IT sales

    Cons

    Worst management what they care about is management, worst product management and order processing most of the time you are chasing orders and providing ETAs to the customers

    Advice to Management

    Stop chasing numbers and focus more on back end processes, stop having multiple forecast calls with the sales and let them focus on sales

    Ingram Micro2018-03-19
Found 26 reviews